Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
191 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lovelightning
    lovelightningThursday, August 20, 2020 at 2:52 pm55 stars
    The whole series is good. But I really enjoyed this book because in my opinion the first book is always the best book.πŸ”
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderTuesday, August 18, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
      I love this first book in the Unwanteds series. The main character is Alex, and he got discovered by drawing, and drawing is not allowed in there land, so he is exiled. Only thing is, he isn't getting killed, he gets taken to an unknown world........ I loved this book, and my favorite part was when he discovered that everything in that world runs on magic, and the tiger n the cover is also made of magic. I hope you guys like this book as much as I did!
      • lavendergirl710
        lavendergirl710Monday, August 10, 2020 at 1:27 pm55 stars
        Alex think's he is going to be sent to his death, but to his surprise, he is not. In Quill the people have lots of rule, and never use creativity, on the day of the Purge, they chose people, to get thrown into the great lake of boiling oil, but they are not, they there to learn the ways of creativity. But when the High Priest, know's about this she wants revenge. But one of Alex's friend, Lani, Killed her. If you want to read more about it, go read the book!
        • jojo424
          jojo424Monday, August 10, 2020 at 10:36 am55 stars
          I absolutely love this book series! To no surprise, this is a book about unwanted's. Quill is a world where creativity and emotion is forbidden. If you show any sign of it, you are sent to death. Not always immediately though! As an adult, you will probably be sent to death immediately, but as a child under 12, you will be sent to death on Purge Day. The one holiday in Quill ever. Every child at age 12 will come to the purge and find out whether they are Wanted, Necessary, or Unwanted. Alex has known he would be Unwanted since he was 10. He also knew his twin brother would be Wanted. Being an Unwanted, Alex knows he will be sent to death. On the ride to the death farm where he will die, he see's people he know. Lani, the Governor's daughter. Meghan. Samheed/Sam. To all the Unwanted's surprise, they are not going to die just yet. They find Marcus Today, the saver of the Unwanted's. And soon enough, they are in a place called Artime. Artime is the exact opposite of Quill, full of creativity and emotion, plus the best: Magic!!! To people who live in a bland, dry, boring, no emotion, place, Artime is very surprising and is hard to get used to. Through out the story, it shows how friends can form. How they learn what a pencil is. How to perform magic. How to sing. Anything you can think of! But Quill is also going through struggles. Aaron, Alex's brother, rises to the top. He becomes quite valuable to High Priest Justine. He knows a bit about Artime from his Unwanted Dreams. But if he told anything to HPJ, he would surly be sent to actual death. Mr. Today can't hide Artime much longer. He needs a new Head Mage. But Quill might discover Artime in the transfer of Head Mage's. Will Artime be safe? Read it and you will find how amazing this book is!!! What I really like about this book series is that even though Alex and maybe Aaron, are the main characters, the story is told in a third person way, I believe. It shows everyone's perspective here and there!
          • lavendergirl710
            lavendergirl710Sunday, August 9, 2020 at 4:24 pm55 stars
            This is my fav series. I totally recommend this. Alex is an unwanted. All unwanted's think that their sent to the great lake of boiling oil. But to their surprise, they are not sent to die, in fact, they are sent to learn the ways of creativity in Artime, since before they were sent to their deaths, they were on the island of Quill, and have lot's of rule's and never use creativity. And a nice man named, Mr. Today, and to be precise, Marcus Today saved all the children who thought they were going to die. Alex also thought he was going to die, but a nice man like Mr. Today, would never throw them into the great lake of boiling oil. Alex and his friends, Megan, Lani, and Samheed, Learned the ways of creativity, but a lady, back in Quill, with Alex's Twin brother Aaron, want revenge, when they figure out that Mr. Today was hiding Artime. The lady, named, High Priest Justine, well she was the High Priest, and she wanted to attack! This Book/Series, Id my fav, So I'll Rate it five stars, that's how good it is!
            • AbedaFriday, July 3, 2020 at 4:59 pm
              An amazing book! Beautifully written, with great characters and plots. In the town of Quill, people are categorized into three groups; the Wanteds, respected people who get to work at a university; the Necessaries, who do jobs on farms and in factories; and the Unwanteds, artistic people who are killed in death farms. While his brother Aaron becomes an intelligent Wanted, Alex must face his own future; to die at the age of thirteen, as an Unwanted. But the death farm is not at all what Alex expected. Instead of having a dreaded future, he finds a place called Artime, where people enrich their creative abilities...magical creatures, spells, and more. However, his past still existsβ€”and he and his brother are thrown into a fight for survival, and the existence of magic starts to fade... Read this book to find out what happens!
              • roxanne3
                roxanne3Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 12:24 pm55 stars
                I REALLY like this series!! I didn't read it for a long time, but my sister had it. But then ya know, I ran out of books, so I decided to read them. I regret not reading them sooner!! It was interesting to me because I am a twin, but not identical and we are boy/girl. I am glad that there is not Unwanteds in our world, even though that is fictional, there is still some things here that relate to that and I am blessed that they do not happen to me!!
                • max110
                  max110Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 8:27 am55 stars
                  First book in one of my favourite series of all time.A perfect blend of magic,deadly purges, action,and romance(in the later books.)This book follows Alex as he is put to death at thirteen for being creative,but he is and rescued by a magician and he learns magic and meets new friends and enemies.AMAZING BOOK!
                  • robincarson
                    robincarsonMonday, March 30, 2020 at 9:56 am55 stars
                    I love this book! It has the perfect amount of action, magic, and fun! A must read!
                    • Book loverTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 3:55 pm
                      This book is the best book ever. I think that if you are looking for a good series, come to the death farm!=>