Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2332 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cue
    cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:39 pm
    I really enjoyed this book, but to be honest the story is a bit scary. I mean really it is hard to think of kids fighting to the death and a world where that is okay and even popular.
    • iamrobot
      iamrobotSunday, July 28, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in a place in the future called Panem which is now North America. Panem is made up of a capitol and 12 districts. Each year, the Capitol orders each district to send 1 boy and 1 girl between the ages 12 and 18 to participate in the annual Hunger Games. This year Katnisses sister is chosen so Katniss steps up to take her place .So Katniss will have to fight for her life.
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 4:27 am
        This book looks so good! Some of my friends reccommended it, so I can’t wait to try to read it. I hope my library has it in stock!:D
        • SupThursday, July 4, 2019 at 9:21 am
          It's a good book
          • soccerchick03
            soccerchick03Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at 6:21 pm55 stars
            I was looking for a book that was a series and would be a thrill and a fun adventure. I loved this book, because the very first page you know you will never put it down. It is a very fun and fast moving book that also has a movie. I would recommend this book ages 12+ because of vilence and inappropriate parts.
            • athlete08
              athlete08Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 5:40 am44 stars
              This book was a very interesting fiction book. I loved it because it was very mysterious. I would only rate it four stars though, because it was not my most favorite book, but still , it was very good.
              • 3bears
                3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 10:58 am55 stars
                The Hunger Games is one of my absolute favorite books. The Hunger Games takes place in the District of Panem, a dystopian future in which North America had been blown to bits and Panem took its place. Panem is divided into 12 districts, (used to be 13, but due to rebellions, the Capital supposedly "destroyed it") with some districts being rich, and some poor. The Capitol of Panem has the Hunger Games every year, in which children are randomly chosen from each district to battle each other to death as a reminder that the Capitol is in charge, and if you rebel, you die.
                • lunalovegood8
                  lunalovegood8Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 11:19 pm55 stars
                  This was a really good book. I really liked the idea of the story, and how two kids from each district have to fight. It is interesting to see what happens, and how each person reacts to surviving.
                  • annette
                    annetteSunday, June 16, 2019 at 6:41 am44 stars
                    This is a classic dystopian novel with danger, violence, romance, defying the rules, and an exciting plot. Katniss Everdeen lives in a chaotic world where people fight to the death for the amusement of others. When her sister is chosen to fight, Katniss "volunteers as tribute". This sets her on a wild adventure to the Capital, to prepare, and the Arena, to fight. You will not be able to put this book down. P.S. The book is 100 times better than the movie!!
                    • kgautam
                      kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:44 am55 stars
                      this is definitely another amazing book with extremely strong female lead characters. each time i read this series, it only gets better and better. highly recommend.