It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Paperback, 137 pages
Published on December 22, 2014 by Hachette Book Group USA
243 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kassandrakissup
    kassandrakissupTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 2:10 pm55 stars
    intresting
    • kgautam
      kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:16 pm55 stars
      This book will make you laugh and cry. It is a great book, I loved it! it shows how perfect is not always perfect, and that we should cherish the life we are now living.
      • lovetolearn
        lovetolearnSunday, July 16, 2017 at 1:15 am55 stars
        I usually don't like futuristic books, but The Giver was an exception. It showed that there was hope to escape the feelingless society that Jonas was a part of to a world filled with love, joy, pain, and color.
        • boomzoom
          boomzoomMonday, July 10, 2017 at 7:17 pm55 stars
          The Giver was a fantastic, thought-provoking novel. This story is about a boy who lives in a kind of "utopia." Members of this society cannot see in color and, when they feel something, they are required to identify what it is and talk about it at the table with their families. Jonas, the main character, is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory. With this, Jonas is called to experience everything from pain and suffering, to joy and prosperity. His role holds every sensation and memory of life outside of and before the beginning of the society he lives in. He soon discovers the awful truths behind the only life he has ever known and feels the need to do something about it.
          • rainkit309
            rainkit309Saturday, July 8, 2017 at 6:45 pm44 stars
            This is a futuristic book that tells of what it would be like if because of war and the pain that we suffer, scientists make everything the same. Then there would be no color or truly anything special about the world and everything is very orderly with one person that bears all of the pain.
            • jwarne
              jwarneThursday, June 29, 2017 at 2:03 pm55 stars
              This book is such an emotional rollercoaster, which is really apt considering that emotions are really taboo in this society. The ending left me wanting more, and I wish there was a sequel.
              • levi0sa
                levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
                I loved this book. I was interesting to think about what the world could be like in the future someday. I can't wait to read the rest of this series.
                • avatar1
                  avatar1Tuesday, June 20, 2017 at 7:57 pm
                  I love how this book explains a world without conflict and pain is not always good. This book teaches how if we shut out our bad emotions, then we are not ourselves.
                  • looneylovegood1
                    looneylovegood1Monday, June 19, 2017 at 1:34 pm55 stars
                    This is a book about the future. About a world, where there is no war, no pain, no suffering, no disease, and no death. This world is simply perfect world, don't you think? When you read this book, you soon find out that it's not. The world in "The Giver", is also a place without love, family, color, choice, and etc, as well. Read the book to find out the ending.
                    • anagkan
                      anagkanWednesday, June 14, 2017 at 1:32 pm55 stars
                      Imagine a utopia-like world in which there is no poverty or conflict. This is the world in which Jonas lives in. Everyone who is born in a year do everything together. They get their stuffed animals together, get their bikes together, and finally, get their future jobs together. At the Ceremony of Twelve, all Jonas’ friends get normal jobs, but he is picked to succeed the Giver and become the Receiver of Memory. Jonas was chosen because he was different, he could see color.Jonas is given memories, he understands many things, like why people converted to sameness, and that there is more pain in the world than what happens in his community. By the end, Jonas decides to run away, and gets a taste of something that made the Giver different, music. The Giver is a great book and I recommend it to people of all ages.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      alicat52
                      alicat52 wrote:

                      I gave this book 2 stars because...
                      The Lightning Thief (Percy Jacks...

                      alicat52
                      alicat52 wrote:

                      I like this book I already read ...
                      Spy Camp (Spy School)

                      book hugger wrote:

                      i am going to buy this book fir...
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...