The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles, Book Two)

Book 2 of 3 in the The Kane Chronicles Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.8113038
Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed in the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister Sadie have been in trouble. As descendants of the House of Life, the Kanes have some powers at their command, but the devious gods haven’t given them much time to master their skills at Brooklyn House, which has become a training ground for young magicians. And now their most threatening enemy yet—the chaos snake Apophis—is rising. If they don’t prevent him from breaking free in a few days’ time, the world will come to an end. In other words, it’s a typical week for the Kane family. To have any chance of battling the Forces of Chaos, the Kanes must revive the sun god Ra. But that would be a feat more powerful than any magician has ever accomplished. First they have to search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant its spells. Oh, and did we mention that no one knows where Ra is exactly? Narrated in two different wisecracking voices, featuring a large cast of new and unforgettable characters, and with adventures spanning the globe, this second installment in the Kane Chronicles is nothing short of a thrill ride.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on August 14, 2012 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423142012
ISBN-13: 9781423142010
82 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • Cinderella Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 4:30 pm
    It's amazing that the book will attract more than a thousand people 😜
    • Cinde Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 4:23 pm
      It's totally amazing and cool anyone would love it
      • yumikothelewis
        yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 6:32 pm
        This book was amazing, and I personally think that Sadie and Anubis would make a great couple... #ship
        • beagleduppy
          beagleduppyMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:50 pm44 stars
          It was pretty good. I liked that it was written in first person. Also, I kind of thought it was funny how Riordon wrote it; a brother and sister always arguing. I think I would recommend it.
          • smishball123
            smishball123Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 6:42 pm55 stars
            I need to read it
            • camarobro
              camarobroMonday, February 22, 2016 at 4:36 pm
              i want to read it so bad
              • skills
                skillsFriday, February 5, 2016 at 6:43 am55 stars
                This book is amazing and its about two kids sadie and carner kane who are training recruits to become magicians and as they find out in the first book that apophis is escaping from the duat (his prison) so they try and go awaken the sun god ra
                • skills
                  skillsFriday, February 5, 2016 at 6:38 am55 stars
                  This Book is amazing and I couldn't stop reading it. I recommend the first book (the red pyramid) then this book . It talks about 2 children who are trying to stop Apophis (an Egyptian god) from escaping from its prison and swallowing the sun
                  • rose05775
                    rose05775Thursday, January 14, 2016 at 6:33 am55 stars
                    OMG OMG OMG I TOATALLY THINK SADIE AND ANUBIS WOULD MAKE A GREAT COUPLE!!!!!!!! :3
                    • pinkpeanutbuter
                      pinkpeanutbuterTuesday, November 24, 2015 at 2:26 pm55 stars
                      I love this book and all of the characters . I really don't want Jaz to die , she is immensely nice and a really good healer . well I really like this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...