The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1)

Book 1 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.069911
A thrilling new series soars above the competition and redefines middle-grade fantasy fiction for a new generation!

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545349184
ISBN-13: 9780545349185
454 Book Reviews
  • love-art
    love-artTuesday, June 15, 2021 at 1:45 pm55 stars
    Was great!
    • bookfan123
      bookfan123Wednesday, June 2, 2021 at 11:35 am55 stars
      "The Dragonet Prophecy" is the perfect book to start a perfect series, and I would recommend this book. Queen Oasis, the former queen of the SandWings, is killed by a scavenger. Seen Oasis' heirs, Burn, Blister, and Blaze, are the dragons left to inherit the throne. This starts a major war between all the tribes of the forest, which has lasted 20 years. To stop this war, the NightWings issued a mysterious prophecy that tells the dragon world how five dragonets will rise to save the world. And where are the wonderful dragonets? They live underground without any sunlight in a gloomy, dark cave, protected by 3 Talons of Peace members who want to kill one of the dragonets. Not the best place to be. This compels the five dragonets to leave the cave on an adventure- or for life. With difficulty, they're able to escape, but peace- that's a complete joke. Captured by a queen, they're forced to live in the horrible dungeons of the SkyWing Palace, where they have to battle for survival each day. Escaping is hard when you're not in contact with each other, and it's even harder when the person you call friend might betray you when you need their support...
      • hermione831
        hermione831Wednesday, June 2, 2021 at 10:42 am55 stars
        The Dragonet Prophecy is about 5 dragonets that are destined to stop the war on who will be the Sandwing queen. There are 6 deferent dragon tribes- Sandwings, Nightwings, Seawings, Mudwings, Rainwings, and Skywings. The 5 dragonets of the prophecy got token from their nest before they hatched, and was hid under the mountain for 6 years. Clay the Mudwing, Sunny the Sandwing, Glory the Rainwing, Starflight the Nightwing, and Tsunami the Seawing all hatched on the same night, but Clay was the first. The older dragons in the cave that take care of them thought Clay tried to kill the others as a baby, but breaking the other eggs is what all Mudwings do to help the other dragonets get out of the eggs. The 6 dragonets have never been outside the cave because the older dragons will not trust that they won’t run away. So, 2 years before they are supposed to, they run away. They run into Queen Scarlet, Queen of the Skywings. She captures them and take them to her prison. Queen Scarlet makes her prisoners fight each other, just for her enjoyment. Clay makes friends with a dragon named Peril, who’s skin is basically made of fire. Glory is used as “artwork”, Sunny is kept locked away, but Starflight, Clay, and Tsunami has to face the Arena where the dragons fight. They all survive, and try to escape. Eventually they do, and they visit the Mudwing kingdom. They find Clay’s mom, but she doesn’t want him. They also find Clay’s siblings. Clay is tempted to stay with them, but they leave. The dragonets plan to visit the Seawing kingdom next. I think that anyone who likes adventure would really like this series.
        • pudgyjeon
          pudgyjeonSaturday, May 29, 2021 at 2:41 pm44 stars
          Tsunami, Clay, Sunny, and Starflight have been trapped under a mountain, and plan on busting out! But almost as soon as they're free, they're trapped again, and this time in a skywing prison. Once they escape, they go to find Clay's parents. Sadly, his parents don't want him, and they go again to find Tsunamis's parents. I liked this book! I would definitely recommend it! The prologue and the beginning of the story were a bit confusing, but the rest of the book was good. Probably one of the reasons why I left one star out of my review is because I was really disappointed with the ending.
          • dj-dan-the-man
            dj-dan-the-manMonday, May 24, 2021 at 10:25 am55 stars
            I love this book and the whole series! It was EPIC! 5 stars fo sure!
            • love-art
              love-artMonday, May 24, 2021 at 8:53 am55 stars
              I love this book!Recommended for ages 8 and up.i finished this whole book in a week!
              • trinitysuto
                trinitysutoTuesday, May 18, 2021 at 3:02 pm55 stars
                I loved it!
                • haydie40
                  haydie40Monday, April 26, 2021 at 6:57 am55 stars
                  LOVE IT!!
                  • lilycat929
                    lilycat929Sunday, April 25, 2021 at 7:36 pm55 stars
                    I like this book because I really like dragons and I love the adventures that they go on. My friend introduced me to Wings of Fire and I love the series.
                    • dogonewspro
                      dogonewsproMonday, April 19, 2021 at 4:45 pm55 stars
                      I decided to read this book because a of my friends were reading it, and they told me how great and fantastic this book was. So I became eager to read it and find out. Now i am totally obsessed with wings of fire ,I can't put it down. All thanks to my friends💜💜💜💜