Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.059937
The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 13, 2003 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375822739
ISBN-13: 9780375822735
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gianna632
    gianna632Friday, February 21, 2020 at 11:53 am44 stars
    I gave this book a 4-star rating because it was a great book but not the best I've read. I connect with the book because me Lina both have younger siblings. This book is about a city that is underground and is running out of supplies for the people and their health. Two kids, Lina and Doon, want to do something about it. After trying and trying, they are about to give up. Just then, Lina finds something that may help find a way out. Is this mysterious object linked with escaping? Is what Lina thinks the truth? If so, will the people of Ember make it out in time? Read City of Ember to find out!
    • amie_hoover
      Mrs. HooverTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:16 am55 stars
      In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is it was interesting because the characters went through a lot of obstacles to try to get out of the city of Ember. Another reason why is it was a mystery trying to find out what happened next. The last reason why is it was very suspenseful. *****Spoiler Alert***** My favorite part is when the characters went down the stream and got to see the new city. You might like this book if you like action and adventure. You should read this book because its mysterious and will keep you on your toes throughout the whole book.
      • aaa57
        aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:41 pm55 stars
        I didn’t know about this book until my librarian recommended it and I’m glad she did
        • aaa57
          aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
          I love this book it’s soooo good it’s about 2 kids Doon and Lina who are living in a underground city and it is dyeing the generator has started to fail and they are running out of supplies. Than Lina finds a paper, instructions for egress so Doon and Lina team up to follow the instructions but while they are doing this they find out they the mayor is hoarding supplies now they have to convince everyone that he really is bad. They are now wanted criminals they finally find what they are looking for and escape. Now they are in the outside world, and they leave a message telling the other people of ember how to escape. Jeanne DuPrau did a outstanding job on this book although I think it would have been best alone she didn’t have to add the other books. Anyhow her writing is so original I think everyone who loves adventure a mystery should read this book.
          • watercolrwonder
            watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:45 am44 stars
            This book is about a futuristic town of people who have dug a city underground to escape whatever was on the surface. When their generator that powers their city starts to go awry, the city falls into panic that they will be plunged into darkness. Can they unveil the mystery behind their city and make it to the surface before their city blacks out forever?
            • zzayumi
              zzayumiSunday, May 19, 2019 at 4:21 pm55 stars
              This book is full of adventures! It is a really good book of teamwork. This book is a really good and exciting book! I loved it!
              • sgpchau
                sgpchauThursday, April 18, 2019 at 7:24 am55 stars
                Great book. The characters, Lina and Doon go exploring to find the way out of Ember. the find secret rooms and stuff. oh yeah and new words too.
                • ???Friday, March 22, 2019 at 10:26 am
                  If you are into suspense... Sure. this book is perfect. It drags the storyline along soooooooooo far, and eventually gets boring. If you like adventure books (like me) although it may seem good, its really not though. I personally did not like it, but i know many people do.
                  • aaa57
                    aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                    I thoroughly disagree it has a slow start but the book is great.
                  • yee123Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 1:35 pm
                    If ur intrested in in escape books this is 4 u
                    • ANNIE21Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 12:50 pm
                      WELL THE GR. 5'S IN MY CLSSS HAD TO READ THE WHOLE BOOK FOR A BOOK TALK