Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 8Grades 7 - 8n/a6.582762
In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0141336676
ISBN-13: 9780141336671
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohannameansFriday, May 24, 2019 at 6:39 am
    I am lerning about her now i am in 6th grade an I just took the quizz an it is very interesting and fun lerning about her
    • debbieWednesday, January 2, 2019 at 12:38 pm
      great hope you enjoy
      • unicorngirl65
        unicorngirl65Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 stars
        I learned about Anne Frank in the first day of 6,th grade it is so interesting
        • ajg16
          ajg16Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
          First I must say...Read this book if you are 13 and older - Anne Frank was a young Jewish girl who was growing up at a time when Adolf Hitler was "in rule". Anne and her mother, father & sister - the Van Pels family - & Fritz Pfeffer loved in a little area behind her father's business called the Annex. Anne was such an amazing young girl who had love, compassion and hopefulness in her even if she fought with her family and felt sad and alone at times. Anne kept a diary for two years before she died in a prison camp after her and her family & friends were found. Nobody survived the Camps, except for Anne's father Otto Frank. I got sadder & sadder the closer I got to the end, even if it has been a long long time it hurt to see that people were treated a horrible way. Thank you for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:09 pm55 stars
            If only Anne Frank's diary was the figment of someone's imagination. If it meant that this spirited, intelligent and articulate girl hadn't died along with so many others in Belsen concentration camp, and that the holocaust had never happened, that would be a wonderful thing, but it did happen, and that makes the reading of this diary even more heartbreaking.
            • livlovesdogs
              livlovesdogsSunday, December 24, 2017 at 5:01 am44 stars
              Ok this was a really good book. Though it was sad, I really liked it. Stay away from tilt if you don't like sad stories!
              • allbla1718
                allbla1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:42 am55 stars
                i loved reading this book. It tells you what life was for the franks while in hiding from the nazis. In this book Anne tells you about her feelings her hopes her dreams she also rights storys. Anne shares her feelings about everyone she is hiding with
                • lemonpie101
                  lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
                  I'm sad that she had to stay in an attic, had to keep quiet and make no move for 2 years!!!!!😭
                  • lemonpie101
                    lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm55 stars
                    I'm reading it in class and I'm very fascinated by the book!
                    • lil_lil101
                      lil_lil101Friday, November 4, 2016 at 2:11 pm
                      I have read because I love history but it is so sad defiantly ask your parents before you read and do not rread it to little kids