The Mysterious Benedict Society

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460
Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316265012
ISBN-13: 9780316265010
57 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • Reader13Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 1:42 am
    This book is AWESOME!! It is full of twists and mystery, with relatable fun characters. Ooh.. so good.
    • sushi321
      sushi321Monday, March 20, 2017 at 4:24 pm
      this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!! <3
      • Smithers2000Sunday, August 28, 2016 at 6:29 am
        Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance have a few things in common. They are all orphans, they are all brilliant, and they all saw the add in the paper: &quot;ARE YOU A GIFTED CHILD LOOKING FOR SPECIAL OPPORTUNITIES?&quot; The four children take the test, unaware that the others even exist. But when they are the only four to pass, a mysterious man brings them all together into a fantastic adventure which leaves you begging for more. Trenton Lee Stewart weaves an incredible tale filled with hair's breadth escapes, mind boggling riddles, and astonishing reveals in the end. Like the works of Blue Balliett, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snickett, anyone can enjoy this book. It does have a bit of a slow beginning, but keep reading, I promise it will be worth it. Five stars for sure!
        • potterbooks
          potterbooksFriday, April 1, 2016 at 5:33 am55 stars
          This book is a book you will remember for the rest of your life.
          • KittyThursday, March 31, 2016 at 9:26 am
            I read this for school and it was amazing u should read it
            • bookwork7
              bookwork7Thursday, November 5, 2015 at 4:14 pm55 stars
              I LOVE this book. It had so many unexpected turns and the author explains everything perfectly! I would recommend this for anyone who likes Harry Potter, A series of Unfortunate Events, and Warrior Cats.
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesMonday, October 26, 2015 at 3:08 pm
                I know I already reviewed this book...BUT I was holding the second and third and decided to recommend it to everyone who reads this!!! ITS AMAZING!!!
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesSaturday, October 24, 2015 at 1:52 pm
                  this complicated jigsaw puzzle has an amazing ending that will leave readers staring in aww. the characters were thought out perfectly and the plot intertwined with itself extremely well. I give it and Trenton Lee Stewart fifty stars!!!!!
                  • olliebob
                    olliebobThursday, October 22, 2015 at 4:06 pm44 stars
                    This book is great. I read it, sort of racing with my sister, who was also reading it. I think it is a little nugget, that most people mistake as fool's gold. You have to be completely committed to this book, because it does start out slow, but it gets better. It is about Constance, Kate, George (Sticky), and Reynard, who are all extremely smart in there own way. After seeing a mysterious ad in the newspaper, they each go take a difficult chain of tests. Will they pass, and, if they do, then what?
                    • 11bookworm
                      11bookwormSunday, October 18, 2015 at 9:01 am
                      Love this book!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      panda13 wrote:

                      looks awesome o: I want the book...
                      Dragon Captives (The Unwanteds Q...

                      llama wrote:

                      Favorite book series!!!
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...

                      TACOS!!! wrote:

                      i'm a tomboy and i want to read...
                      Love Bomb

                      puppylove29

                      I love this book. It is about M...
                      The Misadventures of Max Crumbly...