Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.754622
A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524767573
ISBN-13: 9781524767570
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprSaturday, July 27, 2019 at 10:15 am55 starsFeatured
    Ever since Lucy was struck by lightning when she was 8, numbers and calculations run through her head and Lucy has been incredibly good at math. So her nana decided to homeschool her. It's been 4 years and now she has decided that Lucy must go to middle school and make 1 friend, read one book that is not a math textbook, and do one activity. So Lucy goes to middle school, finding out that it will be harder than she realized to endure all the hardships. This was such an awesome book!!!! I almost cried, which is saying a lot and every thing about this book was beautiful. The author's writing style was beautiful. The numbers were beautiful. The characters were beautiful. I loved every single second of this book. Please read this because you cannot miss this amazing and beautiful book. I would recommend this for fans of counting by 7s and fish in a tree which are also really good books. I would give this 99999999999999999999999 stars if possible.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 6:43 pm55 stars
      This book is so good! It is about a girl named Lucy who got struck by lightning, which gave her amazing mathematical skills. I am at the part where Lucy gets invited to a sleepover by her maybe new friend. I can’t wait to finish this book; it is one of my favorites!
      • lunalovegood8
        lunalovegood8Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:13 pm44 stars
        This book was good and interesting. I liked how Lucy was very good at math, but she did struggle a lot throughout the book. She volunteers at an animal shelter, and tries to make new friends. Interesting story!!
        • lunalovegood8
          lunalovegood8Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:08 pm44 stars
          This book was good, and interesting. Lucy is very, very good at math, but struggles throughout the book. She makes new friends, and works at an animal shelter. It was interesting to see a different point of view of middle school as well.
          • applemango
            applemangoThursday, June 6, 2019 at 9:54 pm55 stars
            This is a book about lightning girl or a.k.a Lucy. She is incredibly smart and she is only twelve years old! She doesn't remember it but she is told that when she was young she go struck with lightning that changed her brain and made her a genius, she is still homeschooling from then. She has this process of tapping her toe three times and to sit, stand, sit, stand, sit, stand three times and she is often called the "cleaning lady" at school because she has to wipe everything with a clorax wipe. Suddenly her nana or grandmother decides that she has to go to public school. Right away she meets a friend Windy and she becomes Lucy's best friend. Levi does too. In math class she does well just enough to get an A. In reading however she has to count the words before she can read them. Then for a school project she meets with Cutie Pi a dog and she discovers that she loves him. When she is invited to Windy's birthday party she is just laying down on the cot when she hears the girls talking about her and Windy spills her secret that she actually got struck by lightning....meanwhile if Pi the dog she loves has brain tumor what can she do?!
            • sweetcheese
              sweetcheeseFriday, April 19, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
              This book tells about a girl named Lucy Callahan who got struck by lightning when she was in kindergarten and became a math mastermind. When it dates back to our time she is 12 and is half way through an online college and doesn't get out much.When her Nana sends her to a public middle school she thinks of every excuse to not go to that school but nothing worked! Now her Nana says that she needs to make some friends at school and that she is stuck at that school for a while. Then her Nana finds a different school that she thinks Lucy would like right when Lucy finally made some friends. This is an awesome book. One of the best books I have read.
              • sweetcheese
                sweetcheeseMonday, March 4, 2019 at 7:42 am55 stars
                It tells about a young girl who was struck by lightning, and it made her a genius at math. And when it comes back to our time, she is twelve years old and has already started college online. Her Nana is making her to to middle school and make at least one friend, one book that is not written by a mathematician and is not a textbook, and do one activity that doesn't involve math.
                • ginevraweasley
                  ginevraweasleyTuesday, February 26, 2019 at 6:22 pm55 stars
                  12-year-old Lucy Callahan is an ordinary kid. That is, besides the fact that she was struck by lightning. That lightning strike turned Lucy into a math genius. Being a math genius sounds great, right? Well there are consequences too. When Lucy’s grandma pushes Lucy into going to middle school for 1 year, Lucy is reluctant. How can she learn anything in 7th grade when she already is a genius, and ready for college? Also, wouldn’t it be better for her to stay home, and not get laughed at for her odd routines, and the math genius inside her, caused by that lightning strike? But, her grandmother insists. Just going to middle school isn’t going to satisfy Lucy’s grandmother. Now, Lucy has to make 1 friend, read 1 book (that’s not related to math), and join 1 activity. In the Lucy’s journey she has to face bullies, staring, and cruelty. Lucy also has to face the strong urge that’s been inside of her all along; the urge to belong.
                  • mishal001
                    mishal001Sunday, February 3, 2019 at 1:12 pm55 starsFeatured
                    This book is really great and I can relate to it a lot. I go to a school for kids who naturally learn faster which is great becuase we can move on at whatever speed we need to. However, I can also relate to the issues of being made fun of. This happens a lot to the kids who go to my school. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. I really liked it because it was from the point of veiw of the "geek". If there is anyone out there who has anything against "smart kids", I will ask you to read this because it puts you into the shoes of someone who experiences being made fun of and given a hard time about who she is.
                    • Ella Y.Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:22 am
                      I’m here to review a book called “The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl”. This book is about a young girl, who one day was struck by lightning. She gained genius level math skills and is a very self conscious person being different from everyone else. She was home schooled for awhile, then her aunt sent her to middle school. She meets a lot of people in middle school and has a lot of problems to face with the new people she meets. I would recommend this book to people ages nine to twelve, and people who like realistic fiction. See everything that happens in this amazing book by Stacy Mcanulty.