The Quest for the Diamond Sword: An Unofficial Gamer’s Adventure, Book One

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6S5.122087
Steve lives on a wheat farm. He has everything he needs to live in the Minecraft world: a bed, a house, and food. Steve likes to spend his mornings in the NCP village and trade his wheat for emeralds, armor, books, swords, and food. One morning, he finds that Zombies have attacked the villagers. The Zombies have also turned the village blacksmith into a Zombie, leaving Steve without a place to get swords. To protect himself and the few villagers that remain, Steve goes on a quest to mine for forty diamonds, which are the most powerful mineral in the Overworld. He wants to craft these diamonds into a diamond sword to shield him and the villagers from the Zombies.

Far from his home, with night about to set in, Steve fears for his life. Nighttime is when users are most vulnerable in Minecraft. As he looks for shelter in a temple, he meets a trio of treasure hunters, Max, Lucy, and Henry, who are trying to unearth the treasure under the temple. Steve tells them of his master plan to mine for the most powerful mineral in the Overworld—the diamond. The treasure hunters are eager to join him. Facing treacherous mining conditions, a thunderstorm, and attacks from hostile mobs, these four friends question if it’s better to be a single player than a multiplayer, as they try to watch out for each other and chase Steve’s dream at the same time.

Will Steve find the diamonds? Will his friends help or hinder the search? Should he trust his new treasure hunter friends? And will Steve get back in time to save the villagers?

Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more.In particular, this adventure series is created especially for readers who love the fight of good vs. evil, magical academies like Hogwarts in the Harry Potter saga, and games like Minecraft, Terraria, and Pokemon GO. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on August 12, 2014 by Sky Pony Press
ISBN-10: 1632204428
ISBN-13: 9781632204424
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • orangesauce
    orangesauceTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 3:15 pm55 stars
    I HAVE THE ENTIRE SERIES AND IT IS TOTALLY LIT!!!
    • nstaf7
      nstaf7Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:01 am
      This book is the best! it is full of an adventure in the Minecraft universe. It also feels like you are Steve on an adventure. If you haven't read this book you need to read it!
      • unicornkitty
        unicornkittyMonday, August 8, 2016 at 10:05 am44 stars
        This book was the best i love it. It is like you are on the Quest with them they give you so much info So it is like you are on the quest. This was a long book so it took a long time to but it was still really good i love long books and I all so loved it tow because there was so many thing that could happen in mine craft. So ya this book was the best I love this book.
        • lukeThursday, February 11, 2016 at 5:38 pm
          i think this book was awesome max rules
          • nflchampion36
            nflchampion36Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 3:58 pm
            oh yeah, you need two pieces of wooden planks to get a stick
            • nflchampion36
              nflchampion36Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 3:57 pm
              wow! The diamond sword is the strongest. Here are some things that are strong and you can make: Wooden Pickaxe- 2 sticks, 3 wooden planks, put one stick in the middle, and one underneath that, then put the three wooden planks on top and put them in a row. Make sure to have 8 peices of wood, put one wood in your inventory to get 4 wooden planks, then put four of those wooden planks in the box and you get a crafting table. Now get 4 more pieces of wood and put three of those in your crafting table, you made a wooden pickaxe, a stone pickaxe is different but you need three pieces of cobblestone, most found in mining. Put that in the top row and boom, you got yourself one.
              • masontheiss
                masontheissMonday, February 8, 2016 at 9:26 am
                I recently got this book from, My Step-Aunt Kim, and i loved it, its actually a book series and i have the other Five Books
                • 11eu
                  11euMonday, November 16, 2015 at 10:03 am55 stars
                  This book is about Steve and how he has a village that is hit by a Zombie Siege, and he wants to get a diamond sword so he can stop the zombies and finds a trio that wants to help him. He and Henry, Max and Lucy. Steve also goes on an adventure to the nether and gains a portal to the End. He and his friends get a lot of obsidian and kill the Ender Dragon, the most fierce creature in all of Minecraft. Steve and his friends fight a lot of zombies and kills the most powerful zombie, and has a party in his house with all his friends.
                  • twinklebee
                    twinklebeeSaturday, November 7, 2015 at 9:08 am55 stars
                    Its a very very good book in my opinion! Its also very very detailed. I think that you should read it if your into Minecraft or want to learn about it! I wish I could read this book for ever!
                    • darius06
                      darius06Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 12:23 pm
                      That book was the best!