The Secret Garden

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U6.380398
Ten-year-old Mary comes to live in a lonely house on the Yorkshire moors and discovers an invalid cousin and the mysteries of a locked garden.
Paperback, 218 pages
Published on February 16, 2017 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1543151159
ISBN-13: 9781543151152
43 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • awesomeuser
    awesomeuserMonday, March 20, 2017 at 6:12 pm55 stars
    I saw the movie and then just had to read the book. I love it so far and totally can't wait to finish it. Bottom line, it's an awesome book!
    • oreoshershey
      oreoshersheyMonday, September 26, 2016 at 1:08 pm
      I love this book it such a beautiful story I feel bad for Mary in the beginning because her parents die but the end is happy.
      • ttre10
        ttre10Friday, May 13, 2016 at 11:33 am
        because I had it and it looked cool.
        • zzzxxx
          zzzxxxSunday, April 3, 2016 at 9:52 am22 stars
          I recommend this book for younger ages, especially when you have the 'Junior Classics for Young Readers' edition of this book. It wasn't the best to me because I like books where you have up and down thrilling adventures, and mysteries and that, to me, just wasn't included in this book. If you like up and down thrilling adventures and mystery books then I do not recommend this book for you, otherwise if you don't like that stuff in books, I recommend this book for you.
          • lucydisney
            lucydisneyThursday, January 21, 2016 at 3:28 pm33 stars
            The Secret Garden is a realistic fiction book written by Fraces Hodgson Burnett. It is not very exciting, but does have wonderful characters and a good story line.
            • starwarsgirl
              starwarsgirlSaturday, January 16, 2016 at 10:24 am55 stars
              I love this book its so interesting its cool how Mary finds Colen I feel bad for colen he thinks he's going to die :-( but boy is he wrong he's still sick but at least he gets better its cool how Mary finds Colen when she heres him crying and fallows the noise i like ho you can amagen the garden so well with no pictures so red this book its really good.
              • cheetahluver
                cheetahluverSaturday, January 16, 2016 at 5:25 am55 stars
                The Secret Garden is a well-paced book that is full of mystery and surprise. It is about a young girl named Mary who goes to England, and stays in a manor. At first, Mary is a disagreeable and ugly child, but soon the moor starts to change her looks and personalities. She makes new friends- animals and people alike- and soon discovers a secret garden that has been locked up for a long, long time. She also discovers her hidden cousin- a sick boy named Colin that lives in the same manor! Together, both Mary and Colin experience changes- mentally and physically- as the secret garden shapes the two children's lives.
                • camhsu20
                  camhsu20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 1:07 am55 stars
                  People hide there secrets into there heart and lock it away. In the Secret Garden the book attracts my attention with the relationship of the characters and with there conflicts in the plot and the detailed description of scenes and act. All the attention to detail and the Yorkshire accent made it a fascinating book to enjoy. I most enjoy the excitements of finding and pampering the garden. I would definitely recommend this book to all of my friends and let them enjoy it, too.
                  • ec0612
                    ec0612Sunday, November 8, 2015 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                    I read this book, and the next few minutes I get so into it, I can't hear anything. This is a great classic book.
                    • lis
                      lisFriday, June 26, 2015 at 8:32 pm44 stars
                      the secret garden is an awesome book. If you have already read the book, the movie is really good too!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...