Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 5n/a4.8n/a
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016
2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice


Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl . . .

The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch’s Boy.
Hardcover, 454 pages
Published on July 5, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432840932
ISBN-13: 9781432840938
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jazzycheatah
    jazzycheatahTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 7:11 am55 stars
    I really love this book and how creative they were with the story. I wish they would make a movie out of this book. If you never read this book you would love it if you love adventure.
    • shantzj
      shantzjFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:44 am55 stars
      This book is amazing, at fist you don't really know what is going on but once you get more into the book you start to understand more about the story. So any way here is my summary of this book, so here is a witch who lives in the woods near the village. The people of the village think the witch is evil and wants children so she can kill them, and if she doesn't get them she will come into the village and.... But that is not true, she actually wonders why people are leaving the children out here to die. So every year se will go to the certain spot were the leave the child every year, on the journey to a orphanage the witch accidently feeds the child the moon which makes the child magical. a magical baby is dangerous so she decided to raise the baby her self.
      • shantzj
        shantzjSunday, April 28, 2019 at 4:10 pm55 stars
        So far I really like this book, but I still haven't finished it yet.
        • butterfly21
          butterfly21Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 1:07 pm55 stars
          I LOVE this book sooooo much you guys should defenitley read it if you are looking for a boook to entertain you
          • shantzj
            shantzjSunday, April 28, 2019 at 4:12 pm55 stars
            Nice review butterfly21!
          • unicorn loverTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 12:59 pm
            This book is very entertaing at the begging it is a little confusing but once you read the book a bit more you understand it better I did not want to stop reading The Girl Who Drank The Moon I would totally recomend this book
            • unicornicecreamFriday, August 31, 2018 at 11:32 am
              It is awsome
              • unicornicecream
                unicornicecreamThursday, August 30, 2018 at 11:34 am
                It is sooooooo good but I am only at chapter 3
                • kruzingwithk9s
                  kruzingwithk9sMonday, July 9, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
                  OMG i loved loved loved this book! it has been a bit when i read it but it was AMAZING1
                  • reader_red
                    reader_redMonday, July 9, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
                    This book was amazing!!! It had the perfect fantasy balance without being too weird. I love a ton of fantasy stories but some of them can be a little weird. Every year the villagers of Protectorate leave a baby in the forest for the witch. They thought that if they sacrificed a baby every year, the witch wouldn't terrorize their village. However, the witch is actually very kind. She rescues the babies and takes them to villages on the other side of the forest to have happy homes. While she travels she feeds them starlight. One night she accidentally feeds baby moonlight filling the girl with magic. She decides she must bring the girl up. When Luna's thirteenth approaches, the magic she was fed too begins to emerge with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile in Protectorate a young man is determined to free the villages by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl...
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 2:59 pm55 stars
                      I really liked this book. My favorite character was the Perfectly Tiny Dragon. I also liked this book because it teaches us that people who look like witches can be just ordinary people who want friends and try to be friendly. I also liked the magic and insanity that stuff into paper and paper into other things. My favorite part of this book was when she looked up and said, "Whoops, I just fed her a bit of moonlight..."