The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies, Book 4)

Book 4 of 7 in the Lorien Legacies Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.9n/a

The fourth book of the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series!

John Smith—Number Four—thought that things would change once he and Nine reunited with the others. But he was wrong. After facing off with the Mogadorian ruler and almost being killed, the Garde realize they are drastically unprepared. Now they're hiding out in Nine's Chicago penthouse, trying to figure out their next move.

Even with the return of an old ally, these superpowered teens aren’t strong enough yet to take on an entire army. To defeat their enemy, the Garde must master their Legacies and learn to work together as a team. And when they receive a sign from Number Five—the last missing member of the Garde—they know they are close to all being together finally. But could it be a trap? Time is running out, and the only thing they know for certain is that they have to get to Five before the Mogs do.

Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic young adult series is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The Fifth Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

The battle for Earth’s survival wages on. Read the rest of the series: #5: The Revenge of Seven, #6: The Fate of Ten, and #7: United as One.

Don’t miss the first book in the brand-new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061974617
ISBN-13: 9780061974618
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kittylover8786
    kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 5:39 am55 stars
    This book is super good and ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh there is a tratior!!!
    • risa_i
      risa_iWednesday, January 13, 2016 at 2:23 am55 starsFeatured
      The Fall of Five is the fourth of the Lorien Legacies, where all of the Garde finally got together and are starting to prepare for the upcoming war that may happen at any moment. They all kept a positive attitude towards the fight regardless of how it might be a burdensome task. While all the events they do together, the Garde found out some facts that they never knew about, such as the real identity of Ella and the real side of Five. Five was actually helping the Mogadorians, which makes him a traitor. He killed one of Garde, which made rest of the Loriens shocked. This makes me relate to reality and a quote I’ve known, which is “Be careful who you trust and tell your problems, not everyone that smiles at you is your friend.” In reality, people may seem to be trustworthy and friendly, but some of them intends to do malicious acts to you. Throughout the novel, Five seemed to be trustworthy as well, yet he was a traitor who betrayed the Garde. My favorite part of this book was when they played capture the flag together, I loved how every single one of them showed their strength and their teamwork while they work together. This is so far one of the most entertaining book in the whole series and I’ll strongly recommend the Fall of Five to readers who likes adventure novels.
      • laurentb
        laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:46 pm55 stars
        This book, The Fall Of Five, is written by Pittacus Lore This is probably the best book in the series, but also the saddest one. In this book, all the gardes got together and Sam's dad were also saved from the mogadorians, but all this lead to Five's betrayal towards the rest of the gardes. Five was going to kill Nine but then Eight blocked Five and died instead. Due to Eight's death, Seven became enraged and blinded Five left eye. This book is really sad because in the last book, Eight barely survived a knife through his chest, then in this book, he gets killed. Eight is one of the nicer characters. What will Five do? Rejoin the gardes or betray them?
        • jasonl20
          jasonl20Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 11:58 pm55 stars
          The story is about how the character find the remaining garde five after regrouping with each other. Later on five betrayed and killed a character name eight. I am very depressed when I saw the title because I thought that five is going to die or something bad is going to happen to five. After I read on the story I feel that five is weird and something isn't going right. I feel bad for the gardes because after so long they have a hope of winning the battle, then five comes in and ruin it all. Will five go back to the gardes or remain with the Mogadorians?
          • britneyl20
            britneyl20Monday, October 5, 2015 at 1:41 am55 starsFeatured
            This book is probably one of the greatest book in the whole series and the saddest one too. All of the garde members have joined up together and they worked together great. But, they figure out one of them was a traitor. While I was reading that part, my heart shattered. It was so sad to know someone you trust just betrayed you and got help the other team their fighting for. I was just starting to like him more and more when that happened. That was the least favorite part that happened. The favorite part in the story is when Sam's dad was about to die, John chose to save him and leaving the other garde. He remembered back when he was losing his own Cépan. I love his attitude and they way he does thing. I would definitely recommend this to others, especially those who love super power heroes! It brings you to a whole new wonderful and imaginary world. There, you can explore and just find amazing things!
            • megank
              megankMonday, September 28, 2015 at 5:51 am44 starsFeatured
              The Fall of Five is the fourth book of the series and is yet one of the most exciting books in the series. The whole rest of the Garde, including Five, Sam, Malcolm, and Sarah gathers together in Nine's luxurious penthouse. They ended up splitting up, and finds Five to be a traitor who works with the Mogodorians. One of the saddest and most nervous part in this book is when Five is trying to kill Nine but Eight comes in and gets killed instead. It was really touching and I felt really sad for him, especially Marina. I really like the ending of this book because it gives suspense as to what might happen in the fifth book. Readers would want to know how Adam will help John and how would the rest of the Garde get together. I would recommend this book, moreover, I'm excited to read the next book.
              • scarlettrose
                scarlettroseSunday, March 30, 2014 at 1:11 pm55 stars
                oh my god this book was amazing! 4,6,7,8 and 9 are the most amazing characters to read about. I love them all!