The Secret Garden

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U6.380398

When Mary Lennox's parents die from cholera in India, the spoiled orphan is transplanted to her uncle's 600-year-old gloomy and secretive estate in England. She is certain that she is destined for misery at Misselthwaite Manor. When Mary meets the old groundskeeper, he is the first to tell her what he thinks of her: "We was wove out of th' same cloth. We're neither of us good lookin' an' we're both of us as sour as we look. We've got the same nasty tempers, both of us, I'll warrant." However, Mary soon discovers an arched doorway into an overgrown garden that has been locked shut since the death of her aunt ten years earlier. Fate grants Mary access to the secret garden and she begins transforming it into a thing of beauty-unaware that she, too, is changing.

Paperback, 218 pages
Published on February 16, 2017 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1543151159
ISBN-13: 9781543151152
44 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • klbaek26
    klbaek26Thursday, August 17, 2017 at 3:45 am55 stars
    I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
    • awesomeuser
      awesomeuserMonday, March 20, 2017 at 6:12 pm55 stars
      I saw the movie and then just had to read the book. I love it so far and totally can't wait to finish it. Bottom line, it's an awesome book!
      • oreoshershey
        oreoshersheyMonday, September 26, 2016 at 1:08 pm
        I love this book it such a beautiful story I feel bad for Mary in the beginning because her parents die but the end is happy.
        • ttre10
          ttre10Friday, May 13, 2016 at 11:33 am
          because I had it and it looked cool.
          • zzzxxx
            zzzxxxSunday, April 3, 2016 at 9:52 am22 stars
            I recommend this book for younger ages, especially when you have the 'Junior Classics for Young Readers' edition of this book. It wasn't the best to me because I like books where you have up and down thrilling adventures, and mysteries and that, to me, just wasn't included in this book. If you like up and down thrilling adventures and mystery books then I do not recommend this book for you, otherwise if you don't like that stuff in books, I recommend this book for you.
            • lucydisney
              lucydisneyThursday, January 21, 2016 at 3:28 pm33 stars
              The Secret Garden is a realistic fiction book written by Fraces Hodgson Burnett. It is not very exciting, but does have wonderful characters and a good story line.
              • starwarsgirl
                starwarsgirlSaturday, January 16, 2016 at 10:24 am55 stars
                I love this book its so interesting its cool how Mary finds Colen I feel bad for colen he thinks he's going to die :-( but boy is he wrong he's still sick but at least he gets better its cool how Mary finds Colen when she heres him crying and fallows the noise i like ho you can amagen the garden so well with no pictures so red this book its really good.
                • cheetahluver
                  cheetahluverSaturday, January 16, 2016 at 5:25 am55 stars
                  The Secret Garden is a well-paced book that is full of mystery and surprise. It is about a young girl named Mary who goes to England, and stays in a manor. At first, Mary is a disagreeable and ugly child, but soon the moor starts to change her looks and personalities. She makes new friends- animals and people alike- and soon discovers a secret garden that has been locked up for a long, long time. She also discovers her hidden cousin- a sick boy named Colin that lives in the same manor! Together, both Mary and Colin experience changes- mentally and physically- as the secret garden shapes the two children's lives.
                  • camhsu20
                    camhsu20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 1:07 am55 stars
                    People hide there secrets into there heart and lock it away. In the Secret Garden the book attracts my attention with the relationship of the characters and with there conflicts in the plot and the detailed description of scenes and act. All the attention to detail and the Yorkshire accent made it a fascinating book to enjoy. I most enjoy the excitements of finding and pampering the garden. I would definitely recommend this book to all of my friends and let them enjoy it, too.
                    • ec0612
                      ec0612Sunday, November 8, 2015 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                      I read this book, and the next few minutes I get so into it, I can't hear anything. This is a great classic book.