Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.391624

The second book of the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series!

In the beginning, nine aliens left their home planet Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorians. They scattered on Earth and went into hiding. They look like ordinary teenagers but have extraordinary powers. The Mogs have come for them. They killed Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. They tried to get John Smith, Number Four, in Ohio—but they failed.

Now John has joined forces with Number Six, and they are on the run. But they are not alone. Already John and Six have inspired Marina, Number Seven, who has been hiding in Spain. She’s been following the news of what’s happening, and she’s certain this is the sign she’s been waiting for. It’s time to come together.

Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic story is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The Fifth Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

The battle for Earth’s survival wages on. Don’t miss the rest of the series: #3: The Rise of Nine, #4: The Fall of Five, #5: The Revenge of Seven, #6: The Fate of Ten, and #7: United as One.

Don’t miss the first book in the brand-new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 23, 2011 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061974552
ISBN-13: 9780061974557
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ritlerbx
    ritlerbxMonday, November 20, 2017 at 1:30 pm55 stars
    i love it really good book and six is ba she is awesome
    • kittylover8786
      kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 5:33 am55 stars
      This book is one of my favorite book's in the series so far (I'm on 6) and I am not sure if you realized this but because 6 is in this book, and this is when she really show's how powerful she is and how she is way stronger than they thought. But I would rellly recomend this book and the Lorien Legacies series, please fallow me if you like this!!!
      • sugar642
        sugar642Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 10:53 am55 stars
        great sequel to I am #4
        • jayacool
          jayacoolMonday, February 20, 2017 at 6:18 pm
          I am still reading this book but I still have much to say about it because it is so amazing. The suspense makes you want to keep reading and you will often see a surprise come out of nowhere and anyone and everyone will love this book from the first page. WARNING: THIS IS A SEQUEL READ "I am number four" FIRST!
          • jo6193
            jo6193Tuesday, July 19, 2016 at 1:17 pm55 stars
            John,Sam, and Six have escaped Paradise and have left the High School in a wreck now they are on the run because Mogs know who they are and they are on this Earth, and they are trying to save it.
            • laurentb
              laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:44 pm55 stars
              This book is The Power of Six, by Pittacus Lore I like the way the author wrote this book in first person perspective. The perspective switches almost every chapter from Four to Six then Six to Four. A new character was added. Her name is Marina and she is number seven. Marina's cepan is quite irresponsible. She forget about the purpose of them arriving at Earth. The parts I liked were the parts of the battles between the gardes and the mogadorians. The author made the fights very realistic and he describes them very well. The part when Four read the letter Henri wrote for him was very touching.
              • risa_i
                risa_iTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 6:57 pm55 starsFeatured
                The Power of Six is split into two perspectives: John’s perspective and Marina’s perspective. Finally, after all the fighting against the Mogadorians (which was mentioned in book one,) John finally settled everything and started to work together with Six. Meanwhile, Marina, which was also known as Number seven, was having issues with her cepan, Adelina, since her cepan somewhat left everything behind already. One day after Marina opened her chest, John and Six got a signal, which made them had the plan to find Marina. I really believe that John is an extremely brave person since he continued going even though Henri died, it’s not easy to let go of someone that you had loved for your entire life. That also connects to one of my favorite part of the novel, which was when John read the letter that Henri wrote for him. I personally think that’s it’s very touching, and it explained a lot of unsolved answers that John once had. I really enjoyed this novel, and I’ll suggest readers who has interests in adventure stories.
                • jasonl20
                  jasonl20Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 11:55 pm55 stars
                  The story is about how the main character and his partner six get together and find clues of the Mogadorians. They regroup with the main character's best friend in high school and continue their adventure. The best part I like about this story is how the main character and six find the Mogadorians. The author leave clues and build up the plot. The plot really attracts me because it gets very nervous when you feel that the main character is in danger. A question I have for this story is that why did the gardes regroup instead of keep hiding. And for so long, how do they know where each other are? I hope I can find the answer in the next book.
                  • megank
                    megankTuesday, September 8, 2015 at 3:02 am33 stars
                    The Power of Six is the second book in the Lorien Legacies. I think this book isn't that awesome compared to the other 5 books in the series. In this book, John and Sam are going to Mexico to find their chests and they meet number Nine. While Six is going to Spain to find other members of the Garde and meets Marina, Ella, and Crayton. I liked how the author changes the perspective every once in a while to tell the stories happening in different places. My favourite character in this book is Nine, I really like how he is really sarcastic, energetic, brave, and spontaneous all at the same time. I really recommend reading the sequel because the third book will be even better!
                    • britneyl20
                      britneyl20Wednesday, September 2, 2015 at 5:05 am44 stars
                      This book The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore is a sequel to I am Number Four. Compare to I am Number, I enjoy I am Number Four a lot more. The new character, Marina (number 7) is introduced in this book. In The Power of Six, the character shifts from number 7 to number 4. I feel super depressed when reading the part when Four lost his cepan. The author uses smart words to make readers experience the feelings too. I totally recommend reading the sequel :) ENJOY it!!!