Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.059937
The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 13, 2003 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375822739
ISBN-13: 9780375822735
162 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ilovebooks561
    ilovebooks561Sunday, December 6, 2020 at 5:27 am55 stars
    Amazing so far!
    • sweet-readlover
      sweet-readloverSaturday, December 5, 2020 at 10:06 pm55 stars
      This book is AWESOME !!!! This book is about, escaping from City of Ember. Linda and Doon gets a job at school as Linda a messenger and Doon as a pipe worker. Linda find a box in a closet and finds a secret document to find a way out of a dark no lighted city. Ember. Linda and Doon trys to find out what the document says and have an adventure generator. I won't spoil the ending. I recommend you this book. Have fun!
      • avalanche_cooki
        avalanche_cookiFriday, November 6, 2020 at 7:49 pm55 stars
        This is BY far my fave book in like, ever! I suggest this book for those who like mystery books in series. It's hard to choose a fave part because it's all good!
        • avalanche_cooki
          avalanche_cookiFriday, November 6, 2020 at 12:18 pm55 stars
          Guys, anyone in the right mind, hop online and read THIS MOMENT. I got the series as a gift, and I do not regret asking for it one little bit! the story is about a post disaster city, called the city of Ember. The main characters, Lina Mayfleet and Doon Harrow, Live here. The city is powered by a river and the generator is needing new pieces more and more frequently. the people of ember have even been experiencing longer and more blackouts! It's up to Doon and Lina to reed the instruc ion f r egres (as they found the document after poppy lina's baby sis chewed on it!!) >:-(
          • almondmilk
            almondmilkSaturday, October 10, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
            This book was great!
            • appledusk657
              appledusk657Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 4:55 am55 stars
              Good book! I love how Jean DuPrau made the characters, and the story itself is so good!
              • bookfan2008
                bookfan2008Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 6:25 am
                Looks very good!
                • helloEmberSaturday, June 20, 2020 at 1:04 pm
                  Very interesting topic, really good!
                  • effie302
                    effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 6:56 am
                    very interesting book, I so recommend this one as well, please read this book its super interesting you don't have to read the book if you dont want to tho, anyways its super cool book, I recommend !
                    • blossomreader
                      blossomreaderMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
                      This was one of my favorite books back at the beginning of summer reading 2020. It's about a girl named Lina Mayfleet and her best friend Doon Harrrow. They are on a mission to save their city from dying out. The lights are dyiing and soon their will be n electricity. Food supplies are also running low. Will they be able to save their city from dying, or will there be another solution?