Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.754622

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524767573
ISBN-13: 9781524767570
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unitri
    unitriWednesday, November 11, 2020 at 8:48 am55 stars
    This book is great! I love it. Also, I agree with @bsc.
    • bsc
      bscTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
      This book was really good! Lucy got struck by lighting when she was eight years old. After getting struck by the lighting she had become a math genius. She's been homeschool, but her grandmother makes her go to actual school. Her grandma orders her to make one friend and several other things. So she makes friend with Windy and Levi. Lots of things happen and I strongly recommend.
      • sweetcheese
        sweetcheeseTuesday, September 15, 2020 at 4:06 pm55 stars
        I love this book!!!!! It is about a girl named Lucy Callahan. She was struck by lightning when she was 8 years old. After the lightning strike, she became a math genius. She was able to see numbers and solve math problems easily. Now 4 years later, when she is 12 years old she is ready to go to college. There is just one thing... Her grandma wants her to go to middle school. Her grandma's rule is : 1 year, 1 friend, 1 book (that is not a math book), and 1 activity. Then the school says that they need to team up and make a difference in the world. She teams up with her new friend, Windy, and the boy who sits next to her in homeroom, Levi. They volenteer at a animal shelter. They help find dogs new homes and Lucy makes a new friend. A 10 year old beagle mix, Cutie Pi (Pi for short) . The problem is that Pi has cancer. His estimated life span is 1 year. Since the shelter has a "No sick animal policy", they have to find him a loving home quick. They finally find a home for the dog with their homeroom teacher, Mr. Stoker. This book is one of my favorites. I would recommend this book for ages 8+.
        • bidas
          bidasThursday, July 30, 2020 at 12:50 am55 stars
          Well at first I was just looking for an E-book so I tried a sample of this book. It was so good I bought the whole book. I just couldn't stop reading it!!!
          • animereina2020
            animereina2020Monday, July 6, 2020 at 8:40 pm55 stars
            This book will keep you wondering what happens next! It has really touched me during certain parts, and every time I turned a page it made my heart pump faster. There was this girl who was a math genius! It all has started when she had gotten stricken by lightning. Ever since then, she was very good at math. So good at math by the time she was 12 years old, she wanted to go to college! But her nana wanted her to go to middle school to interact with people, and make friends. Only because she hasn't been outside of the apartment for quite some time. She has to deal with problems in school, but not the math problems that can be easily solved for her, but problems that she couldn't understand. This book was really touching to me and I think you might like it too.
            • howls
              howlsFriday, June 12, 2020 at 7:11 am55 stars
              So far it's great!
              • hedgeguin2
                hedgeguin2Monday, June 1, 2020 at 5:56 pm55 stars
                Ok. If you haven’t read this book, then I don’t know what’re you doing. It’s SO GOOD!! It follows a girl named Lucy, who got genius powers from a lightning strike. All she wants to do is go to this fancy private school for kids with high intelligence, but her grandma insists she go to public middle school for one year. Lucy has to figure out the way through, and where she actually wants to belong. This book is definitely one of my favorites, and I bet it’ll be yours too! :D
                • rainie12
                  rainie12Monday, March 30, 2020 at 10:14 am55 stars
                  this book is amazing! i cryed! i love this book evan tho i hate math!
                  • billy Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at 2:47 pm
                    it was really good and it ia an awesome book
                    • AinsleyWednesday, October 9, 2019 at 9:35 am
                      The title of this book is The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl.It was written on May 1,2018 . In my opinion this book was worthwhile to read.This story was really good, it had good characters and a casual setting. It makes you not want to put the book down while your reading. Lucy found a dog at the shelter she volunteered at for a school project, and a few weeks later she found out that the dog had cancer. But Lucy never stopped loving Pie. Sadly Lucy couldn’t keep her because the apartment they lived in didn’t allow pets.So they snuck Pie into their apartment for just one night.Then the next day they were about to put Pie down because nobody was going to adopt her because she had cancer. Then Lucy’s math teacher adopted Pie! What I liked most about this fabulous book is how it makes you get a feeling for the characters is this book. The three main characters are Lucy, Windy, and Levie. What I also like about the book is how each character has a hobby that makes them them. For example Lucy likes to stay clean Levie likes to take pictures, and Windy likes to just be herself. So I think this book just makes me feel like I’m in the book. I think they chose a great setting because it goes with the characters really well.What I think is the only sad part is Lucy got struck by lightning.I think the setting really does go well with the Characters a lot. I think this because for example Lucy’s hobby is cleaning so she cleans her locker so it's as clean as it can be. I Loved this book ever since I read the first chapter. I recommend this book to a person that likes books that some sad parts but gets solved at the end and is mostly happy.