Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316265012
ISBN-13: 9780316265010
103 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • m1lk3y_w4y
    m1lk3y_w4yMonday, July 31, 2017 at 8:53 am55 stars
    The Mysterious Benedict Society is a great book for those who seek puzzle-solving books. It starts out with a boy named Reynard Muldoon, otherwise known as Reynie. He sees a mysterious ad in the newspaper that leads him to take a series of tests that are supposed to challenge and choose four talented children to help. Of course, Reynie is one of these children, along with Kate and her bucket, Sticky with his facts, and Constance with her constant whining and complaining. These children are all alone in some way. Reynie is an orphan, Kate is also an orphan (or is she?), Sticky was “replaced” by money, and Constance is also an orphan. These four miraculous children meet Mr. Benedict, who is the one who designed the tests. He tells them why they are here and the problem that is rising. An evil man is using the voice of a child to implant ideas into people’s brains that will eventually lead to him taking over the world with everyone under his control. He uses children and his Whisperer to send these messages out because the voice of a child is easily ignored and people do not recognize it as something important. This evil man, known to the world as Mr. Curtain, runs a gifted student school called the Institute to pick the most gifted minds to send these messages using the Whisperer. He is almost down with his plan, as he has recorded all the messages and is ready to send the messages at full blast. The only person who knows what he is up to is Mr. Benedict, who is going to send the four children to the Institute to spy and stop Mr. Curtain. While inside, the children face problems like meeting jealous people, suspicious people, and more. Also, the children learn that Mr. Benedict has a twin, who is… If you want to find out who his twin is, if Reynie and his friends will stop Mr. Curtain, or if Mr. Curtain successfully takes over the world, you must read the Mysterious Benedict Society. I rate this book 5 stars because of the action and puzzles and recommend this book to anyone wanting a good book. This is a wonderful book and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.
    • poh
      pohWednesday, July 26, 2017 at 8:30 am
      This is the best book I've ever read it's so suspenseful and fun.
      • edmodo-xpldfyjzhq
        edmodo-xpldfyjzhqSunday, July 16, 2017 at 11:45 am55 stars
        I'm reading the second one its amazing never want to stop reading so many cliff hangers!:)
        • thekid1
          thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 7:53 pm
          This is a really fun book to read over and over again. It's about four gifted kids - Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance that work together to find a man called Bennedict. They name themselves The Mysterious Benedict Society and end up doing a lot more exciting missions along the way. Highly recommend this one!
          • eddykids68
            eddykids68Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 4:48 pm44 stars
            The MBS is better than the BFG (sort of)! Why else would mysteries, secrets, and excitement be hiding around every corner? This is a long book, but is TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!
            • soffles
              sofflesMonday, June 26, 2017 at 12:54 pm55 stars
              I love this book! The tests, the kids, their talents! Their adventures! It's sooo good! Iread this one and then Iread the second one! They are both so cool!
              • levi0sa
                levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:37 am55 stars
                i really loved this book it has a lot of adventure in it i cant wait to read the rest of the series ! i recommend this book to people who like adventure stories .
                • eyp
                  eypSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:04 am44 stars
                  The book was an interestnig book to read. First of all, it tells on how four children use their special talents and wits in order to stop evil villains such as, Mr. Curtain. For readers it can tell you about interesting topics such as morse code. The climax of the book is when the children suscessfully destroy Mr. Curtain's mind manipulating machine called the whiseper. The book is very suspensful, enjoyable, interesting, and good to read. I would reccommend this book to kids of all ages. Over all, this book was awesome.
                  • hannah_kwonn
                    hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:39 pm55 stars
                    What if the world was in danger of a mad-man that wanted to be respected by the world? Well, you're in the same boat as Constance Contraire, Sticky Washington, Kate Wetherall, and Reynie Muldoon. When the four children pass the tests for being a gifted child, they soon come to understand that the tests weren't just silly game, but they must go on a secret mission to save the world from the Whisperer. In this very back-chilling, risky mission, all the kids go through their own struggles, which they must defeat together with the help of others. Can Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance save the world from being saved from the Whisperer and its creator?
                    • jumpforjoy
                      jumpforjoyTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                      I have read this whole series and have enjoyed it very much. It really makes you think I love how it is a mystery as well as a classic book. Reynie Muldoon and his friends; Kate, Sticky, and Constance, each have a lovable personality, each in their own way. I could hardly put the book down. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves classics with a fun, mysterious twist.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      annaleigh wrote:

                      is this a good book for a high s...
                      The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat F...

                      krazymoose wrote:

                      I finished fnaf 5
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      fKAWA4894 wrote:

                      okaaaaaa
                      I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacie...

                      howlergirl
                      howlergirl wrote:

                      This book isn't exactly a story ...
                      My Weird But True Fact-a-Day Fun...