There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom (Collins Readers)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5Q3.436671
A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes.
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 18, 2006 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561373656
ISBN-13: 9781561373659
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • summerlover333
    summerlover333Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 1:49 pm55 stars
    Great book ! Funny , fantastic and talks about bullying and friendship . When Bradley Chalkers ( a boy In 4 th grade second time around ) finds a new boy ( Jeff Fishkin) to be his friend until Jeff thinks he is cool for ' punching Bradley in the eye ' then Bradley becomes friendless again
    • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:07 am
      it is a great book.
      • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
        I think this book is really funny and I would really recomend for children.
        • hia_leaf
          hia_leafWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm
          I want to read it
          • crazycarl
            crazycarlWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 11:32 am
            Sounds so good!!!
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitThursday, September 8, 2016 at 3:07 pm44 stars
              This is a really funny, real, and emotional book. There are really interesting and unique characters that make the story something you want to read.
              • langston_p
                langston_pThursday, February 25, 2016 at 2:47 am44 stars
                This was a really good book. It's about a kid named Bradley who was held back twice in 4th grade and has serious behavior and emotional problems. He wants everybody to hate him, he is failing all of his classes and looses everybody's trust. One day, a new kid named Jeff Fishkin moves in and becomes his friend, but even he quits being his friend and he goes back to being lonely. Eventually, the school hired a new counselor who helps Bradley see the good side in everybody, and even himself. Her name was Carla Davis and she changed his life forever. I really liked it because it was really well written and I really liked the characters and the story line.
                • ethan_q
                  ethan_qSaturday, August 29, 2015 at 10:20 am
                  For my book review, I picked There’s a boy in the girls’ bathroom. The story is about a kid at a school named Bradley who has some behavior problems. He wants everybody to hate him. He gets bad grades on purpose,doesn’t do his homework, picks on girls and does many other mean thing to people. One day, a boy named Jeff moves from Washington D.C., and eventually becomes Bradley’s only friend at school. One day, the school hires a counselor named Carla. And goes to see her everyday whenever he can. And after going to see her more and more often, Bradley becomes better and better. And starts doing his homework. Meanwhile, Jeff seems to become popular at his school, and a girl wants to invite him to her birthday party. But he will be the only boy there and his only friend they know is Bradley. Which other boy will they invite? I chose this book because I recently finished this book, and I think it is a great book. I recommend this book to people who are looking for a good fiction book to read. Because it is very interesting.
                  • loveroses
                    loverosesThursday, April 9, 2015 at 10:15 am55 stars
                    i love it because theres such good actors and great characters
                    • bombcom12
                      bombcom12Thursday, April 9, 2015 at 10:15 am44 stars
                      This is a funny book you should read to your student as story time if you are a teacher.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      savage4lifebruh

                      Rodrick is a real bad in this bo...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rodrick Rules

                      Malaya wrote:

                      I really like this book I read a...
                      Ghosts

                      book bug wrote:

                      this book is great. full of adve...
                      Holes

                      googoo wrote:

                      AMAZING
                      Holes