Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 6 - 12n/a5.846778
The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about. If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno. Though this isn't a book for nine-year-olds. And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. We hope you never have to cross such a fence.
Kindle Edition, 226 pages
Published on December 18, 2008 by David Fickling Books
ISBN-10: 0307494233
ISBN-13: 9780307494238
68 Book Reviews
  • kurz
    kurzThursday, December 10, 2020 at 11:35 am55 stars
    WOW!!! JUST WOW!!!
    • gold3nglare
      gold3nglareThursday, December 10, 2020 at 11:14 am44 stars
      this is an amazing book. This takes us back to the year, 1943, during the Holocausts, when Hitler rounded up Jews, and other groups of people he did not like, and sent them away to concentration camps. Bruno is a curious and mostly optimistic 9-year-old boy, who's fathers worked forced his family to move from Berlin, Germany to a place called Out-With. Bruno's father is a Nazi. But Bruno is nothing like his father. He is not mean, prejudice, or merciless. in fact, he has no clue what Jews are. One day, Bruno was looking out his bedroom window, and he saw a concentration camp, with people moping around in it. he thought it was a neighborhood, so he walked over there to explore, and see if he could meet new people. He met a small boy name Shmuel. Shmuel is a Jew, and he is wearing what Bruno assumes are pajamas. They are actually a uniform. Bruno does not realize this. Shmuel and Bruno become good friends, and almost everyday meet at the fence to talk. Bruno learns more about his new friend as time passes, and his urge to crawl under the fence grows more and more. One day, Bruno decides to put on a pair of striped pajamas, and crawl under the fence. This seemed like a seemingly safe plan, but in the end, the boys are marched into going into a gas chamber with many others, and they are never heard from again. Two boys from different worlds, suffering the same fate.
      • MachopTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 9:22 am
        gosh 5 stars you get this book. His boy goes to the side and no one can tell him. One day, he visit a person with striped pyjamas. Someone's knew the sound of the sheep be a or the cow moo?! Christ of Lord loves to be a tuck everlasting for few minutes. One day, the boy and a person came the Christ sheep's born. Enjoy this book now!
        • addyl97
          addyl97Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 4:00 pm55 starsFeatured
          This book is set in World War ll and is about a young German boy by the name of Bruno. Bruno is forced to leave his home in Berlin for reasons no one will tell him. Bruno is very mad and upset about living somewhere completely different. He decides that he will try to make the best out of this situation. He comes across a boy on the other side of the fence whos name is Shmuel. Bruno doesn't exactly know why Shmuel is on a different side and why he can't come to Bruno's side. John Boyne does an amazing job capturing and displaying the emotions throughout the book. I give this book 5 stars because of the amazing and captivating writing.
          • mg_master_mg
            mg_master_mgThursday, December 19, 2019 at 9:39 am44 stars
            I just started it and Chapters 1-2 are very good and I can't wait to finish the book.
            • sgoiscool
              sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:23 pm55 stars
              The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas is hated by some people for some reason. Why do they hate it? because they think it is bad writing! I love how it's the viewpoint of a child living in the day of Hitler's rule.
              • watercolrwonder
                watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:49 am44 stars
                This is a sad book. It is based in WWII, but I have to warn you, it doesn't have a happy ending. Still, it was good, and realistic, because a lot of times, those people's stories didn't have a happy ending. It is a pretty short read and I would recommend it if you're into that time period.
                • potterhead838
                  potterhead838Tuesday, April 2, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
                  I read this book in class. I cried but i give this book 100 stars out of 5 though it is very sad.
                  • studentsoaring
                    studentsoaringTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
                    My grade loves this book and we totally recommend the book and the movie!! :)
                    • Anonymous Monday, February 25, 2019 at 9:36 am
                      The book has a light tone from the family element but has a darker undertone that makes the book seem like it has little to offer