Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.154580
Elena is the school beauty, but she's bored. Until a new boy turns up in her class. Stefan is dark and mysterious - and she's determined to get to know him better. But Elena reminds Stefan of someone from his tragic past, and he's just as determined to resist her. Until a series of attacks in the area terrify the school and town and Stefan, the outsider, is held responsible. Elena is the only one who offers to help and, falling in love with her, Stefan tells her his terrible story. He is a vampire, on the run from his evil brother, Damon, who is also a vampire, but doesn't share Stefan's qualms about drinking human blood. And Damon is the one Stefan suspects of really being behind the recent attacks...Can Elena help prove his innocence - without revealing his secret?
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on August 25, 2009 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0061963860
ISBN-13: 9780061963865
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • meanshawty
    meanshawtyFriday, March 29, 2019 at 6:33 am55 stars
    I decided to read it because I got bored and the show has books that is not like the show because they do not have ythe same people that is in the TV show But they have Elana and Damon and Stafen that is the only simalarities that the book and the show has and they mention that Elana and stefan is together and Damon likes Elana and Katherine Pierce.
    • doggyelbowmoo22
      doggyelbowmoo22Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 3:28 pm
      I loveeee this show!!!!!! I hope that the book is like the show or else it wouldn't really be as enjoyable.
      • whatislife
        whatislifeTuesday, June 6, 2017 at 11:53 am55 stars
        you should read this book because its fun and there are a lot of HOT BOYS in it.........
        • candy_321
          candy_321Wednesday, December 21, 2016 at 10:41 am
          I LIKE THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!!!!!
          • Girl30Monday, December 19, 2016 at 7:59 am
            I love this book and I like how Stefan comes out of no where!!!!
            • julieMonday, November 2, 2015 at 11:35 am
              This book is great for anyone who enjoys books that have supernatural aspects to it. This book is about a girl, Elena and a vampire Stefan. They both share a relationship towards each other. However, Stefan's older brother Damon comes into the book and that is where it leaves off. Overall, I love this book and all of its qualities.
              • clutzy
                clutzyMonday, May 5, 2014 at 6:47 pm
                ive watched all the episoides and now i am up date with it the last one so unbelievable omg yeah
                • Amber12345Wednesday, March 5, 2014 at 9:25 am
                  This book is awesome and I watch it on netflix and I can't wait to get home and watch it hi
                  • pieisawesome123Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 1:26 pm
                    i love this tv show its very insteresting and also very suspensful. thats why i love it!!!
                    • panda127
                      panda127Wednesday, February 5, 2014 at 1:54 pm55 stars
                      this book i dont know much about. but i love the tv show even though it has killing in it. my favorite character is Stefan. i have everything stefan. by the way i get to meet him in September. So excited. so watch the tv show. And you will see why i like it so much.