Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5Q3.436671
A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes.
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 18, 2006 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561373656
ISBN-13: 9781561373659
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • yeeeee912Friday, June 1, 2018 at 5:31 pm
    ok i love this book 5 stars
    • yeeeee912Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:05 am
      ok i love this book 5 stars!
      • joebubblegum
        joebubblegumMonday, January 22, 2018 at 4:45 am55 stars
        this is a book about bradley, he doesn't get good grades, and he is always bad behaviour, there came a new kid, who wants to be bradley's friend, and the school counselor is also helping him, but when the counselor went away he was mad, but her got better, and was friends with the new kid again, and there were gold stars next to bradley's name, finally
        • demonheart
          demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:22 pm55 stars
          It is not what you expect and that is one thing why I love it. The title is catchy. The bathroom part was only a little piece of the big picture. And follow me. HA didn't expect that did you? That's the point , get it now?😈 😉
          • asapferg
            asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:29 pm55 stars
            Oh man I loves this book it's funny and teaches you about bullying and friendship recommend this to all
            • asapferg
              asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:15 pm55 stars
              I love the genre it was so funny but at the same time sad I kinda felt bad for Bradley
              • summerlover333
                summerlover333Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 1:49 pm55 stars
                Great book ! Funny , fantastic and talks about bullying and friendship . When Bradley Chalkers ( a boy In 4 th grade second time around ) finds a new boy ( Jeff Fishkin) to be his friend until Jeff thinks he is cool for ' punching Bradley in the eye ' then Bradley becomes friendless again
                • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:07 am
                  it is a great book.
                  • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
                    I think this book is really funny and I would really recomend for children.
                    • hia_leaf
                      hia_leafWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm
                      I want to read it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      atrama
                      atrama wrote:

                      just read and is just as awesome...
                      The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                      #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                      This book is so good. I picked i...
                      The School for Good and Evil

                      #BOOKWORM wrote:

                      This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                      Keeper of the Lost Cities

                      Our Apps and Plugins