Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.878577

Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has enchanted readers from the very first page. In this fourth romantic novel, follow Illéa’s royal family into a whole new Selection—and find out what happens after happily ever after.

Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story...but as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

A new generation of swoon-worthy characters and captivating romance awaits in the fourth book of the Selection series!

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062349856
ISBN-13: 9780062349859
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 4:32 am44 stars
    Princess Eadlyn can't run a mile in 7 minutes. She can't hold her breath for 7 minutes either. But she did do something far more impressive in & minutes: She became queen. By being born 7 minutes before her twin brother Ahren, she was crowned the future Queen Of Illea. It's a big responsibility for Eadlyn, and she feels pressured a lot. But the people of Illea are rebelling and she must do something. She must have a Selection. Will Eadlyn be able to cope with this this thing she really doesn't want to do? Read the book to find out. I highly recommend this book.
    • devenitycrystal
      devenitycrystalMonday, June 18, 2018 at 10:30 am55 stars
      I LOVED THIS SERIES!! If you like romance and royalty books, this could bot have been a better book for you! It has amazing settings and storylines, so I most definitely recommend these series. I love these books and you should check out The Siren by Kiera Cass as well. (Order- The Elite, The Selection, The One, and the Heir)
      • jo6193
        jo6193Wednesday, July 20, 2016 at 6:25 am33 stars
        Princess Eadlyn IS a cold storm who wants to do anything but have a selection. But when the people need to know her better and to keep the rebels at bay she goes. But when one of Lady Marlee's annoying kids is selected it takes a turn for the worst. The people hate her even more because she show only compassion to her closest selected and gives the others a icy glare.
        • bluehorse3
          bluehorse3Sunday, May 1, 2016 at 12:16 pm55 stars
          Amazing, but all I can pretty much say is that i am so excited for the crown coming out super, super soon! YAYYY!
          • 10ms
            10msMonday, November 16, 2015 at 12:28 pm
            i want to read this book because i have read the other books and they are really good and so i think this you should cheak out the other books before you red this one
            • may_c
              may_cSunday, October 25, 2015 at 9:44 am44 starsFeatured
              The selection is one of my favorite books that I'd ever read. Unlike the other 3 books, in this book, the perspective changed from America Singer to Eadlyn which is American and Maxon's daughter. Which is very interesting because in Eadlyn has her own conflicts where she doesn't believe in love at first but during the selection, it changed her thoughts. Eadlyn is really different from her parents, she is really independent and selfish at first, but the way she looks at the world different than others. Throughout this book, we are able to see another side of her personality. But one of the things that I don't like about this book is that there isn't actually an ending. This book is awesome and I can't wait for another one.
              • angelay
                angelayWednesday, October 7, 2015 at 10:55 pm44 starsFeatured
                This book was really enjoyable for me to read. This time, the story isn't focusing on America's and Maxon's happy ending, instead it's about their daughter, who doesn't believe in love like her parents. It's an interesting twist to the next books in the series and gives off a fresh new vibe. Eadlyn is very funny, interesting, and she sees the world through different eyes. I finished the book within a day sadly, but it was really worth it. One regret - there wasn't actually an ending, just like the Selection - the story can't be completed in a book because it's too intricate and complicated, and I honestly can't wait for the next book. I loved Eadlyn's personality - although she was all diva-like, selfish and spoiled at first, slowly I got to see her other side and found out that she is actually an inquisitive, sweet person. I loved the book!
                • live2read
                  live2readSunday, June 28, 2015 at 10:39 am55 stars
                  In this book (SPOILER ALERT if you have not read The One!) America and Maxin's kid will have her own selection, and she is not happy about it. will she find love? or will there be nothing for her to love? the end is a giant cliff hanger!
                  • mydogdiva2
                    mydogdiva2Thursday, June 11, 2015 at 5:19 pm55 stars
                    First read Cinder and Scarlet
                    • williams674
                      williams674Monday, June 1, 2015 at 1:04 pm55 starsFeatured
                      I read the entire Selection series and was seriously upset when I finished. Like the the Percy Jackson series and the Harry Potter books, I didn't want it to end. Nearly two months after I had finished the series, a friend told me that there were going to be more books! At first I wasn't sure what to think, because the series had seemed so resolved, but once I got over the initial shock, I was obsessed! I was on my toes, searching for the release date of the next two books every other day! When it finally came out, I had just spent all my money at the book fair. Luckily, somebody let me borrow the book, just the other day. I was over the moon! I immediately started it, and couldn't put it down. I finished it the next day (sadly), and can honestly say my only complaint is that the next book isn't out yet. :'( I loved reading through and meeting the children of all my favorite characters, catching up with them, and reading Maxon and America's reactions to what goes on in Eadlyn's selection. I can't wait for the fifth book, five stars all the way!