Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.041966
What Josh thought would be the dullest summer of his life, spent with his eccentric great-aunt, turns chilling when he meets the ghost of a coal miner killed in a mine explosion. Willie has been waiting years for some kind soul to dig up his leg and rebury it with the rest of him—only then will he be at peace. Josh agrees to do the grisly deed, but when he digs in the old cemetery, he finds more than Willie’s leg bones! Who buried the box of cash in the grave, and why? How far will that person go to get the money back? The Ghost’s Grave is a deliciously spooky adventure from a master of suspense.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 18, 2005 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525461620
ISBN-13: 9780525461623
13 Book Reviews
  • LeaviSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 1:35 pm
    The book is really great! But also sad at the same time. This is my favorite book.
    • moonkitti
      moonkittiThursday, May 30, 2019 at 10:58 am55 stars
      It's an awesomely amazing book
      • Lil'catkittyThursday, May 30, 2019 at 10:41 am
        It was great. I love the fact that aunt Ethel thinks the peacock is aunt Florence, another lesson not very many people see is to eat heathy. Aunt Ethel demonstrates this.
        • KarinaOMGTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:45 am
          I love The Ghosts Grave
          • KarinaOMGTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:41 am
            I love this book so much
            • novejirumylonu
              novejirumylonuWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 12:39 pm
              The lesson Josh learns is that visiting his aunt’s house isn’t always going to boring.Which means don’t have a negative attitude even if it seems boring. Josh thought he was going to have a boring vacation. But, instead he had a nerve racking, shocking and an eerie month. The main lesson to be learned is don’t have a negative attitude. Too add to, when I was talking about what he felt about his vacation, he also had a dangerous month too with lots of mysteries. I would rate this book a “9 out of 10’ I would also recommend this book to the students who like mysteries and ghost stories. In conclusion, one unanswered question I would like to ask the author is, “ Why would Josh help a ghost ?” “ It’s an odd and a dangerous risk.”
              • 25awesomeyoda
                25awesomeyodaFriday, March 10, 2017 at 8:13 am55 stars
                IT is a good book and I already read it
                • 25awesomeyoda
                  25awesomeyodaFriday, March 10, 2017 at 8:10 am55 stars
                  It is a story about a kid going to see great aunt at seattle but he thoes not like until a ghost talks to get all his body in the same grave yard is was a coal miner
                  • lol8786
                    lol8786Friday, June 12, 2015 at 8:27 am55 stars
                    I love this book because I love mysteries. If you do not like mysteries but you like action then this could possibly be a good book for you too. The way the author puts things in it's place is amazing.she also describes the character very well.
                    • s53132
                      s53132Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 12:33 pm
                      This is a really good book. Peg Kehret writes lots of good mystery books. This one was about a boy who gets sent to his 90 year old aunt he hasn't ever met before because his parents have to go to India for business. He meets a Ghost named Willie. Willie asked him to dig up his leg bones and bury them with the rest of his body. He discovers a metal safe, when he finally gets it open it has 130,000 in it that was stolen from a long time ago. The guy who stole it then came and put him at gunpoint once he found out he had it. Josh stalled him until the police came. Josh was a hero because the money was for an animal shelter. His dreams of being on a baseball team that summer also came true because Muriel's grandson's team needed an outfielder.