The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307284859
ISBN-13: 9780307284853
118 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rainbowyt
    rainbowytThursday, February 13, 2020 at 6:07 pm55 stars
    This book is full of emotion. It is full of adventure and is the type of book that you never want to stop reading. I love it very much.
    • Emily BaconTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 5:29 pm
      This book is epic but I wish I can tell you what it's about but I can't all I can tell you about it is it's a little mouse named Despereaux who has a crush on a princess but the princess is human and they understand him than the princess gets lost in the dungeon it's up to Despereaux tosave the beutiful princess and do something with Miggery sow you must read this great awsome book!!!!!! and it says whut it's about up here^^^
      • BookwormGMESTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 11:04 am
        I loved this book so much and I recommend it if you are in 5th to 8th grade. I would not recommend this, however, to people who don't like to read long books. This book was a fair size, and it was also hard to finish. But, I was a good reader and in 3rd grade at the time. But this book was a great adventure book with lots of surprises around each corner. [P.S, the movie is definitely NOT as good as the book, so read the book first]
        • Chenfei ZhoeTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm
          even though it's been a long time since I read this book, it is still an engaging dramatic novel that I recommend to all readers who like mice, fighting, and a little fun.
          • reader_red
            reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:24 pm55 stars
            Despereaux is the most un-mouse-like mouse ever to roam. He falls in love with a princess. After doing something especially un-mouse-like, Desperaux is banished to the deep dark.
            • applemango
              applemangoWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 10:36 pm55 stars
              You know this book really is fascinating to me. I read this in 3rd grade and it made me laugh and cry at the same time! The tale of Desperaux is a good one to read....About a king who hates rats and princess too. However Desperaux is a mouse and the princess thinks he is a good one. There is also a wicked rat involved in the story. All strewn onto a big mantel of weaves....
              • pumpkin40107
                pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:26 pm33 stars
                It was a pretty good book and it looks and sounds like a classic book but it wasn’t the best book I’ve read😬😐
                • Juan nacho headFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:40 am
                  That book good I read it in a week
                  • ariettaki08
                    ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:22 pm33 stars
                    It was ok, but maybe if they put more exiting parts in there, it would be better.
                    • MeFriday, November 2, 2018 at 8:59 am
                      This book was awesome! Something about it really made it feel special when I finished it.