Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade 4n/a3.767377
Like the classic heroines of Sarah, Plain and Tall and Little Women, Ada conquers the homefront as her World War II journey continues in this sequel to the Newbery Honor–winning The War that Saved My Life

When Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed at last, she knows for certain that she’s not what her mother said she was—damaged, deranged, crippled mentally as well as physically. She’s not a daughter anymore, either. What is she?

World War II continues, and Ada and her brother, Jamie, are living with their loving legal guardian, Susan, in a borrowed cottage on the estate of the formidable Lady Thorton—along with Lady Thorton herself and her daughter, Maggie. Life in the crowded cottage is tense enough, and then, quite suddenly, Ruth, a Jewish girl from Germany, moves in. A German? The occupants of the house are horrified. But other impacts of the war become far more frightening. As death creeps closer to their door, life and morality during wartime grow more complex. Who is Ada now? How can she keep fighting? And who will she struggle to save?

Ada’s first story, The War that Saved My Life, won a Newbery Honor, the Schneider Family Book Award, and the Josette Frank Award, in addition to appearing on multiple best-of-the-year lists. This second, marvelous volume continues Ada’s powerful, uplifting story.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429204
ISBN-13: 9780525429203
16 Book Reviews
  • iamrobot
    iamrobotSaturday, February 27, 2021 at 8:49 am55 stars
    The war I finally won by Kimberly Brubbaker Bradley is about a girl named Ada. Ada used to not be able to walk, but at the beginning of the book she gets surgery. The story takes place during World War II. Ada's family's house is destroyed so she and her brother Jamie are sent to live with her guardian, Susan. Then, Ruth, a Jew from Germany, moves in to live with them.
    • iamrobot
      iamrobotFriday, February 26, 2021 at 4:07 pm55 stars
      The war I finally won by Kimberly Brubbaker Bradley is about a girl named Ada. Ada used to not be able to walk, but at the beginning of the book she gets surgery. The story takes place during World War II. Ada's family's house is destroyed so she and her brother Jamie are sent to live with her guardian, Susan. Then, Ruth, a Jew from Germany, moves in to live with them.
      • chloe1103
        chloe1103Tuesday, February 23, 2021 at 5:52 am55 stars
        'The war I finally won' is a story of a german girl in World war two. The main character Ada has a clubfoot. Because of that, Ada gets unfair treatment from her mother. But soon, she meets Susan, who helped her and her little brother Jamey. They rent a house and began a funny, touching, sad adventure...
        • Mary & Nancy Sunday, October 11, 2020 at 9:49 am
          Woo - Hoo, best book I have ever read! I could not put this book down! After I finished The War that Saved my Life, I noticed a sequel to this book at the end. I decided to read the sequel and instantly loved it! This is a definite 5 stars and I would recommend it!
          • willow123goma
            willow123gomaSaturday, June 20, 2020 at 10:52 am55 stars
            This is about a crippled in World War II named Ada Who was abused before she was adopted into a kind family.As her new family tries to teach her to trust and regain hope, she learns that it doesn't matter how or what or where you were born. What matters is what you do, what you say, how you effect other's lives. I really enjoyed this book, and I hope you will also.
            • lovelightning
              lovelightningWednesday, June 17, 2020 at 7:48 pm55 stars
              If you like historical fiction it is great but make sure too read the first book. It is so amazing.
              • effie302
                effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:18 am
                this is my favorite book, even though some parts are sad its still a very good book I really do recommend it.
                • absol67
                  absol67Saturday, March 14, 2020 at 12:49 am55 starsFeatured
                  After I borrowed the first book of this series (The War That Saved My Life) from my school library, I thought it was just another one of those boring books. But one day I started turning the pages, and before you knew it, I had finished the book. My mom saw this book in a book store and we immediately purchased it. It was as good as the first one, and I finished it right away and I hope there is a third book in the series as well! I look forward to reading it! Five stars because I absolutely adore this book! :)
                  • kaylaa_misch22
                    kaylaa_misch22Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Ada and her little brother Jamie where abused children during the war, after their mother dies they are taken in by an older lady named Susan. she treats them like her own children. They also take in a jew child (The war was against Hitler and stuff like that) And the craziness does not stop from there, from foot surgery to broken bones, Ada and Jamie finally have somewhere to call home. I can connect this book to children today, lots of them are put into foster care and never have a place to call home after a while. similar to Ada and Jamies situation I give this book 5 stars because it helps you understand what was going on and what it was like living during the war.
                    • SparkleunicornWednesday, August 14, 2019 at 5:32 pm
                      This was a very entertaining and had all the things you want to find in a book. I definitely recommend this book!