Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
184 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • max110
    max110Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 8:27 am55 stars
    First book in one of my favourite series of all time.A perfect blend of magic,deadly purges, action,and romance(in the later books.)This book follows Alex as he is put to death at thirteen for being creative,but he is and rescued by a magician and he learns magic and meets new friends and enemies.AMAZING BOOK!
    • robincarson
      robincarsonMonday, March 30, 2020 at 9:56 am55 stars
      I love this book! It has the perfect amount of action, magic, and fun! A must read!
      • Book loverTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 3:55 pm
        This book is the best book ever. I think that if you are looking for a good series, come to the death farm!=>
        • sahepyzu-156909622002
          sahepyzu-156909622002Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 5:25 pm55 starsFeatured
          Do you like an adventure,magic a good battle,friendship on book is complete with out a giant statue animal coming to life.Well then the unwanted is a book for you.the author of this amazing adventure is Lisa mcmann. the main character of this book is Alex Stow we also come across Lina,samheed,Meghan,will and Alexis twin brother Aaron. Alex and Aaron live in a world called quill weir 13 year old,s are either wanted or unwanted the wanted are sent to a university in quill and the unwanted are sent to be eliminated.But a magician named Mr.today takes the unwanted to a world called Ar time ware creativity is a gift.while there Thea meet a winged statue cheetah named simber. read more to find out more. The reason i like this book is because it has just right enough adventure and imagination. another reason i like this book is on page 21. Mr. today says; greetings friends he open his arms wide;I am marcus today welcome to artime he paused touching his lips and then he smiled brightly.tell me children how dose it feel to be eliminated this shows how MR. today feels for the unwanted kids. This book is a magic adventure with friendship kindness and it has more twists and turns then you will ever imagine. that,s why i think you should read the UNWANTED S
          • 26rlemon
            26rlemonFriday, September 13, 2019 at 2:12 pm
            an outstannding book
            • I do not knowTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:15 pm
              I live this book series everyone should read it. I do not read books 2 at all but I did this book series I am going to read it a third time I love it so much . Favorite book series
              • xx6figuresxx
                xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
                My 2nd favorite series. This whole series is just outright awesome and insanely action packed with some hilarious moments and romance, ts got everything.
                • meTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 7:57 pm
                  i luv this book
                  • unwantedlover
                    unwantedloverThursday, April 11, 2019 at 2:14 pm55 stars
                    This book had so much adventure and suspnse. I loved it. I am now on the fifth unwanteds book, but I would not be there if I had not read the first book. I LOVE LISA MCMANN!!!😍😍😍🀩🀩🀩
                    • furandgills
                      furandgillsThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
                      I really liked the beginning of the book. I liked how Lisa explained the system of the purge. I also liked how descriptive the first couple chapters were. Overall, my favorite book series!! I don’t like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson so I am shocked I like this. But the way Lisa McMann wrote it is just wonderful!! Definitely recommend this book and the whole seriea