The Iron Trial (Book One of Magisterium)

Book 1 of 3 in the Magisterium Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.683311
From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a riveting new series that defies what you think you know about the world of magic.

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst - and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It's a place that's both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .

From the remarkable imaginations of bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a heart-stopping, mind-blowing, pulse-pounding plunge into the magical unknown.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 9, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545522250
ISBN-13: 9780545522250
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • yeetFriday, November 8, 2019 at 7:00 am
    this book is amazing 10/10 recomened
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootFriday, August 16, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
      This is a great book about a boy named Callum Hunt whose dad hates magic. His dad says that magic tore their family apart. He wants Callum to fail The Iron Trial but Callum ends up failing at failing so he succeeds (I know, kind of confusing). He learns that he actually kind of likes his magic school, the Magisterium, but he is worried that his dad won't let him return the next year.
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitSunday, January 21, 2018 at 3:10 am55 stars
        First things first: Callum Hunt's dad HATES magic. So when a magic school, the Magestrium, invites Cal to be a student, he's actually trying to fail. But even after a series of failures the masters decide to take him because it's not a good idea to let an untrained mage out in the world. At the Magestrium, Cal meets bullies, evil mages, monsters and more, and he has to battle the Enemy till the very end. very good book! Harry Potter+Percy Jackson fans MUST read!
        • melthecupcake
          melthecupcakeSunday, October 22, 2017 at 9:40 am55 stars
          I've read this book about a million times! It is my favorite book ever! Holly Black really shows her imagination by writing the series Magisterium. Three friends Cal, Tamara, and Aaron go to the Magisterium for magic school. Read Iron Trial if you want to experience their adventures in the Magisterium!
          • squid11
            squid11Wednesday, September 20, 2017 at 6:42 am55 stars
            this is my third time reading it because i love the series and i just got the third book so i wanted to reread the series. I mean who doesn't love to reread a series?
            • football3
              football3Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 11:46 am55 stars
              I love this book! It is full of adventure and imagination. Holly Black and Cassandra Claire are a great team.
              • aunthtoo8896lol
                aunthtoo8896lolFriday, September 30, 2016 at 6:39 am
                This book is really really good.
                • nagja01
                  nagja01Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 4:32 pm
                  This book is very interesting. It is similar to the harry potter series.
                  • meatymeat
                    meatymeatThursday, April 14, 2016 at 6:54 am55 stars
                    Does this book ave Sci-Fi because in the book Constantine did experiments, or his brother.
                    • HelloWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 7:00 am
                      Good book