The Reptile Room, Movie Tie-in Edition (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 6 - 10V6.329139

Tie–in books for the feel–bad movie of the year!

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146315
ISBN-13: 9780061146312
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nac
    nacMonday, June 29, 2020 at 6:22 pm55 stars
    Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire have moved in with a new guardian, Dr. Montgomery who is a herpetologist. The three siblings thought that they could be happy there, away from the horrible schemes of the treacherous villain, Count Olaf. But when Count Olaf shows up disguised as Dr. Montgomery's new assistant, the Baudelaire children know he has another plan to steal their fortune. Will Violet, Klaus, and Sunny be able to stop Count Olaf's plan, even if no one believes them? This book was very interesting to read, and I enjoyed the way the characters develop.
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 5:56 am55 stars
      I love this series and book! I have watched the movie and read the book! #greatbook
      • 299
        299Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 5:31 pm55 stars
        it was amazing I recommended to anyone who would love to read it.it was awesome. I would actually enjoy a reptile room even though i'm scared of snakes.
        • ghost_dk_diemx
          ghost_dk_diemxFriday, November 8, 2019 at 9:48 pm55 stars
          This comment about this book is kind of going to be like the one from the first book "the bad beginning" Just a reminder this book does have some large words and some idioms that the guy in the book explains. (Lemony Snicket) This second book which is this book is called "the reptile room" it has the same three kids and villain as the first book. Count Olaf has comrades that work with him. The white faced ladys are twins and then there's the guy with book and the other who you can't tell is a boy or a girl. Last but not "Beast" the guy that looks like a beast. In the reptile room the three kids were able to escape the grasp of Olaf and the banker who protects there money and finds the orphans a new family (mr. Poe) got them a new place to live there uncle. There uncle collects and finds new species of snakes or any reptile when he goes on trips. The three orphans enjoyed it there till the uncle's assistant came. The kids could tell but the uncle could not. The assistant was really just Olaf but dressed up with a wig and everything. While the kids were sleeping he was sitting in the hall fiddling with an object which I'm not going to type. Once he knew they were asleep he went down stairs to where the uncle was grabbed some snake venom and poked to holes in the uncle's neck and injected the venom. (This part a bit gruesome in the book by the way sorry!) And when the kids woke up the next morning to get there uncle Mr. Poe was there and Olaf was acting sad and they saw there uncle with a pail face lying on the floor. There were some people who came to get all the snakes and other odd reptiles to bring them where no one could get to them. But the "Deadly Viper" was Sunnys best friend and so the snake rapped him self around sunny and she hugged him but they took him away anyway which I hate cause it's sad. And Olaf was trying to get them back but Mr. Poe took Klaus Sunny and Violet away again. So the next book is a new place they live. This book does have a lot of things you would not expect and a lot of mystery involved so if anyone decides to read the series or at least the first book I really hope you enjoy! Read on my friends!!!! :D
          • bananamana
            bananamanaTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
            This book is also amazing..... The show is a little bit frightful but i really liked it
            • wolfchildren
              wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
              9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
              • The_ KingThursday, April 4, 2019 at 1:15 am
                To me it was one of the best books I have ever read.
                • the BOSSThursday, April 4, 2019 at 1:13 am
                  the book was amazing
                  • gymzonia
                    gymzoniaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 7:59 pm55 stars
                    I like Stephano in the story. This is one of my favorite books. There are so many cool people in it. They had just started to have a happy life.
                    • bookfan2008
                      bookfan2008Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 5:54 am55 stars
                      I know and then count olaf came and ruined it!
                    • busybee
                      busybeeSunday, August 5, 2018 at 11:43 am55 stars
                      I think this book is adventurous and it brings out each characters attitude like count olaf or violet baudelaire, the three kids lose their parents in a fire but it is not true. They are trapped in Count Olaf's dungeon. SAD BOOK.