Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.667782

#1 New York Times bestseller

From Kiera Cass, author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who's everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can't bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

The Siren was previously self-published; this edition has been completely rewritten and redesigned.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 006239200X
ISBN-13: 9780062392008
11 Book Reviews
  • kittylover111
    kittylover111Friday, June 4, 2021 at 2:20 pm44 stars
    This book is amazing! Romance, and yes, I had tears! Kiera Cass is a great author, and I totally recommend it to you! I love romance novels, so if you do to, read this, and give this review a thumbs up!
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everFriday, June 4, 2021 at 2:11 pm44 stars
      The Siren is a sweet and charming book by bestselling author Kiera Cass! The main character is a Siren named Kahlen. Being a Siren means serving the Ocean and having a voice that is deadly to human ears. But all that changes when Kahlen meets Akinli. Akinli is kind, caring, funny...and, unfortunately, human. Kahlen feigns muteness around him, but it is difficult for her to have to pretend. This is a whimsical story that conveys the message of following your heart despite your circumstances. The premise was quite similar to Cass's The Selection series, but enjoyable nevertheless. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a fantasy-romance read!
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 5:36 pm44 stars
        this book made me cry sooooo much! i love kahlen and akinli together, and it was as if i could see them falling in love right in front of my eyes.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammFriday, May 31, 2019 at 9:35 am44 stars
          this is another fantastic novel by kiera cass. it really shows the effects of true love and how kahlen and akinli were able to fall in love without kahlen being able to "speak".
          • realsassymay
            realsassymaySunday, January 20, 2019 at 4:23 pm55 stars
            You will cry in this book, this book give me many tears.
            • devenitycrystal
              devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:25 am44 stars
              If you love sirens and the sea, this book is great for you! It has some romance, it's a great book and definitely is amazing. If you love mermaid/siren history, this book would also be great. If you loved this book, you should read other books by Kiera Cass!
              • ellisonbellison
                ellisonbellisonFriday, December 2, 2016 at 4:35 am55 stars
                After I mowed through the selection series I read this one and it is one of the best books ever!
                • greekgeek14
                  greekgeek14Sunday, August 14, 2016 at 1:31 pm
                  Sounds cool, I hope it's in the library
                  • astronaut
                    astronautWednesday, August 10, 2016 at 8:45 pm55 stars
                    This book is so awesome!!! I loved the read. It's Romantic mixed with fantasy. If you enjoy books of romance with extra magic, you have got to read this!!!
                    • aaj0324
                      aaj0324Monday, February 22, 2016 at 5:26 am55 stars
                      isn't Kiera Cass like your favorite author! Her and JK Rowling are mine! She writes awesome romance novels so I NEED to see what this is about!