Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 10N5.114996

Called one of America's favorite Christmas stories, and now a classic television movie, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever has been a favorite of young readers the world over since 1972. Funny, memorable, and outrageous, it is the story of a family of incorrigible children who discover the Christmas story for the first time and help everyone else rediscover its true meaning.

Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on June 9, 1995 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060250437
ISBN-13: 9780060250430
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tytubytexujomy
    tytubytexujomyThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:46 am
    because i love this book
    • Babygirl22Wednesday, December 20, 2017 at 5:52 pm
      Yes in the school we are reading this book but we just finished it and we love it a lot
      • niaya1
        niaya1Tuesday, December 19, 2017 at 5:46 am
        I like this book because it reminds me of one Christmas when i was little. One year when i was about 6-7 years old i was in the 2nd grade and it was time to get out for Christmas. I was in my class and the day before my teacher said that we were going to have a party. Well, the next day she didn't come to school and she was in the doctor's office because her daughter was sick. She came back the next day and we couldn't have our party. Everybody in my class were mad because we couldn't have a party. She said that we couldn't have the party because it was too late and she didn't have the stuff to have the party with. That is what this story reminds me of. I was so mad that day and i couldn't believe that we couldn't have that party. Everybody in that class was mad at that teacher that day. She made it up to us because when we came back from that break she gave us our party.
        • cutecat6
          cutecat6Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 5:36 pm44 stars
          My classmates and I are reading this book. When we first looked at it, we didn't like it that much. But when we started reading chapter 1, it was AMAZING! My teacher said she read this book, like, a million times! And she said this was published before she was born, we were shocked! Oh, and there these kids, the Herdmans, were the worst kids in HISTORY 😲! They hit little kids, SMOKE when there only 5 and 8, lie, steal, talk dirty, curse(known as "cuss")at their teachers, set a fire at an old toolhouse, and everything they did was really bad 😬! And I do agree with bug6(even though I'm on chapter 2), they do learn about God. Which makes me very, very, very happy!
          • missykittyThursday, September 29, 2016 at 4:06 pm
            i still reading but the kids are so bad i wonder how old they cuase if they smoking at age 5-8 no i would not like them as kids
            • tatiannacreager
              tatiannacreagerFriday, December 11, 2015 at 9:38 am55 stars
              best book ever
              • bug6
                bug6Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 11:45 am55 stars
                This book was sooo funny! There was some really great parts I like how the herdmans learn about God and all the funny things they do.
                • happyface7
                  happyface7Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 7:46 am
                  My teacher read this book in 4th grade. I loved it. it was so funny.
                  • dragonzatch
                    dragonzatchThursday, November 21, 2013 at 6:24 pm55 stars
                    This is a classic book; I actually didn't mind reading a book for school for once, or taking quizzes on it. I like it a lot.
                    • doggy 101Friday, December 28, 2012 at 6:00 am
                      my teacher read it to me in 4th grade and watched the movie it is awsome.....