Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.885591
An exciting, magical adventure set among the crumbling canals and ancient ruins of Venice, Italy.

Prosper and Bo are orphans on the run from their cruel aunt and uncle. The brothers decide to hide out in Venice, where they meet a mysterious character who calls himself the "Thief Lord." Brilliant and charismatic, the Thief Lord leads a ring of street children who dabble in petty crimes. Prosper and Bo relish being part of this colorful new family. But the Thief Lord has secrets of his own. And soon the boys are thrust into circumstances that will lead them, and readers, to a fantastic, spellbinding conclusion.
Hardcover, 349 pages
Published on September 1, 2002 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439404371
ISBN-13: 9780439404372
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • neonbook
    neonbookFriday, August 25, 2017 at 7:28 am55 stars
    Pretty impressed ...I picked this book from school library yesterday..Pretty confused if this was the right one I was looking forward to read it and yes it's the one When I first started reading this I got good vibes and i felt this was something like me and I'm loving it .. I haven't finished it yet .. there is still a long journey to go and i wish if there was no ending .. the character's and the whole storyline has driven me nuts..when first I got to know the thief Lord was not an orphan but just an ordinary rich child who was helping his friends made me so sad and emotional .. it's really written so well and it feels like I'm inside the book .. I can imagine the movie theater and little bo and his brother prosper..also the hedgehog and Scipio the thief Lord..there are so many twists and ups as down which I'm loving and fangirling so hard .. can't wait to read this whole book and leave a comment here about my feelings about the ending and whether it was best or good .but I'm sure it's gonna be the best end and yeah I love the cover of the book (sounds weird ?)okai so let me stop right here ad get to to reading process. ..
    • athenagraceeeeeFriday, June 2, 2017 at 6:44 pm
      This is a great book. It is a little slow in the beginning but you just have to be patient with it and it will hook you fast! It is full of nonstop action, mystery, adventure, and suspense! Super unique and original! Lots of plot twists. Amazing character development and very unpredictable! You can never forget this wonderful book!!!!!!!
      • wasup21
        wasup21Tuesday, October 4, 2016 at 7:58 pm55 stars
        this book is full of action and detail that is so vivde that it feels like you are there
        • ryanl20
          ryanl20Tuesday, December 1, 2015 at 2:17 am55 starsFeatured
          I think this is a awesome and very interesting book. The character are special and how they interact with each others, also the relationships between them make me feel alive. When I was reading the story, I feel nervous when Victor almost got them, I feel funny when they joke and get angry at each other, I feel differently. The story is very cool and as I was reading it, I feel like the characters are coming alive. After reading this story, it really reminds me of me and my best friends. When I was small, I always imagine and wanted to have a group of friends that forms a team that is very famous and powerful.
          • al3720
            al3720Monday, November 9, 2015 at 3:09 pm44 stars
            This book is really good. It has action, fantasy, and science fiction in it. It is a great book for everyone. If you haven't read this book before, you should defiantly give it a try.
            • ryanl20
              ryanl20Monday, October 19, 2015 at 2:12 am55 stars
              I think this is a awesome and very interesting book. The character are special and how they interact with each others, also the relationships between them make me feel alive. When I was reading the story, I feel nervous when Victor almost got them, I feel funny when they joke and get angry at each other, I feel differently. The story is very cool and as I was reading it, I feel like the characters are coming alive.
              • chrystal13
                chrystal13Monday, June 22, 2015 at 1:02 pm
                This was a great book. It had wonderful character development, and Bo and Prosper, along with all of the other characters, were real people. Nobody just had a good side, and things weren't ever just peaches and cream. I loved the fact that there was always something to keep you reading, and I loved loved loved how it all ended. This is just one of Cornelia Funke's enchanting, magical, and gripping tales. Please read!
                • hockey4
                  hockey4Friday, June 19, 2015 at 7:59 am
                  Its an Awesome book and the settings in Venice
                  • crazyberry
                    crazyberrySaturday, January 17, 2015 at 4:08 pm55 stars
                    i'm reading this now and it's awesome so far!
                    • acquastardust
                      acquastardustSaturday, March 15, 2014 at 8:16 am
                      AWESOME GREAT BOOK IT JUST GREAT I LOVE IDA SHE IS SO GENEROUS SHE TURNS THE WHOLE BOOK AROUND GREAT