Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 5n/a4.8n/a
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016
2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice


Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl . . .

The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch’s Boy.
Hardcover, 454 pages
Published on July 5, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432840932
ISBN-13: 9781432840938
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • starkk_22
    starkk_22Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:17 am55 stars
    This book is a great fairytale. It has witches, wizards, and even dragons! I highly recommend this to anyone who immediately fall in love with fairytales.
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Saturday, September 7, 2019 at 6:35 pm
      What is this book about? it seems pretty intresting to me. do you reccomend it?
      • UNICORNS??OMG!!Saturday, September 7, 2019 at 7:30 am
        I'm scrolling through the comments and I cannot wait to read this book!!! Thanks for giving me a head start on what this book is about, guys!
        • reader_red
          reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:37 pm55 stars
          Everyone thinks the witch in the forest is bad so they offer babies to her to keep her from harming their village. Xan (The witch) is a kind old-lady who helps the babies. Every year when a baby comes she takes the baby, feeds it starlight, and delivers it to the other side of the forest. One day Xan accidentally fed a baby moonlight instead of starlight. The old witch had to take in the baby and raise her.
          • jazzycheatah
            jazzycheatahTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 7:11 am55 stars
            I really love this book and how creative they were with the story. I wish they would make a movie out of this book. If you never read this book you would love it if you love adventure.
            • shantzj
              shantzjFriday, May 24, 2019 at 7:44 am55 stars
              This book is amazing, at fist you don't really know what is going on but once you get more into the book you start to understand more about the story. So any way here is my summary of this book, so here is a witch who lives in the woods near the village. The people of the village think the witch is evil and wants children so she can kill them, and if she doesn't get them she will come into the village and.... But that is not true, she actually wonders why people are leaving the children out here to die. So every year se will go to the certain spot were the leave the child every year, on the journey to a orphanage the witch accidently feeds the child the moon which makes the child magical. a magical baby is dangerous so she decided to raise the baby her self.
              • shantzj
                shantzjSunday, April 28, 2019 at 4:10 pm55 stars
                So far I really like this book, but I still haven't finished it yet.
                • butterfly21
                  butterfly21Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 1:07 pm55 stars
                  I LOVE this book sooooo much you guys should defenitley read it if you are looking for a boook to entertain you
                  • shantzj
                    shantzjSunday, April 28, 2019 at 4:12 pm55 stars
                    Nice review butterfly21!
                  • unicorn loverTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 12:59 pm
                    This book is very entertaing at the begging it is a little confusing but once you read the book a bit more you understand it better I did not want to stop reading The Girl Who Drank The Moon I would totally recomend this book
                    • unicornicecreamFriday, August 31, 2018 at 11:32 am
                      It is awsome