Smurfs #1: The Purple Smurfs, The (The Smurfs Graphic Novels)

Book 4 of 21 in the The Smurfs Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 2n/a2.04419
When a strange fly bites one of the Smurfs, a full-on epidemic develops in the Smurf village! After being bit, a Smurf turns purple, his vocabulary is reduced to one word (GNAP!), and he goes berserk! The purple Smurf runs amok around the Smurf Village biting other Smurfs on the tail, causing them to turn purple and act crazy too! Soon there are more purple Smurfs than blue Smurfs in the village. It's up to Papa Smurf to find a cure and save Smurf Village before all of the Smurfs lose their minds for good!
Hardcover, 56 pages
Published on February 1, 2011 by Papercutz
ISBN-10: 1597072079
ISBN-13: 9781597072076
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • StingyMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:50 pm
    I really like the book covers it look so cute I also enjoy movie so amazingly my favourite character would be papa smerf and brainy
    • squirmyloo
      squirmylooMonday, June 13, 2016 at 5:14 pm22 stars
      This book was really silly! MY younger brother enjoyed me reading it to him. He loved the purple smurf. This is a cool book so read it!
      • AM23 Fly MANTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 11:50 am
        LOVE IT.
        • A'legin mcClainTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 11:49 am
          Love it.
          • chealsea16
            chealsea16Saturday, October 10, 2015 at 1:09 pm22 stars
            its boring its about a smurf who turns purple
            • readwriter
              readwriterSunday, September 27, 2015 at 12:26 pm55 stars
              This three-in-one book is very funny. In 'The Purple Smurfs' is about a smurf that gets bitten by a Bzz fly. Then, he bites a smurf who bites a smurf and it just keeps going. Papa smurf and the remaining 5 smurfs-including papa smurf-have to find a way to stop the purple smurfs before it's too late. In the second story, "The Flying Smurf', a smurf wants to fly, but no matter what he tries, something happens that stops him from flying. Maybe he'll try sailing instead. In the third story, 'A Smurf's Neighbors' a smurf moves to the forrest, but that's not much better than his old house-plus there's a squirrel who keeps stealing his food and a mosquito keeps biting him. Maybe he'll move back to the village. I loved it!
              • bonnieh
                bonniehThursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:49 pm33 stars
                in the story its like once the smurf gets a bite from the insects they turn purple and became evil. then papa had to make a potion but it didn't work until the end when he became purple too
                • inventor60
                  inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:10 am22 stars
                  The epidemic has began. The strange disease caused by the bite of a fly turns a few Smurfs purple. Their vocabulary than reduces to the word "gnap" and they go around biting the others on the tail and turning them purple to. It is now up to Papa Smurf to defeat the disease before it is too late.
                  • guilford12
                    guilford12Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 2:43 pm
                    This book is great! Me and my sister could not stop laughing!
                    • guilford12
                      guilford12Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 2:38 pm
                      This book is a must read for anyone who loves fantasy stories. I love the way that the other smurfs help each other out! Plus, the are sooooooooo cute!