The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1)

Book 1 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.069911
A thrilling new series soars above the competition and redefines middle-grade fantasy fiction for a new generation!

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545349184
ISBN-13: 9780545349185
415 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Yoshini Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:12 pm
    This book has been written by dr. A.P.J Abdul kalam
    • A parentSunday, September 6, 2020 at 8:31 pm
      This book is really great for a variety of ages. My 6 year old loves it and reads them independently. It took her at least a book to decide that she liked it and a little longer to love it (unlike Amulet, which she was obsessed with immediately). She wasn't quite sure about motives and what drove characters to do certain things. So I have to stay ahead of her so that she can talk about motives and we can explore them and other concepts together. My husband enjoys them, but feels like there isn't enough detail and that the books are a good outline for a real book series. However, he is comparing them to adult fantasy novels.
      • simbharulesme
        simbharulesmeFriday, September 4, 2020 at 7:22 pm55 stars
        It is so interesting and mysterious. I just started it, but I am really excited to see what's going to happen. I was so excited to start it because I have seen it before. It you have just started it like me, then I think we will both have lots of fun with this series.
        • Shawn SmithTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 8:58 am
          THE BOOK SERIES IS WAY HARDER ITS LEVEL 7TH GRADE AT LEAST
          • guburure-159794136833
            guburure-159794136833Thursday, August 20, 2020 at 10:47 am55 stars
            The writing was amazing and the next books where even better and they just keep getting better.
            • raven7Wednesday, August 19, 2020 at 12:55 pm
              this series is the best series ever! its my fav. like if u agree
              • MoonwatcherTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 12:16 pm
                It is a great book!
                • MoonwatcherSaturday, August 8, 2020 at 10:33 am
                  At first, I wasn’t very keen on reading this book. But it totally surprised me, in more than one way. I love the dragons, and I could relate to the main character, Clay, because he has an undying need to help his friends, which is a lot like me. Now, I’ve read Wings of Fire at least five times, because I love it! I recommend this book to readers who like action, adventure, and fantasy, all mixed together in a great way!
                  • i am a childFriday, August 7, 2020 at 7:02 pm
                    good book yes
                    • cheyenne2020
                      cheyenne2020Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 7:18 am55 stars
                      I Really love this book its about a prophecy that will end a war