Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 6 - 12V7.351747

Dear Reader,

You are presumably looking at the back of this book, or the end of the end. The end of the end is the best place to begin the end, because if you read the end from the beginning of the beginning of the end to the end of the end of the end, you will arrive at the end of the end of your rope.

This book is the last in A Series of Unfortunate Events, and even if you braved the previous twelve volumes, you probably can't stand such unpleasantries as a fearsome storm, a suspicious beverage, a herd of wild sheep, an enormous bird cage, and a truly haunting secret about the Baudelaire parents.

It has been my solemn occupation to complete the history of the Baudelaire orphans, and at last I am finished. You likely have some other occupation, so if I were you I would drop this book at once, so the end does not finish you.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Paperback
Published on September 3, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ayanochan3212
    ayanochan3212Sunday, June 30, 2019 at 7:10 am55 stars
    THIS.BOOK.WAS.AMAZING
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:06 pm55 starsFeatured
      9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
      • gymzonia
        gymzoniaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 7:56 pm33 stars
        I read it for my second time because the first time i did not like it. It is a really good book though.
        • AubsMonday, February 11, 2019 at 7:53 am
          the other books are AMAZING!!!! this one is ok!!
          • goals
            goalsThursday, October 11, 2018 at 6:03 pm33 stars
            I'm a huge fan of A Series of Unfortunate Events, but for some reason, this book just wasn't as good as the rest. I feel like Lemony Snicket did not quite know how he wanted the series to end and that it just kind of ended in an unsatisfying and uncreative way. Overall, it is my least favorite book of the series, but it is still good. Just wish it would've ended more interestingly or that we had more answers to the mysteries.
            • auntieb
              auntiebSunday, July 29, 2018 at 1:57 pm33 stars
              The End is a good book while I would definitely say that the other 12 books are much better, this one was still okay.
              • wiccanbat666
                wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:19 pm55 stars
                This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                • hawiian_girl
                  hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:30 pm55 stars
                  Once again, a super unfortunate book...... but still amazing!!!
                  • llamas rule Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 6:59 am
                    once you start reading them and you finish The End you get so sad because it is the end of such a good series but still read them because they are so good. GO LEMONY SNICKET!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • dahuman1513
                      dahuman1513Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:31 am55 stars
                      This was a very... unexpected finale. The Baudelaire's parents had been hiding a very big secret...