The Iron Trial (Book One of Magisterium)

Book 1 of 3 in the Magisterium Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.683311
From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a riveting new series that defies what you think you know about the world of magic.

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst - and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It's a place that's both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .

From the remarkable imaginations of bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a heart-stopping, mind-blowing, pulse-pounding plunge into the magical unknown.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 9, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545522250
ISBN-13: 9780545522250
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4usa
    4usaWednesday, May 6, 2020 at 6:13 am55 stars
    This is a great book about a boy named Call who's mother was killed and his leg was damaged as a baby in an ambush in a magical war! His father raised him and taught him that the magic school killed people! So now that he is going into a test to enter the school his father is telling him to fail no matter what! One of the masters sees that he is failing on purpose and decides to choose him as one of his students! Once he gets there he isn't so sure that his father was right!
    • chocolate168
      chocolate168Tuesday, December 31, 2019 at 5:13 pm44 starsFeatured
      The first thing I want to say is that this book is actually pretty good! I really like how the more Callum discovers, the more questions he has. I don't really like how Callum figures out who he is in this book. I feel like there should be more questions without answers and more problems that he has to deal with before learning who he is. Although what I just wrote is true, I also really like who he turns out to be. I like how lots of his questions and problems are answered through figuring out who he is. Although this book isn't my favorite, I really enjoyed reading it, partly because it just made me feel good. I would recommend this to people who like magic, adventure, and books... and those who don't like books. (: I want to thank Holly Black and Cassandra Clare and EVERYBODY ELSE that contributed to this book. I really appreciate it. Thanks!
      • yeetFriday, November 8, 2019 at 7:00 am
        this book is amazing 10/10 recomened
        • 13iamgroot
          13iamgrootFriday, August 16, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
          This is a great book about a boy named Callum Hunt whose dad hates magic. His dad says that magic tore their family apart. He wants Callum to fail The Iron Trial but Callum ends up failing at failing so he succeeds (I know, kind of confusing). He learns that he actually kind of likes his magic school, the Magisterium, but he is worried that his dad won't let him return the next year.
          • grapefruit
            grapefruitSunday, January 21, 2018 at 3:10 am55 stars
            First things first: Callum Hunt's dad HATES magic. So when a magic school, the Magestrium, invites Cal to be a student, he's actually trying to fail. But even after a series of failures the masters decide to take him because it's not a good idea to let an untrained mage out in the world. At the Magestrium, Cal meets bullies, evil mages, monsters and more, and he has to battle the Enemy till the very end. very good book! Harry Potter+Percy Jackson fans MUST read!
            • melthecupcake
              melthecupcakeSunday, October 22, 2017 at 9:40 am55 stars
              I've read this book about a million times! It is my favorite book ever! Holly Black really shows her imagination by writing the series Magisterium. Three friends Cal, Tamara, and Aaron go to the Magisterium for magic school. Read Iron Trial if you want to experience their adventures in the Magisterium!
              • sylukuro-158613259986
                sylukuro-158613259986Thursday, April 9, 2020 at 10:37 am
                I mean, why wouldn't you read it a million times!
              • squid11
                squid11Wednesday, September 20, 2017 at 6:42 am55 stars
                this is my third time reading it because i love the series and i just got the third book so i wanted to reread the series. I mean who doesn't love to reread a series?
                • football3
                  football3Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 11:46 am55 stars
                  I love this book! It is full of adventure and imagination. Holly Black and Cassandra Claire are a great team.
                  • aunthtoo8896lol
                    aunthtoo8896lolFriday, September 30, 2016 at 6:39 am
                    This book is really really good.
                    • nagja01
                      nagja01Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 4:32 pm
                      This book is very interesting. It is similar to the harry potter series.