The Mysterious Benedict Society

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460
Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316265012
ISBN-13: 9780316265010
76 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • levi0sa
    levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:37 am55 stars
    i really loved this book it has a lot of adventure in it i cant wait to read the rest of the series ! i recommend this book to people who like adventure stories .
    • eyp
      eypSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:04 am44 stars
      The book was an interestnig book to read. First of all, it tells on how four children use their special talents and wits in order to stop evil villains such as, Mr. Curtain. For readers it can tell you about interesting topics such as morse code. The climax of the book is when the children suscessfully destroy Mr. Curtain's mind manipulating machine called the whiseper. The book is very suspensful, enjoyable, interesting, and good to read. I would reccommend this book to kids of all ages. Over all, this book was awesome.
      • hannah_kwonn
        hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:39 pm55 stars
        What if the world was in danger of a mad-man that wanted to be respected by the world? Well, you're in the same boat as Constance Contraire, Sticky Washington, Kate Wetherall, and Reynie Muldoon. When the four children pass the tests for being a gifted child, they soon come to understand that the tests weren't just silly game, but they must go on a secret mission to save the world from the Whisperer. In this very back-chilling, risky mission, all the kids go through their own struggles, which they must defeat together with the help of others. Can Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance save the world from being saved from the Whisperer and its creator?
        • jumpforjoy
          jumpforjoyTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 12:10 pm55 stars
          I have read this whole series and have enjoyed it very much. It really makes you think I love how it is a mystery as well as a classic book. Reynie Muldoon and his friends; Kate, Sticky, and Constance, each have a lovable personality, each in their own way. I could hardly put the book down. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves classics with a fun, mysterious twist.
          • anagkan
            anagkanMonday, June 12, 2017 at 8:47 am55 stars
            It all starts with Reynard Muldoon, or Reynie. He and his tutor and the orphanage see an ad for "special privileges". Reynie takes the tests and eventually meets 3 more kids who join to become a team, The Mysterious Benedict Society. The four children are Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance. But before they become a team, they all pass the tests and meet Mr. Benedict. Mr. Benedict explains a project he is working on, on that could save the world. The project is to stop The Sender (Ledroptha Curtain/Mr. Curtain) from planting secret messages in the heads of everyone on Earth using thought and his machine, The Whisperer. Together, they travel to Nomansan Island and become the students of the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. They all work hard to uncover what Mr. Curtain is doing. Together, Reynie and Sticky become Messengers and find out about Mr. Curtain's plans. At the end, they have a final plan to dismantle Mr. Curtain's plan. They follow through with it, but the mastermind behind the messages escapes. I would rate this book 5 stars.
            • ellsworth2424
              ellsworth2424Sunday, June 11, 2017 at 7:46 am44 stars
              So far, this is an interesting book. It's a mystery, so there are lots of twist and turns. The main character, Nicholas, feels he has more problems and challenges than most kids, something many kids can probably relate to. But, Nicholas is a genius. As he is taking on the mysteries in his life, he slowly discovers that the main mystery might be himself. I would recommend this book, especially if you're new to mysteries.
              • callie_is_cool
                callie_is_coolFriday, June 9, 2017 at 12:29 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book is SO AMAZING! The plot pulled me in to this fast-paced adventure! Reynie Muldoon, an orphan, sees an ad in a newspaper that says, "Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Reynie passes 3 important tests that qualifies him for a special opportunity as described to him. But who would have thought that this "special opportunity" would be a incredibly important spy mission? Reynie and the other 3 kids who passed the tests, Sticky Washington, Kate Wetherall, and Constance Contraire, are instructed by Mr. Benedict to go to the LIVE Institute run by the evil mastermind Ledroptha Curtain. Mr. Curtain has this institution to use the children attending in his plan. He wants to rule the world, as most villains you know do, but the way he wants to do it is by controlling people with the telepathy. He takes the students in his school to whisper messages that broadcast into other people's minds. He is working towards the Improvement, as he calls it, which will erase people's memories! I know, right? Who would have thought? It's up to the Mysterious Benedict Society to foil Mr. Curtain's plan. Can they do it? I really loved this book, 5/5 stars! I encourage adventure-loving people to read this book!
                • fidgetspinner
                  fidgetspinnerWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 10:54 am
                  This book is filled with fun and ingenious puzzles, along with gripping action and fun characters. It is about a mystery with a new kind of villain, and heroes with hilarious traits. My favorite was Sticky. He looks hilarious.
                  • baller101swag
                    baller101swagWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 9:57 am
                    This is an exciting book with a ton of clever puzzles in it. It has a lot of action and adventure where the 4 children unravel a mystery bigger than they could have expected. I loved this book and couldn't put it down.
                    • bobsue
                      bobsueMonday, June 5, 2017 at 2:35 pm55 stars
                      my 2nd favorite book I have ever read (btw there is a long list) I also love the descriptions the author gives. I love how it made me think. I also stopped using electronics for a wile, I didn't want to have my mind controlled. it was action, mystery, and a little comedy.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      cobrazeus10

                      I loved this book. It was an i...
                      The Isle of the Lost: A Descenda...

                      ndog8
                      ndog8 wrote:

                      I thought this book was pretty g...
                      Wedding Crasher (Geronimo Stilto...

                      me wrote:

                      this book is to good. its awesom...
                      Walk Two Moons

                      Davisisawesome wrote:

                      it was not good, but amazing and...
                      Valkyrie