The Egypt Game (Egypt Game Nrf)

Book 1 of 2 in the Game Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10X6.443004
Even to Melanie, who knew that you could never predict what a new kid would be like, April Hall was something of a surprise. One look at her stringy upswept hair, false eyelashes, and ragged fox fur collar, convinced Melanie that April was not going to be easy to integrate into the sixth grade at Wilson School.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 1972 by Atheneum
ISBN-10: 0689300069
ISBN-13: 9780689300066
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 8:17 am44 stars
    When April Dawn and Melanie Ross first meet, they are not expectant to be best friends because they thought that they had nothing in common. But then they both discover that each has a special interest in Egypt. After disckvering an old tumble down yard, they decide to transform it into Egypt, where they hold ceremonies, work on their hieroglyphics, and do many interesting things. Then strange things start to happen and the players start to wonder if they have gone too far. I would recommend this vook for ages 10+ This book was pretty good and i really liked the mysterious feeling. The descriptions were beautiful and i thoroughly enjoyed this.
    • soccerrunner
      soccerrunnerMonday, February 26, 2018 at 8:24 am55 stars
      This book is so real and amazing. It has a amazing plot and awsome charoctors. I love this book so much!
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitFriday, September 15, 2017 at 4:55 am44 stars
        This is creative and kind of creepy too! 4 kids get together on weekends and talk about a shared interest-all things Egyptian. They talk, perform ceremonies, dance, and act out scenes.Then, strange things start happening...the emotions of the kids are confusing and a bit hard to understand, but this is a GREAT GREAT book. Please read it.
        • callie_b
          callie_bSunday, February 19, 2017 at 9:30 am44 stars
          I just finished this book! It was so good! The perfection combination of mystery, adventure, and fun! 6 kids like to escape to what they call Egypt, a deserted storage yard in the back of the creepy Professor's store. They play games of Ancient Egypt but things start acting up and they need to crack the mystery. There's also a murderer in town... Read this book! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
          • bsg06
            bsg06Friday, May 1, 2015 at 1:46 pm
            i love this book
            • optimistic-edit
              optimistic-editWednesday, January 28, 2015 at 4:44 pm
              This book is about friends who find a hideout with a shed and call it their own piece of Egypt where they pretend like they are living in Ancient Egypt. All of the sudden mysterious things start to happen and the friends are worried. Could they have made the evil gods of Egypt come to life? A must-read with a lot of themes if you need to do a reading response or something, for school.
              • peeps
                peepsSunday, January 4, 2015 at 6:38 am
                i like this book
                • queenofshopping
                  queenofshoppingSunday, January 4, 2015 at 5:00 am33 stars
                  This book is awesome we read in our unit ancient Egypt and it was full of mystery and fun.
                  • ikyra_marie
                    ikyra_marieSaturday, May 17, 2014 at 5:58 pm
                    my teacher read it to me when I was in fifth-grade.
                    • rozeb
                      rozebSaturday, May 17, 2014 at 4:58 pm55 stars
                      I like this book. Me and otter and hamster were completely obsessed with it in 3rd Grade.