The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 4)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.185079

NOTE: Cover art may vary and cannot be selected.

As an incoming freshman, Percy isn't expecting his high school orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.

In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos's army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop them, Percy and his demigod friends will set out on a quest through the Labyrinth-a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn. Full of humor and heart-pounding action, this fourth book promises to be their most thrilling adventure yet.
Hardcover, 361 pages
ISBN-10: 0141382910
ISBN-13: 9780141382913
163 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 13iamgroot
    13iamgrootWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 2:32 pm33 stars
    I only read this book because I wanted to finish the Percy Jackson series even though I didn't like it very much. Out of all the books in the series, I thought this one was the most creative. The idea of a big maze underground was pretty cool, and I liked that they included the mortal girl in the end as the key to getting through the maze. There was a lot of mystery in this book, because not every body was how they seemed and there were some characters that seemed unimportant but, in the end, they were key parts in the resolution of the story. In this particular addition to the series, Percy has to go on another quest (you guessed it) but this time he is not leading it, Annabeth is. They have to go into the underground labyrinth to try and stop Luke from finding a way to navigate it, and the crew faces many obstacles along the way. They meet many different creatures, find unexpected challenges, fight monsters, and are surprised to learn that characters you would have least expected to be important rise to the occasion and save the not-so-perfect half-bloods. Even though the Percy Jackson series did not live up to what I expected it to be, the fourth book was so far the best because it had deeper meanings behind the generic plot line that so many books are based off of. This book would be a good read for elementary to middle schoolers who enjoy fantasy.
    • heavytoothpaste
      heavytoothpasteWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 9:02 pm55 stars
      Percy, Annabeth, and Grover have to go into the labyrinth and save Nico de Angelo, who is the brother of Bianca de Angelo.
      • xeta
        xetaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 8:50 am55 stars
        With fast-paced plot movement and nonstop laughs Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Battle of the Labyrinth was a great read. ~ Xeta <3
        • mcastudent
          mcastudentFriday, July 5, 2019 at 5:09 am55 stars
          This is is fun, witty and unmistakably one of the best books I've ever read - Xavier Gordon
          • lavoiem
            lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:43 pm44 stars
            Great book!! I love the series so much!!!!!!!!! I wish I could reread all of them without knowing what happens next but I’m not big on rereading books I e already read. Still I love this book so much and the characters all together make this book amazing and the whole series is just incredible!!!!!
            • pokemonlover405
              pokemonlover405Saturday, March 16, 2019 at 4:17 pm55 stars
              I love this book
              • maireSunday, February 10, 2019 at 12:55 pm
                I love rick! he is sooo cool.
                • maidenkr
                  maidenkrWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 9:51 am55 stars
                  In this Percy Jackson book, it is different at camp. There is a new swords teacher, Quintes, and Mr.D is gone. When playing capture the flag Percy and Annabeth find an entrance to the Labyrinth, a Greek underground maze made by Daedalus. When they find out that the titan army has Kronos rising and is going to attack camp, Percy and his friends must do whatever it takes to keep Camp Half Blood safe. Who will win? Who will die in battle? Read “Percy Jackson: The Battle of the labyrinth” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 2-8 but the interest level is grades 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.
                  • sdl
                    sdlThursday, January 31, 2019 at 11:05 am
                    love it I red all of the Percy Jackson books !
                  • superthor
                    superthorFriday, October 26, 2018 at 1:38 pm55 stars
                    This book is so amazing!. When I read it, it was like I was Percy jackson doing everything. I couldn't stop reading this book because I was so into it. Seriously if you haven't read this book I highly recommend you to read it. And if you don't want to just give it a try. But first you have to read, MAGNUS CHASE THE GODS OF ASGARD: THE SWORD OF SUMMER. Then come back to read this book. It will get you seriously into it. Like I told you before, it will blow your mind. I hope you give it a try. Read the book please. I'm begging you but if you don't want to that is okay with me. I'm not forcing you to just please, Rick Riordan's book are blowing my mind right now. Also I'm reading the book while I'm texting. You really really really really really really really really really won't regret getting this book. For the last time I'm begging you. Thank You! I really appreciate it!
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everSunday, August 5, 2018 at 10:21 am55 stars
                      Percy's friend Annabeth has wanted to lead a quest since forever. Kronos is rising, and so is his army. Their intention is to go through Daedalus's labyrinth and get Ariadne's string. That way, they can navigate the whole maze and go anywhere in the world, including attacking Camp Half-Blood. Annabeth must lead Percy, Grover, and Tyson through this mythical landmark and convince Daedalus not to give Luke's army the string. Meanwhile, tension between Annabeth and Percy is building. After Percy introduces his new mortal friend Rachel Elizabeth Dare, and meets Calypso, he gets a feeling he and Annabeth might be more than friends.