Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.417050
A timeless tale by the incomparable Kate DiCamillo, complete with stunning full-color plates by Bagram Ibatoulline, honors the enduring power of love.

"Someone will come for you, but first you must open your heart. . . ."

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes' camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle — that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on December 8, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763680907
ISBN-13: 9780763680909
204 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shiv89wThursday, January 10, 2019 at 8:26 am
    I really enjoyed this book.
    • chlooe
      chlooeFriday, November 9, 2018 at 4:15 pm55 stars
      I am really glad on how Edward learns kindness and not be a spoiled brat. When I first heard that Edward was made out of china (Was in 3rd grade <:), I was literally like, WHAAAAA? From CHINAAAAAAA? I still like to imagine how Edward feels like and how satisfying he is. Don't mind me but, I just love to imagine the story in my head.
      • eso293Monday, October 29, 2018 at 4:43 pm
        It is the best book I ever seen. Please borrow it because it is ( obviously )........... AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!
        • lpro24
          lpro24Monday, August 6, 2018 at 2:09 pm55 stars
          This book is the best. It sends such a great message to the readers. If you start reading this book you are going to be hooked from being to end. Trust me this is a book you want to read
          • Alaa7Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 10:17 am
            I recommend this book by Kate DiCamillo. This book is about a girl named Abilene who loved a bunny doll named Edward that is made out of china with a fine silk suit with a pocket watch and Edward didn’t love anybody only himself. One day Abilene’s family went on a ship and Edward went overboard. Edward was caught by a fisherman and he became Susana, he was thrown below of a garbage, freed by a dog taken to a group of hobos and was called Malone, Taken by a woman who needed a scarecrow named him Clyde, stolen by a boy named Brice and was named Jangles, broken into 100 pieces by Neil, fixed back together, and placed in a doll shop. Read the book to find out if he returned to Abilene...
            • DSTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:26 am
              The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane I highly recommend this book by Kate DiCamillo. In this book, there is a little girl who loves a rabbit called Edward Tulane, and Edward loved no one. Then, he gets lost and finds many people and gets separated from them.In his heart, he keeps saying,”Someone will come for me….!’’ Read more about this sad story to find out what happens next. I also give this book 5 out of 5 stars!
              • penz
                penzWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                I adore this book it tells of a china rabbit who has lots of owners and lots of adventure in his life. i have read this book 2 times all though i could read it five times in a row and barely be tired of it.
                • shanelleluvskat
                  shanelleluvskatTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 9:40 pm55 stars
                  It is a really interesting and good book and it has a wonderful story. It almost made me cry because it was such a good story and sad at the same time.
                  • elbelle51Friday, March 31, 2017 at 8:32 am
                    this book is so good it deserves a newberry honor award
                    • wobblepenguin12
                      wobblepenguin12Monday, January 9, 2017 at 4:38 pm44 stars
                      ya!

                      Our Apps and Plugins