Eight Starred Reviews! #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds

"Stunning." —John Green

"This story is necessary. This story is important." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Heartbreakingly topical." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A marvel of verisimilitude." —Booklist (starred review)

"A powerful, in-your-face novel." —The Horn Book (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062498533
ISBN-13: 9780062498533
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • YeetMaster06Friday, September 18, 2020 at 6:38 am
    Overall this was a great book. It was easy and fun to read at the same time. There was a lot of cussing though, so if you're not ok with that, this probably won't be your favorite book. It has some heavy themes and plots, I would say it's probably more meant for older kids. But I had a good time reading it, I hope you do too.
    • HiFriday, August 7, 2020 at 9:17 am
      I love this book and I hope u do to xx
      • sirireads
        sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:15 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing. It gave me a whole new point of view of the world. It had a lot of different genres which came together nicely. It was a great read, thoroughly riveting. I recommend to anyone.
        • soso17970
          soso17970Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 3:37 pm44 stars
          I really didn’t think I would like this book because it seemed so mature. But that turned out to be the exact reason I loved it. The hate u give takes the reader into a whole different world. The lovable main character, Starr goes through a lot of drama with family, friends, and her neighborhoods. The book balances action, theme and comical relief very well and reader will definitely take something away from it. Big warning, only read this book if you are 13+, lots of swearing and mature topics.
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
            amazing book, really touching. it shows what life is like for others that are discriminated against. wish I could have seen the movie, it seemed very interesting.
            • kkgautamm
              kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:14 pm55 stars
              amazing book, really touching. it shows what life is like for others that are discriminated against. wish I could have seen the movie.
              • michaelhunter
                michaelhunterMonday, October 29, 2018 at 7:06 am55 stars
                one of the best books I've read
                • unibrowboi
                  unibrowboiThursday, July 5, 2018 at 5:05 am55 stars
                  Wrenching, soul stirring, funny, endearing, painful, and frustratingly familiar, this novel offers a powerful look at a few weeks in a fairly typical teen girl's life -- with one horrific exception
                  • e06
                    e06Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:51 pm55 stars
                    I read this book in 3 days.... It is a book everyone should read. It also has some very political aspects. I enjoyed this book soon much, it was AMAZING! It shows a very emotional movie in your head. You should definitely read it if you are about 12 and up. Otherwise an outstanding story. It is a book you really cannot put down. Angie Thomas did and outstanding job, put so much effort and it was all worth it! This should in a Newberry Award! Highly Recommend!
                    • lolololThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:48 am
                      Good history. Would recommend this book to people who love hearing about activist