The Lemonade Crime (The Lemonade War Series)

Book 2 of 5 in the The Lemonade War Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.522345

Following the laws of our legal system, Evan and Jessie’s fourth grade class concocts a courtroom on the playground, putting Scott Spencer, alleged thief, on trial. They create a legitimate courtroom—with a judge, witnesses, a jury of their peers—and surprising consequences.
As she explores the difficulties of fairness, Jacqueline Davies once again reveals how good she is at understanding the complex emotions of children this age.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on May 2, 2011 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547279671
ISBN-13: 9780547279671
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jini0710
    jini0710Sunday, June 23, 2019 at 8:39 am
    This is the series book of Lemonade War. This is the second book. The main character is Evan and Jessie with her friends. There are having a fight because of the crime that Evan's friend made. Try Reading THIS book!
    • applemango
      applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:53 pm55 stars
      This book is about Evan and Jessie . Over the summer Evan thinks that Scott his stuck up friend stole his money. He thinks that because he had money in his pants an Scott had to leave early and after when he came back his pants were unfolded and also his money was gone! Then, later he gets a X-box the one that every boy wants! Where did her get the money???? Jessie sets up a court and sets up Scott for a crime. However , she didn't get Evan's permission first. Was this really a good idea? Also when Evan goes over to Scott's to play the new X-box...he thinks..maybe, just maybe Scott can be a good friend too....
      • WassupSunday, April 7, 2019 at 5:37 pm
        This was a very good book
        • girlforgreen
          girlforgreenWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 1:06 pm
          Can anyone who read the first book (The Lemonade War), tell me if, in your opinion, if this is as good as the first? I kind of want to read it, but I'm not sure. Thanks!
          • Skybob 😃Tuesday, November 6, 2018 at 8:06 pm
            I WANNA READ IT
            • khushSunday, September 10, 2017 at 11:28 am
              I only readed the first book but not the second but it might be good
              • lola7112Monday, August 28, 2017 at 2:16 pm
                i read lemonade war and i loved it i cant wait to see what happens in lemonade crime it looks really good.i love this sieres its so fun,it left a mystery at the end.
                • brettski18
                  brettski18Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 7:17 am
                  love book series
                  • soccergirl43
                    soccergirl43Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 3:54 pm
                    i want to read this book so bad I wonder what happens. This is probably the best second book of the series
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitMonday, May 30, 2016 at 5:39 pm
                      I rate this book as fair since even though the protagonist, Evan Treski, is given his stolen $208 back, the mystery is too easy for me to have to think deeply for. The author made the criminal too blatant and nobody else can be blamed. Jacqueline Davies made the criminal, Scott Spencer, take too long to be found guilty of stealing Evan’s money since everybody knows Scott stole it, but nobody has proof that will convince the judge of Evan’s class’s court system. I appreciate that the author made one of Evan’s trusted classmates, Megan Moriarty, betray him. Megan reveals how Scott should be innocent, which surprises Evan and his younger sister, Jessie, since Megan is Jessie’s best friend. Also, Jessie and Evan are in the same class, so they don’t fight with Megan. It surprised me that Megan helps Scott instead of Evan, only since Scott lets Megan try his new Xbox 20/20, which Evan and Jessie think Scott spends the stolen $208 on. Scott let everybody in the class try it, which could have made everybody want to defend Scott, otherwise, they will not be able to play with it anymore. I also appreciate that the author made a jury of Evan’s class and keep it a secret. I think this is a childish way to end the book since Evan and Scott act as friends again when Evan blames himself and Scott on breaking Scott’s dad’s TV, when only Scott broke it. To repay him, Scott gives Evan the stolen $208 back, and Evan, Jessie, and Scott signed a pact, which has them swear that they will never tell any adult about what actually happened to Evan’s money. I don’t appreciate that in the resolution, everything is solved then since it isn’t interesting. The author has Evan defend Scott, and Scott apologizes for stealing Evan’s money by returning it. When Evan asks Scott why he stole it in the first place, Scott doesn't have an answer and he doesn't even use it. Scott doesn't buy the Xbox 20/20 with the stolen money, but his parents did.