Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.970822
Critically acclaimed author Kimberley Griffiths Little spins a thrilling story of one girl's race to unravel the curse that has haunted her family for generations.

When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows she's in for a strange summer. A series of clues leads her to the muddy river banks, where clouds of fireflies dance among the cypress knees and cattails each evening at twilight. The fireflies are beautiful and mysterious, and they take her on a magical journey through time, where Larissa learns secrets about her family's tragic past -- deadly, curse-ridden secrets that could harm the future of her family as she knows it. It soon becomes clear that it is up to Larissa to prevent history from repeating itself and a fatal tragedy from striking the people she loves.
With her signature lyricism, Kimberley Griffiths Little weaves a thrilling tale filled with family secrets, haunting mystery, and dangerous adventure.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on July 29, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545165636
ISBN-13: 9780545165631
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • brightheart4evr
    brightheart4evrSunday, June 25, 2017 at 8:55 am55 stars
    This book is truly one of the most emotional books I have ever read. I own this book, however, it took me a long time to read. In the beginning of the book, it doesn't seem very interesting. Though, later on, the author throws so many interesting and sad twists and turns at you. The near ending was very emotional, yet everything worked out. I really expected this book to be more of a "happy" book, but boy was I wrong. I was very unprepared for any plot twists in this book. You may think this book is about a random girl going through time, because, why not. It's really much deeper than that. When reading this book, never unbuckle your seatbelt...because if you do, you could alter yourself...forever.
    • olliebob
      olliebobSaturday, May 20, 2017 at 9:53 am55 starsFeatured
      If you loved Circle of Secrets, you will love The Time of the Fireflies! Larissa's family owns an antique shop. One day Larissa hears a phone ring, except it's one of the phones they sell to customers. One of the phones who's lines are disconnected. The voice on the phone tells her to find the fireflies and trust the fireflies. How was she supposed to do that? The real question was, how was she supposed to save her Mama and her baby sister who wasn't even born yet? She had to go back in time, and in doing so, traced her family's misfortune and tragedies all back to one thing. And you'll have to read the book to find out what it is. It was very sweet, and sometimes creepy, and I'd recommend it to grades 4-8, although it may be a little hard for younger readers. I LOVED IT!!!!!!
      • prettypink21
        prettypink21Monday, April 4, 2016 at 12:12 pm
        I am currently still reading this book, but so far it is really good. I'm only on page 39 and I am in love with it. From what I have read, it is about a girl who got this weird phone call from a broken phone who needs her to focus on the fireflies
        • ebonyfire
          ebonyfireThursday, January 28, 2016 at 1:09 pm55 stars
          This is one of the best books I have ever read!! The plot was very intricate and it was very exciting.
          • thedude42
            thedude42Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at 8:22 am
            I really like this book so so so much even read it with my brother
            • dog lover101Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at 8:20 am
              so good if you are in a scary book mood this book is the one you have to read.
              • candylove
                candyloveFriday, March 27, 2015 at 12:11 pm33 starsFeatured
                What's creepy, mysterious, and that you can really relate too? It's The Time of the Fireflies by Kimberly Griffiths Little. It's very, very creepy and mysterious, if I haven't made that clear already. But the girl in the story, Larissa can be related to by almost anyone! Larissa's family has just moved to this new town where her mother lived when she grew up. They live in an antique shop, but there's one thing that they don't sell. They keep it in a locked glass box. It is a doll. An heirloom, really. With secrets from the past. Larissa receives a message on an old phone that's not supposed to work. It says: Follow the Fireflies. Trust the fireflies. Larissa finds the fireflies and goes back in time to when her great, great grandmother was a little girl and realizes that the doll was there since then. And everything bad that happened to the people in Larissa's family, the doll had seen it. When she gets back, her mother has news that she is going to have a baby girl. But the next day, her mom and the doll are gone. Her mother must have taken her doll with her. If everything Larissa knows about the doll is true, then her mother is in danger. Grave danger. Through suspense, and magic a secretive and mysterious book is unleashed: The Time of the Fireflies.
                • abby127
                  abby127Wednesday, November 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                  Well, I think people should read this book because it is a thrilling tale of unexpected friendship, hunting mystery, and dangerous adventures.
                  • edmodo-hyvucjc5em
                    edmodo-hyvucjc5emMonday, November 17, 2014 at 9:48 am55 stars
                    I liked this book because I like haunted thing and this book is about and possessed doll ! Also it happened at there home and Larriza felt like the doll a on the shelf was staring at her. She got a call that said " trust the fireflies." So she went to a broken bridge and traveled through time!