A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524767573
ISBN-13: 9781524767570
5 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mishal001
    mishal001Sunday, February 3, 2019 at 1:12 pm55 starsFeatured
    This book is really great and I can relate to it a lot. I go to a school for kids who naturally learn faster which is great becuase we can move on at whatever speed we need to. However, I can also relate to the issues of being made fun of. This happens a lot to the kids who go to my school. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. I really liked it because it was from the point of veiw of the "geek". If there is anyone out there who has anything against "smart kids", I will ask you to read this because it puts you into the shoes of someone who experiences being made fun of and given a hard time about who she is.
    • Ella Y.Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:22 am
      I’m here to review a book called “The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl”. This book is about a young girl, who one day was struck by lightning. She gained genius level math skills and is a very self conscious person being different from everyone else. She was home schooled for awhile, then her aunt sent her to middle school. She meets a lot of people in middle school and has a lot of problems to face with the new people she meets. I would recommend this book to people ages nine to twelve, and people who like realistic fiction. See everything that happens in this amazing book by Stacy Mcanulty.
      • mysteryhuman_hi
        mysteryhuman_hiSunday, September 16, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
        I like books about ppl getting struck by lightning. Usually they get powers or unique skills. This book had it where the girl got struck and got, like, "super-math-skillz," which is cool.
        • anajas1
          anajas1Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 3:07 pm44 stars
          Lucy is just a typical eight year old, but when she is struck by lightning, her life is changed forever. Lucy is diagnosed with Savant Syndrome, a condition that gives it's victims some special abilities. Lucy Callahan is now considered a math genius. By the time she is 12, she is ready for college, but her grandmother wants her to do one more thing. Pass middle school. She must make one friend, join one extra curricular activity, and read one book. Lucy can find the square root of 845 in a few seconds, but will she ever be able to navigate the halls of middle school?
          • art3mis
            art3misSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 10:58 am55 stars
            I have recently read this amazing book. I love it because it is so interesting and fun to read. Lucy is a math genius and it’s hard for her to do anything but math. She’s ready to go to college but her Grandma says she has to survive one year of middle school. What could go wrong? Read it to find out! I love that this book incorporates math and uses it to teach us that our differences can make a good difference in our lives.

            Our Apps and Plugins