Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.975492
Nere has never understood why she feels so much more comfortable and confident in water than on land, but everything falls into place when Nere learns that she is one of a group of kids who-unbeknownst to them-have been genetically altered to survive in the ocean. These products of "The Neptune Project" will be able to build a better future under the sea, safe from the barren country's famine, wars, and harsh laws.

But there are some very big problems: no one asked Nere if she wanted to be a science experiment, the other Neptune kids aren't exactly the friendliest bunch, and in order to reach the safe haven of the Neptune colony, Nere and her fellow mutates must swim through hundreds of miles of dangerous waters, relying only on their wits, dolphins, and each other to evade terrifying undersea creatures and a government that will stop at nothing to capture the Neptune kids...dead or alive.

Fierce battles and daring escapes abound as Nere and her friends race to safety in this action-packed aquatic adventure.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on April 1, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423159799
ISBN-13: 9781423159797
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • chacedaneil18
    chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:00 am
    So Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Secret ReaderWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 6:19 pm
      THIS BOOK ROCKS, MUST READ!!!
      • dduran
        dduranFriday, September 25, 2015 at 10:00 am
        you should read this book when day, it is really fun to read! it is about this boy or girl and a dolphin gaved her or him and know they can breathe underwater!
        • spinnypeeps
          spinnypeepsSunday, May 10, 2015 at 2:58 pm44 stars
          I can't believe the sequel is COMING OUT ON MAY19!!!! It's called <the Neptune Challenge> and I bet it won't let me down. Seriously, you should all read the series right now... Sci-fi, adventure, suspense, and survival-of-the-fittest, what more could you ask for in a book?
          • spinnypeeps
            spinnypeepsMonday, May 18, 2015 at 3:57 pm44 stars
            Okay guys, try not to freak out... the Neptune Challenge is coming out TOMMOROW. I've memorized May 19 for about 3 months. 3 MONTHS! Doesn't this prove that this is basically the greatest series ever? I mean, seriously, it might even be on the same level as the Heroes of Olympus series. I am NOT kidding. READ THE NEPTUNE PROJECT!
          • spinnypeeps
            spinnypeepsSunday, February 22, 2015 at 3:57 pm44 stars
            I started to read this book because the back cover of the book was seriously interesting: A girl finds out that the reason why she is socially awkward and has weak lungs & eyes is because she was genetically altered to survive under the sea. I mean, how awesome is that? (She can also talk telepathically.) I won't spoil the rest, but this book was, like, the second best book I've ever read. At first I had doubts about reading it, but now I can just escape a boring situation by thinking about it.I was
            • epicgirl1227
              epicgirl1227Tuesday, October 21, 2014 at 5:31 pm
              THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! :) I would totally recommend it!
              • cmsmediacenter
                Mrs. DeveneyMonday, October 6, 2014 at 10:57 am55 stars
                Fantasy and special talents

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                extrememsb
                extrememsb wrote:

                Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                Wishtree

                awesome_kt
                awesome_kt wrote:

                I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                awesome_kt
                awesome_kt wrote:

                I always enjoy reading these boo...
                Bad Kitty

                awesome_kt
                awesome_kt wrote:

                This was a fun book to read. It ...
                Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)