Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 5 - 10n/a5.518979
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth" is the massively funny fifth title in the highly-illustrated, bestselling and award-winning "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series by Jeff Kinney. Perfect for both boys and girls of 8+, reluctant readers and all the millions of devoted Wimpy Kid fans out there. You can also discover Greg on the big screen in any one of the three "Wimpy Kid Movie" box office smashes. The massively funny fifth book in the bestselling and award-winning "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series. Greg Heffley has always been in a hurry to grow up. But is getting older really all it's cracked up to be? Suddenly Greg is dealing with the pressures of boy-girl parties, increased responsibilities, and even the awkward changes that come with getting older. And after a fight with his best friend Rowley, it looks like Greg is going to have to face the "ugly truth" all by himself...Praise for Jeff Kinney and the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series: "The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series". ("Sun"). "Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet". ("Independent"). "Hilarious!". ("Sunday Telegraph"). "The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - "Diary of a Wimpy Kid". ("The Big Issue"). As well as being an international bestselling author, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, poptropica where you can also find the Wimpy Kid boardwalk. He was named one of "Time" magazine's 100 Most Influential People in 2009. He lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 1, 2010 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 0810984911
ISBN-13: 9780810984912
296 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • warriorsgirl11
    warriorsgirl11Tuesday, August 4, 2020 at 4:51 pm55 stars
    The “The Diary of a Wimpy Kid” book is a story about a kid named Greg Heffley going through hard times during life. In the book “The Ugly Truth” Greg lost his best friend Rowley and needs to find a new one. Greg also tries to make his life interesting online because he believed that eve ... friendships are important!
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 9:47 am55 stars
      Greg Heffley is facing tons of problems. He is eager to grow up. He is suddenly invited to boy-girl parties and fights with Rowley. He also takes more responsibilities. He gets the TALK and feels like he is just stuck in the middle.
      • xxtashaxx
        xxtashaxxThursday, June 25, 2020 at 4:52 pm55 stars
        I just love this book! It's super funny and makes me laugh every time. In the book Greg is starting to grow up and is worrying that he will have to get 'The Talk' after his brother Rodrick. This is a good book to read when you just want to relax, there are many funny pictures and it's a pretty easy book to read!
        • undertaleundyne
          undertaleundyneThursday, June 18, 2020 at 3:49 pm44 stars
          I really LOVE this book! Every time I read it, it always surprises me!
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolFriday, June 5, 2020 at 11:50 am55 stars
            Gregory (Greg) Heffley is growing up, and he is going to have to face the "ugly truth" at some point. Greg knows that he will have to get the talk next after Rodrick, and he would rather not have to. This book was funny, and I think it was a turning point for Greg as he is growing up and will have to face another stage in his life. I recommend this book to people who enjoy other Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, or enjoy the Dork Diaries series. I rate this book 5/5.
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Friday, June 5, 2020 at 11:09 am55 stars
              I really like it! So, Greg is getting older and kids are getting more crazy and starting to like girls a lot more than usual! Greg has always wanted to grow up, but not this much. Greg is starting to like girls a bit and getting invited to girls birthday parties and facing a lot of changes on his body which the teachers are making known to them. Will Greg and Rowley face this togther? Read this amazing book to find out!
              • toodorky
                toodorkyFriday, May 22, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
                This book is about Greg learning to grow up. It's hard to aim in the bathroom, so he and the boys in the family want to get urinals. Greg also has a hard time with other stuff:fighting, hair, and more. How will Greg through life when he keeps worrying? I loved this funny book, and I'm sure you will too.
                • cherry-blossom
                  cherry-blossomTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:52 pm44 stars
                  I guess it captures the spirit of Gregory growing up and going to high school. Although it is slightly awkward in parts it is a GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT!
                  • BenjermenSunday, December 22, 2019 at 6:45 pm
                    I kind of like this,and have a great day
                    • ConnorFriday, October 25, 2019 at 3:57 pm
                      I love the show and I like to read it because it's my favourite show 7 Sarah Louise place in Berwick