Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5Q3.436671
A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes.
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 18, 2006 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561373656
ISBN-13: 9781561373659
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • joebubblegum
    joebubblegumMonday, January 22, 2018 at 4:45 am55 stars
    this is a book about bradley, he doesn't get good grades, and he is always bad behaviour, there came a new kid, who wants to be bradley's friend, and the school counselor is also helping him, but when the counselor went away he was mad, but her got better, and was friends with the new kid again, and there were gold stars next to bradley's name, finally
    • demonheart
      demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:22 pm55 stars
      It is not what you expect and that is one thing why I love it. The title is catchy. The bathroom part was only a little piece of the big picture. And follow me. HA didn't expect that did you? That's the point , get it now?😈 😉
      • asapferg
        asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:29 pm55 stars
        Oh man I loves this book it's funny and teaches you about bullying and friendship recommend this to all
        • asapferg
          asapfergThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:15 pm55 stars
          I love the genre it was so funny but at the same time sad I kinda felt bad for Bradley
          • summerlover333
            summerlover333Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 1:49 pm55 stars
            Great book ! Funny , fantastic and talks about bullying and friendship . When Bradley Chalkers ( a boy In 4 th grade second time around ) finds a new boy ( Jeff Fishkin) to be his friend until Jeff thinks he is cool for ' punching Bradley in the eye ' then Bradley becomes friendless again
            • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:07 am
              it is a great book.
              • puppylover101Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
                I think this book is really funny and I would really recomend for children.
                • hia_leaf
                  hia_leafWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm
                  I want to read it
                  • crazycarl
                    crazycarlWednesday, October 12, 2016 at 11:32 am
                    Sounds so good!!!
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitThursday, September 8, 2016 at 3:07 pm44 stars
                      This is a really funny, real, and emotional book. There are really interesting and unique characters that make the story something you want to read.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      I really liked this book
                      Sisters

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      This book sounds sooooo good!!!
                      Pax

                      Sid wrote:

                      Dak, Sera, and Riq go to Baghdad...
                      Infinity Ring Book 5: Cave of Wo...

                      arrow84
                      arrow84 wrote:

                      this book was awesome will and b...
                      The Mirror's Tale (Further Tales...