Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.754622
A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524767573
ISBN-13: 9781524767570
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AinsleyWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 9:35 am
    The title of this book is The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl.It was written on May 1,2018 . In my opinion this book was worthwhile to read.This story was really good, it had good characters and a casual setting. It makes you not want to put the book down while your reading. Lucy found a dog at the shelter she volunteered at for a school project, and a few weeks later she found out that the dog had cancer. But Lucy never stopped loving Pie. Sadly Lucy couldn’t keep her because the apartment they lived in didn’t allow pets.So they snuck Pie into their apartment for just one night.Then the next day they were about to put Pie down because nobody was going to adopt her because she had cancer. Then Lucy’s math teacher adopted Pie! What I liked most about this fabulous book is how it makes you get a feeling for the characters is this book. The three main characters are Lucy, Windy, and Levie. What I also like about the book is how each character has a hobby that makes them them. For example Lucy likes to stay clean Levie likes to take pictures, and Windy likes to just be herself. So I think this book just makes me feel like I’m in the book. I think they chose a great setting because it goes with the characters really well.What I think is the only sad part is Lucy got struck by lightning.I think the setting really does go well with the Characters a lot. I think this because for example Lucy’s hobby is cleaning so she cleans her locker so it's as clean as it can be. I Loved this book ever since I read the first chapter. I recommend this book to a person that likes books that some sad parts but gets solved at the end and is mostly happy.
    • AshlynWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 9:32 am
      The title of this book is The Miscalculations Of Lightning Girl the author of this book is Stacy Mcanulty. This book was written in 2018. The book had a little bit of ups and downs that went along with the characters feelings and emotions. The characters had amazing character traits. This author described the setting with a lot of details that made it easy for me to create a picture in my head as I was reading. Here is a little bit of the ending so you can mostly know a bit on what the story is based on. Lucy, Windy, and Levi drive in to animal control because P.I (the dog) had cancer. Lucy posted P.I on Math Whiz to ask her friends if they can adopt the dog but no one can adopt P.I because everyone lives in other countries and states. Luckily, Mr.Strocker has an account because he is a math teacher. He saw the post and ended up adopting the dog. That is a little bit of the ending and if you want more...just read the book it is not that long of a book honestly. In my opinion I liked this book because my favorite part was the detailed characters and the strong ending. I liked this ending because it was very creative and informative. It was a happy ending and I finished reading the book and felt joyful. The strong setting made it easy to imagine the location in my head. Stacy Mcanulty told me a lot of details about P.I. that I could picture a cute white dog in my mind as I was reading. The most memorable part was when Lucy and Windy became friends on the bus. In my opinion this part was one of my favorite parts because Windy was kind of nerdy but did Lucy care? Absolutely NOT! They had a strong relationship even stronger than mine with my friends! The author really pulled me into the book; it really made me feel like I was their friend too. Everything made me want to read more. I couldn’t put the book down. I would recommend this book to kids who are 7 and up and who like adventure and a happy endings. I would also recommend this book to animal lovers. This book also has some really sad parts if you don’t like sad stuff then don’t read this cause it gets really sad. I almost ended up in tears but I would still give the book a big thumbs up and five stars because it was so realistic. Good news that this book has a lot of five star reviews, 60% four stars, and only 1% of one stars. Go out and grab a copy today! I am telling you are going to be so thankful that you read it!
      • dreamy
        dreamySaturday, September 21, 2019 at 8:29 am55 stars
        This book is so good I'd recommend it for the world it's an interesting and inspiring book and it makes me feel So inspired in side.
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprSaturday, July 27, 2019 at 10:15 am55 starsFeatured
          Ever since Lucy was struck by lightning when she was 8, numbers and calculations run through her head and Lucy has been incredibly good at math. So her nana decided to homeschool her. It's been 4 years and now she has decided that Lucy must go to middle school and make 1 friend, read one book that is not a math textbook, and do one activity. So Lucy goes to middle school, finding out that it will be harder than she realized to endure all the hardships. This was such an awesome book!!!! I almost cried, which is saying a lot and every thing about this book was beautiful. The author's writing style was beautiful. The numbers were beautiful. The characters were beautiful. I loved every single second of this book. Please read this because you cannot miss this amazing and beautiful book. I would recommend this for fans of counting by 7s and fish in a tree which are also really good books. I would give this 99999999999999999999999 stars if possible.
          • hedgeguin2
            hedgeguin2Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 6:43 pm55 stars
            This book is so good! It is about a girl named Lucy who got struck by lightning, which gave her amazing mathematical skills. I am at the part where Lucy gets invited to a sleepover by her maybe new friend. I can’t wait to finish this book; it is one of my favorites!
            • lunalovegood8
              lunalovegood8Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:13 pm44 stars
              This book was good and interesting. I liked how Lucy was very good at math, but she did struggle a lot throughout the book. She volunteers at an animal shelter, and tries to make new friends. Interesting story!!
              • lunalovegood8
                lunalovegood8Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:08 pm44 stars
                This book was good, and interesting. Lucy is very, very good at math, but struggles throughout the book. She makes new friends, and works at an animal shelter. It was interesting to see a different point of view of middle school as well.
                • applemango
                  applemangoThursday, June 6, 2019 at 9:54 pm55 stars
                  This is a book about lightning girl or a.k.a Lucy. She is incredibly smart and she is only twelve years old! She doesn't remember it but she is told that when she was young she go struck with lightning that changed her brain and made her a genius, she is still homeschooling from then. She has this process of tapping her toe three times and to sit, stand, sit, stand, sit, stand three times and she is often called the "cleaning lady" at school because she has to wipe everything with a clorax wipe. Suddenly her nana or grandmother decides that she has to go to public school. Right away she meets a friend Windy and she becomes Lucy's best friend. Levi does too. In math class she does well just enough to get an A. In reading however she has to count the words before she can read them. Then for a school project she meets with Cutie Pi a dog and she discovers that she loves him. When she is invited to Windy's birthday party she is just laying down on the cot when she hears the girls talking about her and Windy spills her secret that she actually got struck by lightning....meanwhile if Pi the dog she loves has brain tumor what can she do?!
                  • sweetcheese
                    sweetcheeseFriday, April 19, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
                    This book tells about a girl named Lucy Callahan who got struck by lightning when she was in kindergarten and became a math mastermind. When it dates back to our time she is 12 and is half way through an online college and doesn't get out much.When her Nana sends her to a public middle school she thinks of every excuse to not go to that school but nothing worked! Now her Nana says that she needs to make some friends at school and that she is stuck at that school for a while. Then her Nana finds a different school that she thinks Lucy would like right when Lucy finally made some friends. This is an awesome book. One of the best books I have read.
                    • sweetcheese
                      sweetcheeseMonday, March 4, 2019 at 7:42 am55 stars
                      It tells about a young girl who was struck by lightning, and it made her a genius at math. And when it comes back to our time, she is twelve years old and has already started college online. Her Nana is making her to to middle school and make at least one friend, one book that is not written by a mathematician and is not a textbook, and do one activity that doesn't involve math.