Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.529181
Hardcover, 170 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • I love cakeSaturday, March 10, 2018 at 10:18 pm
    i love this book it is amazing even though i hate writing essays I wrote one on this book and I enjoyed it.
    • 0060
      0060Tuesday, July 14, 2015 at 9:19 am33 stars
      It was a good and emotional book. but sometimes it got slow
      • opposite dayTuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:22 am
        omg so good
        • fatTuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:21 am
          Parvana lives in Kabul, Afghanistan with her mother, her father, her older sister Nooria and two younger siblings, Maryam and Ali. Soon after the novel starts, Taliban soldiers come into her house and arrest her father for not having an Afghan education, instead going to university in a different country. Parvana and her mother go to the jail nearby to see if her father was taken there, but the guards are unhelpful. Soon after her mother becomes depressed and will not move. The family starts to starve, as they have no male escort and so cannot go outside. Her mother and Mrs. Weera decide to make Parvana disguise as a boy by cutting her hair and making her wear her dead brother Hossain's clothes so that she can buy groceries seeing as she is the only girl who was of age and her body had not developed, and as it worked so well she starts to do it every day. Eventually, she continues her father's business of reading and writing letters for people that can't. Parvana runs into a girl who she used to go to school with named Shauzia who has been put through the same experience. They start to work together and soon become close friends. They were never that close in school but they are now trying to figure out ways to earn more money. They come up with an idea of a portable "shop" by using trays to move their items around. To do that they needed money to buy trays. They find a way to get a lot of money by digging up bones from a grave. Parvana also meets a family friend named Mrs. Weera, a former physical education teacher who comes to stay with Parvana's family to help her mother get well with her granddaughter and takes charge of the household because Parvana's mother has become severely depressed over the loss of her husband. Eventually, Parvana's mother begins to feel better and eventually teams up with Mrs. Weera and a group of other women to write the Afghanistan National Magazine, smuggling it to and from Pakistan to be published. Throughout the book, Parvana grows closer to her older sister Nooria, and becomes more responsible and stronger emotionally as a person. She also becomes very close with a woman who appears in the window of a building behind where Parvana works. This woman throws small gifts onto her blanket while she is there. The climax of the story comes when Parvana's seventeen-year-old sister Nooria announces that she is leaving for Mazar-e-Sharif to get married to a boy, because there is no war and she will be going to college. She leaves along with her mother and younger siblings, but Parvana stays since she looks like a boy and her appearance will be difficult to explain and be kept secret. Despite being against it at first, Parvana grows to accept her sister's decision. Parvana remains in Kabul with Mrs. Weera. One day after work, she meets a runaway girl from Mazar-e-Sharif who is deeply upset. Parvana leads her home at night, and soon the girl, named Homa, tells them that Mazar-e-Sharif has been captured by the Taliban. Homa's family had been murdered by the Taliban, and she had been extremely lucky to run away. Mrs. Weera gladly takes her in and Parvana is very worried since the rest of her family is there. One day, Parvana's father returns home, being led by two kind men who found him released from jail, but unable to get home due to the loss of his leg. Mrs. Weera, Homa, and Parvana nurse him back to health, and the novel ends with Parvana and her father leaving to Mazar, hidden in the back of a truck. They will search for their family in refugee camps. Shauzia, who had been planning to run away from her difficult family so that she would not have to marry and could start a new life, tells Parvana that she will be leaving with some nomads. They plan to meet in 20 years in France, at the top of the Eiffel Tower.
          • illmantiTuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:14 am
            this book makes no sense at all and the book as nothing to do with bread.
            • IlluminatiTuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:11 am
              The book has nothing to do with bread. The title is very inactract..
              • Little CatSunday, October 5, 2014 at 10:07 am
                OMG! I LOVE THIS BOOK!! It is amazing, it makes you realize what is happening in the World. I cried so many times during this book. I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH! I can not recommend this book enough. You HAVE HAVE HAVE to read it! ;)
                • abramssele
                  abramsseleSunday, September 21, 2014 at 5:57 pm44 stars
                  I'm not done reading yet but so far it is a very great book. This book will make you think how your life is to other peoples life. This is a good book for anyone and I recommend it to anyone that loves to read.
                  • gladisa
                    gladisaTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 8:52 am
                    I think that this book is cool because it is said and like we I want to know what is go to happened I only want to know.Some times som books or like horde like sad that's what I bon't like a bout the books but I beau like the own that has exploding like wen it has adventures that's the port I like. I like when it is cool to read books they or a amazing to read.
                    • yahirt
                      yahirtMonday, May 12, 2014 at 8:55 am
                      This book is about a girl and her siblings and parents that live in Afghananistan. Then her dad is put in jail by the Taliban. Now they have to turn the girl named parvanna into a boy and they have to cut her hair. Her sister Nooria is going to mazar to get married. Then her dad comes back out of jail.