The Entirely True Story of the Unbelievable FIB

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S5.053431
“What is the Unbelievable FIB?”

That’s the question eleven-year-old Prudence Potts discovers on a baffling card no one else in Middleton--except ABE, a new kid at school with a knack for solving riddles--seems to see. Then a mysterious man asks for ABE and Pru’s help investigating mythical beings infiltrating the town, and that’s just the first of many things Pru finds hard to believe.

Soon Pru and ABE discover another world beneath their quiet town, where Viking gods lurk just out of sight. And when the pair find themselves locked in a battle against a dangerously clever enemy, they must race to secure the Eye of Odin, source of all knowledge--and the key to stopping a war that could destroy both human and immortal realms.

Author Adam Shaughnessy draws from classic lore to create a tale rich in puzzles, plot twists, charming characters, and sly humor in which uncertainty opens the door to magic and the last thing you should do is believe your own eyes.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 8, 2015 by Algonquin Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1616204982
ISBN-13: 9781616204983
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cerulian
    cerulianTuesday, September 27, 2016 at 10:53 am44 stars
    I am currently reading this book using the few chapters given to us when you click on the name of the book. I will ask my sister to help me check it out or I will try and get it myself. The story is really cool so far because from what I read, it is about a world among another world. I always wonder if these things actually do happen and people save our world from being destroyed by another world or being everyday. The main character is Prudence Potts and she is helped by a mysterious kid named Abe. The story just gives off magic with every page and I can't wait to finish it.
    • memoiloveit
      memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 7:18 am33 stars
      I thought I would love this book, but I just liked it. I think that it was kind of interesting, exciting, boring, and not captivating altogether.
      • llpanda
        llpandaMonday, August 22, 2016 at 7:55 am33 stars
        This book is about a girl named Prudence who's home town is being invaded by the gods of Norse legend in their quest for the Eye of Odin. With her new found friend ABE and a strange man named Mister Fox can she save her town and possibly the world?
        • catface173
          catface173Thursday, August 18, 2016 at 1:27 pm55 stars
          When reading the title, someone might ask: "WHAT IS THE UNBELIEVABLE FIB?" It's the question printed on a card that eleven year old Prudence Potts has just received. On the other side is a message: "Be grave in your search and avoid having stones in your head." No one but Pru can see the card--except for the new boy, Abe, who moves into town after the cards arrive. It soon becomes clear that in the small New England town of Middleton, nothing (and perhaps nobody) is as it/they seem. There is a world of Norse mythology going around town, a mystery is brewing, and it is up to Pru to get into an investigation. I would rate this book 5 stars out of 5 because of this reason.
          • strawberry1234
            strawberry1234Monday, August 8, 2016 at 12:35 pm33 stars
            This book started of fun but then it got really boring. I just thought it was boring in my opinion. You can read it if you want
            • awesomeguy2000
              awesomeguy2000Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 6:08 am55 stars
              this is a AMAZING book!!! I like how this mystery includes trust and intelligence. I rate this 5 star because it is a mystery, and it is really interesting. The thing that really caught me was the title, since when I was holding this book on the library computer, I found it.
              • penguin313
                penguin313Saturday, July 30, 2016 at 12:48 pm55 stars
                This book was interesting. In this book, only Pru and the new kid, ABE, seem to notice strange things around there small town. Meeting Mr. Fox, they learn of strange things in the world, that every myth has truth to it.
                • coreycole
                  coreycoleTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 11:42 am44 stars
                  this is a great story it shows how a lie can seem to be so real but you have to keep lying to keep it real and it just grows and grows and grows. it would be the best if you could see real lies in real life then you would know and they couldnt be monsters
                  • coolgirlintown
                    coolgirlintownThursday, July 14, 2016 at 3:54 pm11 star
                    I did not really like this book that much! I do not know why because I thought I would love this book but I guess I did not like it that much.
                    • awesomessb
                      awesomessbTuesday, July 12, 2016 at 12:15 pm
                      This book looks like the perfect book for me. It has humor and magic. The title is eye catching too! I can't wait to get started!