Anyone with a Hogwarts-shaped hole in their lives can’t miss this fantasy series opener. Dive into a secret underground city below London where ordinary objects are capable of extraordinary magic!

"Part Tim Burton, part J.K. Rowling! A terrific debut." —Soman Chainani, New York Times Bestselling Author of the School for Good and Evil series

Welcome to a world where nothing is quite as it seems…

When their grandmother Sylvie is rushed to the hospital, Ivy Sparrow and her annoying big brother Seb cannot imagine what adventure lies in store. Soon their house is ransacked by unknown intruders, and a very strange policeman turns up on the scene, determined to apprehend them . . . with a toilet brush.

Ivy and Seb make their escape only to find themselves in a completely uncommon world, a secret underground city called Lundinor where ordinary objects have amazing powers. There are belts that enable the wearer to fly, yo-yos that turn into weapons, buttons with healing properties, and other enchanted objects capable of very unusual feats.

But the forces of evil are closing in fast, and when Ivy and Seb learn that their family is connected to one of the greatest uncommon treasures of all time, they must race to unearth the treasure and get to the bottom of a family secret . . . before it’s too late.

Debut novelist Jennifer Bell delivers a world of wonder and whimsy in the start of a richly uncommon series.

"An auspicious trilogy opener." -Kirkus Reviews

 

 

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Crown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0553498436
ISBN-13: 9780553498431
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • jeffdaboss
    jeffdabossWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 5:31 pm44 starsFeatured
    Ivy and Seb's day goes all wrong First, their fighting leads to their grandmother in the hospital. Following the hospital trip, they return home to a wrecked house, where a mysterious pen is writing a mysterious message. Then weird men with toilet brushes chased them and a boy in black is pushing them through a suitcase. They enter an intriguing world called Lundinor, where Uncommoners meet to trade uncommon objects, like carpets that fly and candles make you invisible. While trying to understand the place, they encounter a conspiracy that ruined Lundinor years ago. With little time, little help, and lots of enemies, they take on the conspiracy that stained their family name. This book is surprisingly good. At first, it's slow and seems to be boring, but it progressively got better, and keeps you guessing until the end. It will also be the first of a trilogy, so expect more books!
    • sydstar
      sydstarWednesday, April 26, 2017 at 5:42 pmFeatured
      This book was an incredible read. When I saw the book was compared to JK. Rowling's stories, I thought this would be fun to read and I wasn't disappointed. I related to 11 year old Ivy Sparrow since I'm also an 11 year old girl. Ivy is brave and I'd like to be brave in my life too. Luckily I haven't had any tragedies like Ivy and her brother did. Their grandmother gets hurt, and the house is destroyed and dangerous men chase them. There's lots of excitement and adventure in this book, so you'll want to turn the page. This story is magical and well worth reading.
      • maddyp18
        maddyp18Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 1:42 pm44 starsFeatured
        This is one of my new all-time favorite books! In the beginning, you find out that 11 year old Ivy Sparrow's grandmother fell and seriously hurt herself, so she had to go to the hospital. At that time, Ivy's parents are away at far away work, so the kids (Ivy and her older brother Seb) are on their own. After making sure that their grandmother was safe at the hospital, they go back home to find their house wrecked. They have an unpleasant encounter with the "Underguards," strange men who are chasing them through their house, and out their front door. They escape the Underguards with help from Valian Kaye, a thief who may or may not be nice, and they fall headfirst into a whole new world, (or what seems like a whole new world to them). This place is called Ludinor, an underground city meant for uncommoners to trade their uncommon objects. Ivy and Seb have to figure out why the Underguards trashed their house, and much more urgent mysteries are popping up as well, and the kids' parents' lives may be on the line. Will Ivy and Seb find out about whats happening to their family, or will much darker consequences occur? I loved this book, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy/adventure books. My favorite character was a Ivy, because of her selflessness and her bravery. I also really like this book because it has a lot of variables, and every good book should have that. I would've rated it five stars, but I thought the ending wasn't really complete, so I rated it four. I hope you like this book as much as I did!
        • snicker9
          snicker9Monday, April 17, 2017 at 1:35 pmFeatured
          This book stars out Ivy Sparrow and her older brother in an ambulance, rushing their Granma Sylvie to the hospital. But they have no idea what is in store for them once after they arrive. Right away Granma Sylvie is taken into care. Ivy and Seb's parents are on their way. All appears to be fine(except for the strange man Ivy saw poking around the hospital). But then Ivy and Seb return home-to find it completely trashed. When they are investigating the scene, a strange force of toilet-brush wielding policemen show up. To make things worse they want Ivy and Seb! Ivy and Seb manage to escape with the help of another fugitive Valian. After they arrive at their destination they are amazed. They find themselves in an underground world-Lundinor. In Lundinor, ordinary objects have incredible powers. There are buttons with healing powers, talking bells, candles that make the holder invisible. But the world of Lundinor has secrets buried. Ivy and Seb discover that their family is connected to this uncommon world, and they have no idea of who they can trust. They must race to discover the truth and get to the bottom of hidden history before time runs out. One thing I liked about this book is that it started out with a bang. The story starts right away, with plenty of action. I also like how all the information we receive about this uncommon world is woven into the story, so it doesn't distract from the story. I'm very excited to read the second installment in this series! Jennifer Bell did an amazing job of creating this underground world, it is a completely new concept. I haven't read anything like it, making it even more enjoyable. I recommend this book to middle school and high school readers. I think older elementary kids would also enjoy it. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
          • asher tiston Monday, March 6, 2017 at 6:51 am
            my teacher made this book mrs bell and her first name is jenifer
            • duckie2085
              duckie2085Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 6:00 am
              I got this book from my library and am halfway through reading it. (In one sitting) It's amazing and really imaginative. I'm not going to spoil the book, but actually read it. Also enter the contest. It's lit :)
              • flips4days
                flips4daysTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 9:11 am
                its beast
                • flips4days
                  flips4daysTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 9:09 am
                  this book is so lit
                  • bananadream240
                    bananadream240Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                    yeah it looks pretty lit, indeed. Have you entered the contest?
                  • sasmitatangudu
                    sasmitatanguduMonday, February 27, 2017 at 9:45 am
                    I think its awesome
                    • phoenix23425
                      phoenix23425Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 4:39 pm
                      I think it's so cool. I took the sneak peek and It's good.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mircat wrote:

                      i am going to be a member i lov...
                      Animal Jam Official Insider's Gu...

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      Don’t worry e06. It was boring f...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      This is an awesome book that was...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      cutecat6
                      cutecat6 wrote:

                      Hey, Stich123, I have the it. An...
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...