All year Hobie Hanson and his fellow fourth graders have waited for a substitute teacher. At last she arrives, green and trusting--a quick sink, 4B is sure. But Svetlana Ivanovich has staying power. "A crispy, inventive plot that is top drawer....This will make a great read-aloud--for any teacher who dares!"--Booklist.
Paperback, 115 pages
Published on January 21, 2014 by Two Lions
ISBN-10: 1477815937
ISBN-13: 9781477815939
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • la_eliza
    la_elizaFriday, September 20, 2013 at 7:53 am55 stars
    I thought that it was a really fun book. It was a great book, for summer! A fast, fun, quick read. I really recommend it !
    • bookworm890
      bookworm890Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 9:57 pm55 stars
      They all cry. You just have to bend them to the breaking point, at least, that was how things went before Mrs. Ivanovich. Things begin to escalate beyond the name-change game to classroom flooding and a snowball fight. The twist, boys vs. girls.
      • super
        superWednesday, September 4, 2013 at 6:41 am44 stars
        I'm reading this book and its pretty good, but I don't really think that it is a good book for my age group, I'm 12. It is a book about a fourth grade class that has been waiting for a sub all year, it turns into a fight, boys against girls to see who can sink the sub fastest.
        • B-Rickey Friday, August 23, 2013 at 10:41 am
          This book sounds interesting
          • bookish5
            bookish5Thursday, August 22, 2013 at 11:13 am44 stars
            I hated this book. I disliked the plot and all of the characters. I usually like Jamie Gilson books but this one was a disappointment.
            • gutsy2003
              gutsy2003Wednesday, August 21, 2013 at 9:17 pm44 stars
              I liked this book a lot. The characters were a bit strange, but it was still a good book! If you like books about school kids VS teachers you will love this book! I also liked the little things in-between the main parts, like little jokes that aren't really part of the story. They were very interesting!
              • sparkling5
                sparkling5Sunday, August 18, 2013 at 4:55 pm44 stars
                This was a really nice book because it was a competition between boys and girls and sometimes, i wish these events can happen to my school. A totally awesome book! I recommend this book to anyone loving humor or reading about school days.
                • jsmyth
                  jsmythSunday, August 11, 2013 at 2:52 pm55 starsFeatured
                  I like this book because it's funny. These boys and girls have a teacher named Mr.Star that has the flu. They replace Mr.Star with a substitute. The boys make this competition against the girls to see who can sink the substitute. Read this book to find who wins the competition.
                  • fireblazes88
                    fireblazes88Monday, June 24, 2013 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                    Awesome! This book is really funny. You probably think that this book is about a submarine, but it's not. This book is about Hobie and his class trying to sink the substitute. It is a contest boys versus girls to see who can sink the sub the fastest. This substitute is a first-timer so the class thinks that this should be easy. Does the sub sink? Read it to find out!
                    • cottoncandy3454
                      cottoncandy3454Wednesday, June 12, 2013 at 5:27 pm55 stars
                      awesome book. i read it not to long ago. i wont give anything away but its a good book to read for fun. again awesome book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...