Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
A special middle grade debut of magic and courage in a world of witches, written with the charm and enchantment of Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary.

Arianwyn has flunked her witch's assessment: She's doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch-- much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.

With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch--even if she's only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride . . . for Arianwyn and the entire land.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Chicken House
ISBN-10: 1338118587
ISBN-13: 9781338118582
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • applemango
    applemangoSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 8:24 pm55 stars
    I thought, well at first that this book was one of the books that just held there sitting in the corner not being read by anyone! Well, that was until part of my mind told me to read this book! It just kept tugging at my mind little by little my hand reached the book and clasped it. I slowly unfolded the book and began to read....at the middle of the book my mom called me to go home...I had exactly 3 chapters left! I begged her and I somehow convinced her to let me stay. And now I know that this book will be one of my favorite books in my lifetime!!!
    • belle252
      belle252Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:06 pm44 stars
      So i read this book and was amazed it is so imaganitive and so creative with word play i do not want to spoil the book to much but the book is so interesting.
      • annette
        annetteMonday, May 28, 2018 at 10:21 am44 stars
        This is a fun fantasy story with lots of magic and witches. When a girl, Arianwyn, flunks her witch test, she is placed as an apprentice in a small dreary town, but strange things start happening plus her archrival decides to spend vacation here to cause trouble for Arianwyn. There is a lot more a stake than her pride when a dark evil starts to haunt her. I think this is a great book, with an interesting plot.
        • rrwwnn
          rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:15 pm55 stars
          Arianwyn has flunked her witch's test She's a goner. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in shame, she may never become a witch, her enemy, Gimma loves that. But Lull is not as boring as it seems. Weird things are found in the forest, a dangerous invasion of hex creeps through the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.
          • soccergirl93
            soccergirl93Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 6:53 pm55 stars
            This book was amazing! It was so creative I couldn't stop reading it. The detail was so perfect for the story. I completely recommend this book to anyone because it is so good.
            • kana
              kanaMonday, May 21, 2018 at 9:20 am55 stars
              The Apprentice Witch is a very interesting story. Arianwyn failed her witch' s test much to her rival's happiness. She becomes an apprentice and is sent to Lull. It is mysterious and full of adventures. During the story, she discovers her abilities and powers but as well overcomes many of her mental and emotional obstacles. I definitely recommend the book.
              • subtocca2010mc
                subtocca2010mcMonday, April 30, 2018 at 12:54 pm55 stars
                This is an amazing book
                • amelialover24
                  amelialover24Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 3:07 pm55 starsFeatured
                  Arianwyn has flunked her witch's assessment: She's doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch-- much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma. But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her. With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch--even if she's only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride . . . for Arianwyn and the entire land.Such a amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  unicorn992
                  unicorn992 wrote:

                  this novel is like a game....it ...
                  Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                  unicorn992
                  unicorn992 wrote:

                  this is very good, especially if...
                  The Fourteenth Goldfish

                  unicorn992
                  unicorn992 wrote:

                  sooooooo good. my favorite book ...
                  The Unwanteds

                  unicorn992
                  unicorn992 wrote:

                  this was ok. it was really good ...
                  The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...