Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.691632
For fans of Frozen, The City of Ember, and The School of Good and Evil, the New York Times bestseller The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy, set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous.
Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.
The girl doesn't remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she's from the Dragonfly Territories and that she's protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.
The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect--everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.
Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey.

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly:

“This magnetic middle-grade debut…[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred

Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum.”-- Kirkus Reviews, Starred

A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic...Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot.”—School Library Journal, Starred

A complex and impeccably developed plot—there is plenty to recommend in this novel.”—The Bulletin

“Appealing characters and lots of action make it a good choice for young adventure readers.”—Booklist

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on March 25, 2014 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385376154
ISBN-13: 9780385376150
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zachydachy
    zachydachyTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 1:25 pm55 stars
    its intresting
    • Squid NuggetMonday, July 31, 2017 at 6:52 pm
      One of the best that I have ever read.
      • EmmaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 10:37 am
        This is a great book defineltly read it
        • yellow43528
          yellow43528Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 10:26 am
          This book is very good. There is a sequel coming out March 8. Read this book! 5 stars
          • lululemon10
            lululemon10Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 6:10 pm55 stars
            this is my second review and i still love this book. i dont want to give it away or any thing. it is so inspiring to young girls who want to learn about adventure and excitement in fairy tales. I have not read that much bugt I can say, it is so good.
            • nicdro
              nicdroWednesday, October 7, 2015 at 6:18 am55 stars
              This book is really nice and is about an adventurous girl named Piper and a strange girl named for Anna. They board the 401, a train that takes them on a journey that will both amaze and frighten them. They meet a boy named Gee who is the chief of security on the 401. Piper can't believe a BOY is chief of security but once she finds out why she understands. Join Piper and Anna as they ride the 401 past raiders, slavers and many other strange creatures as they try to get Anna back home. While they are going through raider territory Anna gets a strange cut, revealing a secret. Piper finds out that she has more than just blood coursing through her veins. All this and still, the train has more surprise in store for them. A steampunk world with so many secrets but still so simple. Read the book "The Mark of the Dragonfly" to find these secrets and many more.
              • nicdro
                nicdroTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 5:02 am55 stars
                I love this book!!
                • crazyberry
                  crazyberryFriday, January 16, 2015 at 5:28 pm55 stars
                  i have this book at home and it is amazing !
                  • asma234
                    asma234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm55 stars
                    I'm still in the process of reading this book,but I'm on the edge of my seat.I love bold about people finding out about there past where they came from.I recommend this book to you all! It's awesome just like any other book like this.
                    • yellowcake
                      yellowcakeMonday, September 29, 2014 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                      Piper and her new friend are running, just running away from a crazy man. They leave where Piper lives and escape on a train, meet new friends, and find out amazing secrets. But is one of the secrets who pipers friend really is?