The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.732375
A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. What happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out.
With black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Timothy Basil Ering.
Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307284859
ISBN-13: 9780307284853
115 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Chenfei ZhoeTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm
    even though it's been a long time since I read this book, it is still an engaging dramatic novel that I recommend to all readers who like mice, fighting, and a little fun.
    • reader_red
      reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:24 pm55 stars
      Despereaux is the most un-mouse-like mouse ever to roam. He falls in love with a princess. After doing something especially un-mouse-like, Desperaux is banished to the deep dark.
      • applemango
        applemangoWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 10:36 pm55 stars
        You know this book really is fascinating to me. I read this in 3rd grade and it made me laugh and cry at the same time! The tale of Desperaux is a good one to read....About a king who hates rats and princess too. However Desperaux is a mouse and the princess thinks he is a good one. There is also a wicked rat involved in the story. All strewn onto a big mantel of weaves....
        • pumpkin40107
          pumpkin40107Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 2:26 pm33 stars
          It was a pretty good book and it looks and sounds like a classic book but it wasn’t the best book I’ve read😬😐
          • Juan nacho headFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:40 am
            That book good I read it in a week
            • ariettaki08
              ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:22 pm33 stars
              It was ok, but maybe if they put more exiting parts in there, it would be better.
              • MeFriday, November 2, 2018 at 8:59 am
                This book was awesome! Something about it really made it feel special when I finished it.
                • piggie101
                  piggie101Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 6:25 am55 stars
                  It is about a mouse who is love with a princess and he is not like the other mice and [wait I am saying to much yeah I am] so now to read the rest read it yourself it will only take you a year :)Also its not for every reader 5 Stars
                  • BoksoonyTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:03 pm
                    This book was soooo good it blew my mind 😍🤯
                    • starns20
                      starns20Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:19 am55 stars
                      I recommed this book because it's very good.