Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.749968
Princess Gabriella is accustomed to a certain kind of castle life. So when she wakes up one morning in a crowded hut, surrounded by squabbling fairy siblings, it takes all her princess training to maintain her poise and good manners.

Meanwhile, across the kingdom, Fairy Phleg revels in Gabriella's luxurious lifestyle. As long as she can fool the castle into believing she's the real princess-with a little help from her magical disguise-then she's set to enjoy three glorious days of sweets and comfort.

The mischievous fairies have placed a bet, and Gabriella is caught in the middle of it. Can she survive her time in the chaotic fairy household without failing the ultimate princess test and losing her temper? Phleg turns the castle upside down as she poses as Gabriella, but when an important guest arrives, will her antics unwittingly send the kingdom into war?

An upbeat and hilarious fantasy from the masterful storyteller, Vivian Vande Velde.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on July 31, 2018 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338121480
ISBN-13: 9781338121483
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Katie Evans Tuesday, March 26, 2019 at 6:10 am
    Seems nice I didn't even read it yet
    • kadoo2008
      kadoo2008Tuesday, March 26, 2019 at 1:05 am44 stars
      it is a really good book but ending should have been different . i wish there was a part 2 coming up.
      • chlooe
        chlooeFriday, November 16, 2018 at 5:15 pm55 stars
        The Princess Imposter is written by a special author, Vivian Vande Velde. This story is about two girls that their lives have gotten switched. Not all girls can be as special as that, experiencing two lives! Princess Gabriela is a princess that lives in a really big castle, as Phelg is a fairy that lives in a really poor fairy family. Gabriela gets switched to a very poor fairy family, while on the other hand, Phelg gets switched to a very rich royal family. Gabriela has to learn how to do chores, that she never really does-because she has servants- while Phelg needs to learn how to be a proper princess and need to learn proper manners. A conflict that they both have to face is that they have two boys that they meet. The fairies, princess, and prince start to know one another, and in fact, they start to like each other. When Princess Gabriela gets transported back to her kingdom, she finds a big problem, bigger than the one where lives are switched. She finds another girl looking exactly like her. When after they sort things out, Prince Frederick stays with Phelg, because he loves her just the way she is-even though she's a fairy. The same thing happens to Princess Gabriela and Parf, but without the 'just the way you are'. After Prince Frederick confessed his feelings for Phelg, Parf shyly-and slowly because he doesn't really understand love-confessed his feelings to Princess Gabriela. Both Phelg and Princess Gabriela are surprised because they didn't know that these two boys have a crush on them. Another way they got surprised is because of their height. In the book, it states that fairies are shorter than humans. I rate this book 5 stars because of it's magic and funny love.
        • happyall2
          happyall2Wednesday, November 14, 2018 at 4:24 pm55 stars
          Princess Gabriella is so nice! Her prince fell in love with another girl and she didn't get angry at him.
          • virtual
            virtualTuesday, November 13, 2018 at 4:47 pm44 stars
            I like this book because I like fairies and princess :> I also like it because I like how Princess Gabriella won't start a tantrum and just adapt to a plain old fairy family.
            • virtual
              virtualFriday, November 9, 2018 at 5:39 pm44 stars
              I like this book because I like fairies and princess :>
              • vioka
                viokaMonday, October 29, 2018 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                The drawing of Phleg was very beautiful and realistic. I wish there was a drawing of Princess Gabriella. I wonder how she looks like. On the book it says that she has long brown hair. But it never mention how her face looks like.
                • vioka
                  viokaMonday, October 29, 2018 at 2:22 pm55 stars
                  I love this book ! I thought the prince was going to save Gabriella, but it comes out that the prince fell in love with Phleg. I was kind of sad for Princess Gabriella, but at least she has Parf to be with her. I wish there was the second book. I couldn't imagine how the story is going to go on if there was book 2.
                  • swatcop
                    swatcopFriday, November 3, 2017 at 3:13 pm55 stars
                    The book was soooo good. I just finished reading it today, and it was like super good. The Characters were so real and realistic to me.