Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.45222
In the spring 2003, kids, parents, teachers, librarians—whole communities—discovered and fell in love with Jeanne DuPrau's story about a doomed city, and the two children who found a way out. Nearly 10 years later, that story, The City of Ember, is a bona fide classic, with over 1.7 million copies sold. Now experience Jeanne DuPrau's vision anew as artist Niklas Asker faithfully brings to life the glare of the lamps, the dinginess of the streets, and the brilliance of the first sunrise.
Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on September 25, 2012 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375868216
ISBN-13: 9780375868214
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • brightbobber
    brightbobberMonday, January 14, 2019 at 1:42 pm55 stars
    Because it teaches you how to use your imagination and adventure with your friends and family
    • infinitearmy
      infinitearmyThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:40 am44 stars
      the cover seemed interesting so i read it and it was a good book
      • brayden33
        brayden33Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 6:55 am55 stars
        Lina and Doon live in a town where at the age of 12 you get assigned a job, Lina was assigned pipeworks as her job and Doon was assigned Messenger, the two kids wanted each other's job so they switched jobs. Then they found a letter and try to find their way out of crumbling Ember read to find out more.
        • purple589
          purple589Friday, May 20, 2016 at 7:59 am
          This book is so interesting and it gets really good at the end
          • balletmuggle
            balletmuggleTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 12:41 pm
            I know not to judge a book by its cover... But the cover of this book is so interesting, who wouldn't want to read it?! This book was REALLY good!
            • PuppiesTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 7:00 am
              I love this book so so much
              • BATMANTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 6:57 am
                I personaly thought it was good to read. it was a good adverture and i could not put it down.
                • Books Friday, November 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm
                  i love this book it is very mysteries i read the book at school one time and i couldn't stop reading it it is awesome give it s try you will fall in love with the book
                  • sisterto2x
                    sisterto2xWednesday, November 5, 2014 at 5:57 am
                    I NEED to read this! I've already read the regular version.
                    • 246701rv
                      246701rvFriday, November 8, 2013 at 5:32 am55 stars
                      The City of Ember is a wonderful book that makes you want to read forever. I like the cliffhanger at the end and the other Books of Ember.