Once there was a little tree ... and she loved a little boy.

So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein.

Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk ... and the tree was happy. But as the boy grew older he began to want more from the tree, and the tree gave and gave and gave.

This is a tender story, touched with sadness, aglow with consolation. Shel Silverstein has created a moving parable for readers of all ages that offers an affecting interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

Hardcover, 64 pages
Published on March 1, 2004 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060586753
ISBN-13: 9780060586751
41 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • iloveunicorns
    iloveunicornsTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 5:26 pm55 stars
    this book give us a lesson to be kind to each other and be a good friend
    • bookworker
      bookworkerTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 11:25 am55 stars
      Great story and it means a lot
      • demosthenes
        demosthenesThursday, May 26, 2016 at 7:24 am
        I love this book with all my heart. and a teacher at my school has a tattoo of this on her arm.
        • cutipup200511
          cutipup200511Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 11:27 am55 stars
          This book is about a boy and a tree and they love each other so the boy gets anything from the tree and the tree give him what ever he want from the tree
          • bluehorse3
            bluehorse3Sunday, February 21, 2016 at 4:30 pm11 star
            This book is sad and it sends out a bad message. It's about a boy and a tree who love each other. The tree gave the boy many things. So the boy does anything for the tree. I don't like this book. I guess that it could be good if you think it's sweet, but I don't. I don't recommend this book to people who like happy picture books.
            • bookworker
              bookworkerTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
              I agree with what you say however that is the message it is trying to send out
            • desimiomy
              desimiomyTuesday, February 2, 2016 at 6:53 am
              i love this book because it has so much love and compation and if you dont like love and compationate people than its okay because there a lot mor stuff than that
              • Hailie Friday, September 18, 2015 at 4:42 pm
                this is such a great book i reccomend it for every one im in six grade and i still read this book it is such a good book i have been reading this book since kindergarten and i have ben reading this since i u want to read any other books by the author do it he is such a amazing author i reccomend this book for all ages enjoy :)
                • zookzook08
                  zookzook08Wednesday, June 17, 2015 at 11:53 am55 stars
                  This is one of my mom's favorite books. Also it is one of my favorite books. There are no color pictures but it is a good story.
                  • aook138
                    aook138Wednesday, April 29, 2015 at 9:46 am33 stars
                    such a nice tree, the giving tree, the boy tuns into a man and cuts words in her bark.It reminds me of a phrase in Wonder, BE KINDER THAN NECESSARY.
                    • 23ec01
                      23ec01Wednesday, April 29, 2015 at 5:23 am55 stars
                      I have read a lot of poems by shel Silverstein so I want to try out some of his books.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      S wrote:

                      Kronos is powerful because he is...
                      The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson...

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      exciting, funny, you really glue...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      Amazing book, amazing author, am...
                      Smile

                      Jeff wrote:

                      It is so good 😋😋😋😋😋🍫😍😂👍
                      Smile