Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.167380

The original hardcover edition of a perennial favorite, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, which has sold more than one million copies and is the only novel to win both the Newbery Medal and the Carnegie Medal.

Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place—he's the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his guardians' time as well as their ghostly teachings—such as the ability to Fade so mere mortals cannot see him.

Can a boy raised by ghosts face the wonders and terrors of the worlds of both the living and the dead?

The Graveyard Book is the winner of the Newbery Medal, the Carnegie Medal, the Hugo Award for best novel, the Locus Award for Young Adult novel, the American Bookseller Association’s “Best Indie Young Adult Buzz Book,” a Horn Book Honor, and Audio Book of the Year.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 30, 2008 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060530928
ISBN-13: 9780060530921
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sksksksWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 6:01 pm
    i loved this book it was so mysterious
    • EmmaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 7:29 pm
      I loved this book!
      • and_i_oop
        and_i_oopFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:39 am55 starsFeatured
        I absolutely loved this book! There were so many cliffhangers. Plus tons of climax points. I would highly recommend. If i could give it more than a five i would. SUMMARY- MAY BE SPOILERS--There is a small baby boy who's family gets murdered. He somehow escapes unnoticed. But he doesn't even know he is escaping. He goes to the graveyard while the murderer is hot on his trail . The ghosts make him leave. But they protect the baby. They say that they will keep him. His guardian is named Silas. He is half living half dead. He is raised by the ghosts. He learns to haunt and to fade. There are TONS of crazy adventures that happen. One day the murder finds him again. Want to know why he wants to kill him so bad or what happens??? Read the book to find out.
        • clairebear90
          clairebear90Friday, May 24, 2019 at 7:38 am55 stars
          i love this book
          • ieathappymeal
            ieathappymealFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:38 am44 stars
            This book is amazing and has many challenges and adventures.
            • sb14161
              sb14161Friday, May 24, 2019 at 7:37 am44 stars
              it was a good book. not my favorite but it was a good class book to read.
              • supremefoolisai
                supremefoolisaiFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:37 am44 stars
                It gives you surprises the more you read it, it has sad moments and funny parts.
                • ninfuemythmercs
                  ninfuemythmercsFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:36 am55 stars
                  The graveyard book is amazing. The cliffhangers and suspense throughout the book keep you on the edge of your seat, and you are always wondering what will happen next. Bod is a amazing character and it is amazing to watch him grow and go past and endure his hardships with him. Silas is also a perfect character which you are always wishing he was in the scene and wanting to read about him constantly. also i like 69
                  • BobTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 4:40 pm
                    I love this book!
                    • rockz
                      rockzFriday, July 7, 2017 at 1:26 am55 stars
                      AMAZING IREAD IT IN 3 DAYS