There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom (Collins Readers)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5Q3.436671
A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes.
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 18, 2006 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561373656
ISBN-13: 9781561373659
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • demonheart
    demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:22 pm55 stars
    It is not what you expect and that is one thing why I love it. The title is catchy. The bathroom part was only a little piece of the big picture. And follow me. HA didn't expect that did you? That's the point , get it now?😈 😉
    • asapferg
      asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:29 pm55 stars
      Oh man I loves this book it's funny and teaches you about bullying and friendship recommend this to all
      • asapferg
        asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:15 pm55 stars
        I love the genre it was so funny but at the same time sad I kinda felt bad for Bradley
        • summerlover333
          summerlover333Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 1:49 pm55 stars
          Great book ! Funny , fantastic and talks about bullying and friendship . When Bradley Chalkers ( a boy In 4 th grade second time around ) finds a new boy ( Jeff Fishkin) to be his friend until Jeff thinks he is cool for ' punching Bradley in the eye ' then Bradley becomes friendless again
          • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:07 am
            it is a great book.
            • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
              I think this book is really funny and I would really recomend for children.
              • hia_leaf
                hia_leafWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm
                I want to read it
                • crazycarl
                  crazycarlWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 11:32 am
                  Sounds so good!!!
                  • memoiloveit
                    memoiloveitThursday, September 8, 2016 at 3:07 pm44 stars
                    This is a really funny, real, and emotional book. There are really interesting and unique characters that make the story something you want to read.
                    • langston_p
                      langston_pThursday, February 25, 2016 at 2:47 am44 stars
                      This was a really good book. It's about a kid named Bradley who was held back twice in 4th grade and has serious behavior and emotional problems. He wants everybody to hate him, he is failing all of his classes and looses everybody's trust. One day, a new kid named Jeff Fishkin moves in and becomes his friend, but even he quits being his friend and he goes back to being lonely. Eventually, the school hired a new counselor who helps Bradley see the good side in everybody, and even himself. Her name was Carla Davis and she changed his life forever. I really liked it because it was really well written and I really liked the characters and the story line.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      nantada no no wrote:

                      BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      IT wrote:

                      loved it
                      Wonder

                      ... wrote:

                      it is ok
                      Wonder

                      ... wrote:

                      its ok but the life lesson thats...
                      Wonder