Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
Greg Heffley and his family are getting out of town.

With the cold weather and the stress of the approaching holiday season, the Heffleys decide to escape to a tropical island resort for some much-needed rest and relaxation. A few days in paradise should do wonders for Greg and his frazzled family.

But the Heffleys soon discover that paradise isn't everything it's cracked up to be. Sun poisoning, stomach troubles, and venomous critters all threaten to ruin the family's vacation. Can their trip be saved, or will this island getaway end in disaster?
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 7, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419725459
ISBN-13: 9781419725456
390 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • unicornbooks
    unicornbooksSunday, June 30, 2019 at 5:48 am11 star
    The Getaway is about the Heffley family going on holiday for Christmas. They thought everything was going to be just as planned but soon they was wrong! On the holiday, full of problems and misery was set to ruin the family's dream holiday. If you want to know what happened go buy this amazing book!( I read this book over and over again btw).
    • triple-gio
      triple-gioMonday, June 24, 2019 at 2:32 pm55 stars
      Like how they went were there parents were in a honeymoon but they did not enjoy it because it was different
      • NooneFriday, June 21, 2019 at 4:19 pm
        really, really Funny!
        • TrollFriday, June 21, 2019 at 11:10 am
          Best manga ever.
          • ymajr17
            ymajr17Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:08 am55 stars
            i liked it so much i laughed to death
            • ymajr17
              ymajr17Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:07 am55 stars
              it was my fav
              • belle252
                belle252Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                I love this series and I already knew i would like this book , when the heffleys decide to go for an amazing tropical vacation nothing turns out right, from sun poisoning to boxed jellyfish to spiders no one is enjoying this vacation. This book is really funny and more than anything greg wants to go home and spend Christmas normally.
                • catabc
                  catabcMonday, June 10, 2019 at 5:56 pm55 stars
                  It's really funny
                  • pikadagu-155904857528
                    pikadagu-155904857528Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:58 am44 stars
                    This book was good. This book is good for all ages. I thought it was very funny. I think that the book is good I liked it.
                    • kidninjad
                      kidninjadWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 2:36 pm55 stars
                      It was a surprising vacation for Greg Heffley and a series of wimpy adventures. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun book to read over the summer.