From J.K. Rowling, a warm, fast-paced, funny fairy tale of a fearsome monster, thrilling adventure, and hope against all odds.

Once upon a time there was a tiny kingdom called Cornucopia, as rich in happiness as it was in gold, and famous for its food. From the delicate cream cheeses of Kurdsburg to the Hopes-of-Heaven pastries of Chouxville, each was so delicious that people wept with joy as they ate them.

But even in this happy kingdom, a monster lurks. Legend tells of a fearsome creature living far to the north in the Marshlands... the Ickabog. Some say it breathes fire, spits poison, and roars through the mist as it carries off wayward sheep and children alike. Some say it's just a myth...

And when that myth takes on a life of its own, casting a shadow over the kingdom, two children - best friends Bert and Daisy - embark on a great adventure to untangle the truth and find out where the real monster lies, bringing hope and happiness to Cornucopia once more.

Featuring full color illustrations by children from across the United States and Canada, this original fairy tale from one of the world's most celebrated storytellers will captivate readers of all ages.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on November 10, 2020 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338732870
ISBN-13: 9781338732870
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unitri
    unitriMonday, November 23, 2020 at 10:14 am55 stars
    I absolutely love this book!
    • KittyKatMonday, November 23, 2020 at 10:06 am
      I think this is awesome because J.K. Rowling is one of my favorite authors and yeah... 5 STARS
      • nightseed_cat
        nightseed_catMonday, November 23, 2020 at 9:34 am55 stars
        I am going to read it.
        • kcloveballet
          kcloveballetMonday, November 23, 2020 at 8:53 am55 stars
          I love this book
          • jkbear
            jkbearMonday, November 23, 2020 at 8:38 am55 stars
            I love this book
            • hamilfan99
              hamilfan99Monday, November 23, 2020 at 5:40 am
              I am going to read it
              • squirrelflight
                squirrelflightWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 5:01 pm44 stars
                Because I’m one of those people who always want something new to read, I was extremely glad to receive The Ickabog from DOGO. As soon as I got the book in the mail, I started reading. I immediately fell in love with the amazing illustrations, intriguing storyline, and just the idea of an original fairy tale. I’m not a big fan of stories that start with “once upon a time”, but this book lured me in. Calling all readers—get ready to dive into an adventure you will never forget. Get ready to read the Ickabog! Summary: Welcome to Cornucopia. This tiny country is home to some of the world’s most delectable delicacies—from pastries that taste so good they make you cry in ecstasy to the best cream cheese you’ll find anywhere. Cornucopia is ruled by King Fred the Fearless, and everything has always been peaceful under his reign—until Mrs. Dovetail, his seamstress, dies after being overworked one day. Mrs. Dovetail’s daughter Daisy accuses Fred of being vain and cruel, but the king’s determined to prove her wrong. He gets the perfect opportunity to do this when a poor shepherd from the Marshlands—the only poverty-stricken part of Cornucopia—comes to see him, begging for his help. The shepherd speaks of a vicious, invisible monster called the Ickabog which stole his dog—but monsters aren’t real....or are they?
                • auntieb
                  auntiebWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 11:39 am55 starsFeatured
                  Journey into the land of Cornucopia! Where king Fred the fearless reigns, the tastiest cheeses, wines, meats and pastries are made as well as where the Ickabog lives. Well MIGHT live. Everyone thinks the Ickabog is just a tale to frighten children. But what if it were true? So one day after being called vain and selfish by a child, King Fred decides to show how NOT selfish and NOT vain he is by helping a poor Marshlander rescue his dog from the Ickabog. But really this is just a façade to make himself feel better as everyone knows the Ickabog is fake.....well at least everyone thinks so until the king sees the Ickabog and Major Beamish is supposedly killed by it! But really Major Beamish was shot and Lord Spittleworth decides to reap the benefits of the unfortunate accident by proclaiming he was killed by the Ickabog and the country now needs to pay the Ickabog tax (most of which goes straight into his pocket). Things soon spiral out of control, and Cornucopia is in need of serious help! Read this book to find out if Lord Spittleworth gets away with all his lies and treachery or if he is brought to justice! I had different expectations for this book since I know J.K Rowling wrote the Harry Potter series. But, after realizing that this is supposed to be a whole different type of book I enjoyed it! I really loved how there are children's illustrations used throughout this book, I think it adds a really nice touch. I think this book would be a great book to be read-aloud before bed during thanksgiving time!
                  • sjsj
                    sjsjTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 5:58 pm44 stars
                    I absolutely enjoyed this novel! I loved how the illustrations are made from children and their imaginations! I would recommend this novel to any of my friends! Two friends, Bert Beamish and Daisy Dovetail have to go on a dangerous path when their homeland, Cornucopia, is threatened by an evil menace known as the Ickabog. Although they have to face some dangers on their journey, some people thought the monster was just a story and there is no Ickabog at all! But they have to question their judgement when Lord Spittleworth, the king's advisor, takes over the land and threatens to kill anyone who goes against his beliefs of the Ickabog. But there are too many holes that have not been filled when it comes to the monstrosity. Soon, Bert, Daisy, and their fellow citizens must think whether the legend of the Ickabog is true, or just part of one big, twisted plot.
                    • blossomreader
                      blossomreaderTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 1:49 pm
                      I wish I had this book! When I get a chance to read it, I'll write a review here!