Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.864669
Owen, Kiel, and Bethany confront secrets, stolen memories, and some very familiar faces in the follow-up to the second book in the New York Times bestselling series, The Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Owen Conners’s whole life changed the day he found out his classmate Bethany was half-fictional, and could take him into any book in the library. Which story would they jump into next? Another fantasy, like the Kiel Gnomenfoot, Magic Thief books? Maybe something with superheroes? Owen’s up for anything except mysteries—those just have too many hidden clues, twists that make no sense, and an ending you never see coming.

Then Owen wakes up in a real-life mystery with a memory that’s been erased and too many questions. How did Kiel Gnomenfoot lose all of his magic? Where is Bethany? And who’s the annoying guy wearing the question mark mask and Sherlock Holmes hat, taunting Owen and Kiel that Bethany is in grave danger?

Bethany is trapped in a hidden room that’s slowly filling with water, and she can’t escape until her friends find her. But is she imprisoned by more than just chains and a locked door? What’s she hiding from Owen and Kiel?

Maybe some mysteries just shouldn’t be solved…

Please note: The black bars in the first nine chapters are intended.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 19, 2016 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481409220
ISBN-13: 9781481409223
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 6:46 pm55 stars
    In this book, Bethany's and Owen's memory are stolen, and they have to try and find the chapters of memories that are missing in this book. Someone has stolen their memory, and they need them to solve their mystery! It's a very interesting book, with new memories finding their way into the book. It''s so much fun reading this book, and I hope you guys love it as much as I did!
    • mnmaurer
      mnmaurerTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 5:32 pm55 stars
      Finding different worlds. Finding you were a book. Realizing your author is Nobody. This mystery adventure makes you wonder... are YOU fictional?
      • bookwave
        bookwaveThursday, March 12, 2020 at 3:34 pm55 stars
        I loved this book. First Owen and Kiel wake up in a library and a man burns it to the ground. They get arrested and Britney is stuck in a trap. Owen and Kiel escape and meet Fowen (fictional Owen). They go after the strange man and rescue Britney. They plan to take out the man but it is actually Fowen. They defeat Fowen and go back to normal. This book is so mind-boggling that it just makes sense. This book is an amazing sequel to the first. I rate this five stars because it is a mystery book that I like.
        • applemango
          applemangoSaturday, December 29, 2018 at 3:04 pm55 stars
          This book is about Owen and Kiel and they wake up in a library that is on fire. A strange person with a question mark mask tells them that Bethany is in grave danger. While Bethany is trapped in a hidden room in the library that is filling with water and she can't get out until Owen and Kiel find her. Then Owen and Kiel get caught by the police which of course leads them somewhere down the wrong path.....
          • theindiancritic
            theindiancriticSunday, January 21, 2018 at 5:49 am55 stars
            Story Thieves: The Stolen Chapters is a wonderful, fast-paced novel that leaves you breathless at almost every single twist. This book was written so that you can’t expect anything, and if you do, your expectations are wrong. This formula is perfect to execute a stunning climax over and over. This book may be a little overwhelming, and if you like simple plots only, this isn’t your kind of a book. It takes some processing to understand exactly what is happening. Ok, so the plot. This whole series is plot-driven, and that’s why it turns out to be such a success. It’s about three friends that we know from the last book: Owen, Bethany, and Kiel. owen and Kiel wake up in Owen’s library with no memory and massive headaches. Then, some random guy in a question mark mask comes up to them and tells them he’s fictional, Sherlock Holmes’ son Doyle Holmes, he knows Kiel’s fictional, blah, blah, blah. Your typical serial-killing intellect. He tells them to find their friend Bethany in two hours, or basically, he’ll wreck them and the world. He then proceeds to set the library on fire, forcing them out and on their way. How Owen and Kiel manage to find Bethany and how they proceed to destroy Doyle is the crux of the story. The plot may sound simple enough, but it’s really not. The mystery is based on a play of words, and Owen doesn’t realize that until the end, until his nemesis practically gives the answer away. No amount of predicting can be done to guess exactly how this story ends. No doubt, it is one of my favorite books. 5/5. You won’t be disappointed.
            • tori3ghoul
              tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:54 pm44 stars
              In attempt to find Bethany's missing father, Owen, Bethany, and Kiel use spells and new allies. But when the gang gets separated in an alternate world, Owen and Kiel meet a fictional Owen and a young detective who know a little too much. But what's Fictional Owen's real identity? Hmm?
              • CacaSunday, April 16, 2017 at 6:24 pm
                I have this book but I don't know it's reading lexile and I need it for a book report
                • dacrazycomedian
                  dacrazycomedianFriday, December 16, 2016 at 12:10 pm
                  I really want this book
                  • yellow43528
                    yellow43528Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 5:03 am
                    I really really want to read this book.
                    • booksdd
                      booksddSaturday, September 17, 2016 at 11:55 am55 stars
                      This is one of my prizes and I loved this book! Mysteries, clues, and familiar memories go around this book as Owen and Kiel set out to find Bethany.