Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

“Looking for a fantastically fast-paced and funny read? Your wish is granted!” —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

Twelve-year-old Ace’s life is about to change in the most unexpected and magical ways—all because of a peanut butter jar.

When he opens it, he inadvertently releases a genie named Ridge. Now a Wishmaker, Ace is given a week to complete a seemingly impossible quest, and if he fails the world will end in the most tragic (but cuddly) way imaginable.

Luckily, Ridge can help by granting Ace an unlimited number of wishes…as long as Ace is willing to accept the consequences. The bigger the wish, the greater the consequence. So, if Ace wants to avoid having pogo sticks for legs or his clothes turn invisible, he'll have to be careful what he wishes for and get a little creative.

Perfect for fans of Dan Gutman and Max Brallier, this new middle grade series by Tyler Whitesides (author of the Janitors series) is a wonderful mix of unpredictable magic, zany humor, and daring adventure. You’ll wish it never ends!

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062568310
ISBN-13: 9780062568311
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pandacub
    pandacubFriday, June 26, 2020 at 8:32 am33 stars
    Ace wants to complete a quest to stop Thackery Anderthon (yes that's his name). He only has seven days but he also has a genie. But with wishes there comes consequences. So Ace and Tina pair up (Tina also has a quest and a genie) If they fail the world comes to a end either by raining pianos or zombie pets
    • pandacub
      pandacubFriday, June 26, 2020 at 8:22 am33 stars
      Ace wants to complete a quest to stop Thackery Anderthon (yes that's his name). He only has seven days but he also has a genie. But with wishes there comes consequences. So Ace and Tina pair up (Tina also has a quest and a genie) If they fail the world comes to a end either by raining pianos or zombie pets.
      • ceciame
        ceciameThursday, December 26, 2019 at 12:44 pm
        WARNING, contains spoilers! This book is about a foster kid named Ace who can't remember his past from before he was nine years old, and all he has left of it is an ace of hearts. He opens a genie jar and suddenly becomes a Wishmaker with a quest that if he fails, will end the world as we know it, but he can wish for help if he accepts a consequence. While working on his quest he meets a Wishmaker named Tina, whose mom is an ex-Wishmaker and is very sick because of all her consequences.
        • lumos
          lumosFriday, June 21, 2019 at 9:07 am55 stars
          One of my favorite books this whole year. The Wishmakers is AMAZING. It's about Ace and Tina, with their genies Ridge and Vale trying to stop Thackary Anderthon and his son Jathon from getting to the Undiscovered Genie. However, at the end, Tina goes behind Ace's back... I can't wait to read the next book in the series!!
          • Ella WoodThursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:44 pm
            I'm a literature teacher and this book sounded really interesting, however it was to much imagination that it didn't make sense that much.
            • Baconnator123Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:39 pm
              This book is fantastic! I really enjoyed reading it. It's so magical and crazy! I really want to Strat reading the 2nd part of it, can't wait!
              • laybackeg
                laybackegWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 6:30 pm44 stars
                I'm not really sure about this book... I love magic and I love the plot its just that it moves on to quickly. But overall great to read if you are bored!
                • npstation
                  npstationFriday, March 2, 2018 at 12:07 pm
                  I am in Grade 4 and I think it is perfect read for me. I love to read books with magic and fairy tales. I hope I win.
                  • miaWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 10:25 am
                    its an amazing story
                    • mysterywolf2317
                      mysterywolf2317Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                      I love this book it is so magical and funny to me, to me, I love everything about this book 5 stars