Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 5n/a4.8n/a
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016
2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice


Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl . . .

The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch’s Boy.
Hardcover, 454 pages
Published on July 5, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432840932
ISBN-13: 9781432840938
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rainawave
    rainawaveThursday, September 20, 2018 at 4:39 pm55 stars
    This is my favorite book ever! It is so beautiful and the story is so touching.
    • unicornicecreamFriday, August 31, 2018 at 11:32 am
      It is awsome
      • unicornicecream
        unicornicecreamThursday, August 30, 2018 at 11:34 am
        It is sooooooo good but I am only at chapter 3
        • kruzingwithk9s
          kruzingwithk9sMonday, July 9, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
          OMG i loved loved loved this book! it has been a bit when i read it but it was AMAZING1
          • reader_red
            reader_redMonday, July 9, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
            This book was amazing!!! It had the perfect fantasy balance without being too weird. I love a ton of fantasy stories but some of them can be a little weird. Every year the villagers of Protectorate leave a baby in the forest for the witch. They thought that if they sacrificed a baby every year, the witch wouldn't terrorize their village. However, the witch is actually very kind. She rescues the babies and takes them to villages on the other side of the forest to have happy homes. While she travels she feeds them starlight. One night she accidentally feeds baby moonlight filling the girl with magic. She decides she must bring the girl up. When Luna's thirteenth approaches, the magic she was fed too begins to emerge with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile in Protectorate a young man is determined to free the villages by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl...
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 2:59 pm55 stars
              I really liked this book. My favorite character was the Perfectly Tiny Dragon. I also liked this book because it teaches us that people who look like witches can be just ordinary people who want friends and try to be friendly. I also liked the magic and insanity that stuff into paper and paper into other things. My favorite part of this book was when she looked up and said, "Whoops, I just fed her a bit of moonlight..."
              • pugsandpizza
                pugsandpizzaThursday, May 10, 2018 at 6:28 am55 stars
                READ THIS BOOK!! I loved this book! It definitely deserves the metal on its cover! A heap of magic a pinch of adventure and a dash of mischief. Now that’s my kind of book! Though I normally read animal adventure books, like The Familiers and Pegasus, which is a 400 page book with 8in the series, this was awesome! If you’re not sure you want to read it then here’s something to get you interested! Each year in the small sorrowful town of Protectorate they must sacrifice a baby or face the wrath of the witch in the woods, or so legend says. Xan an old woman, a.k.a. the witch, lives in the Bog, a dangerous place that everyone fears. She takes the poor little babies each year thinking that they were abandoned. One year she does something a little accidentally... A dramatic dot dot dot.
                • evelynnTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 4:53 pm
                  this book was amazing I loved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • strawberrybaby2
                    strawberrybaby2Monday, March 19, 2018 at 8:29 am11 star
                    In the book, Girl Who Drank the Moon really dint make sense till the 14-15th chapter. I really dint like it because there was to much happening at once. One chapter would be about Xan and the next chapter it would jump to about Luna. It got confusing. The Words where put together nicely but not in order for it to make sense. :( :( :( :(
                    • gryffinpuff
                      gryffinpuffThursday, May 10, 2018 at 2:09 pm55 stars
                      strawberrybaby2 I do NOT agree, this book was amazing AND interesting. I think you just need to find the right book thats all.
                      • bookstory13
                        bookstory13Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 4:50 pm55 stars
                        Good point the right book and the right genre (I can't read historical fiction very well)
                    • JanieSunday, January 21, 2018 at 8:13 am
                      this book was boring and i could not get into it. i hated how Luna was always so perfect and magical and i knew from the beginning that *spoiler* Xan would die. i mean...wise old mentor's always got to die, right? it was confusing and i did not like any of the characters.
                      • strawberrybaby2
                        strawberrybaby2Monday, March 19, 2018 at 8:29 am11 star
                        I So agree janie

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins